A 15th Parish?

Re: "These moves are always political..." I agree totally. But here's my take on the issue: The government should only give this some consideration following the outcome of a vote. The people of Portmore should have that say, through a popular vote, before the government go any further.

In doing so, the move will be free of the "political" label, and Bruce will still get his place in history as the man who gave Portmore its status as an independent parish.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I hope they will inform the voting public of all the issues - why it should become a parish, the poilitical implications of it being a parish, the economic implications of it being a parish, etc.

Would this Portmore parish be all residential, or would it, like most parishes consist of a rural section with towns and villages?

But what of the beaches,Hellshire, Forum,and Fort Clarence...,will St.Caherine be left with any?
        This dream of an ideal city(now Parish)is impractical, the city(Portmore) is plagued with more problems than most parishes.
        I have a feeling Portmore too one day will be seen as a wretched place, what to do then......, give parish status to the next place that seems to be booming?
        How would Portmore benefit(without it being at the expense of other parishes and Jamaica)by gaining parish status? What is the hinderance resulting from being a part of St.Catherine?
        Spanish Town is no longer the Capital, we are asking too much of St.catherine.

Blessed

But what of the beaches,Hellshire, Forum,and Fort Clarence...,will St.Caherine be left with any? This dream of an ideal city(now Parish)is impractical, the city(Portmore) is plagued with more problems than most parishes. I have a feeling Portmore too one day will be seen as a wretched place, what to do then......, give parish status to the next place that seems to be booming? How would Portmore benefit(without it being at the expense of other parishes and Jamaica)by gaining parish status? What is the hinderance resulting from being a part of St.Catherine? Spanish Town is no longer the Capital, we are asking too much of St.catherine.
          Portmore would benefit in basically two ways: (a) greater autonomy, which means that its elective officials would have more power/say in making decisions that would be for the betterment of Portmore. (b) greater access to funds, which means that most of the tax dollars and other sundry income earned in and via Portmore would remain in Portmore.

Right now if one looks at it from those two abovementioned points, then St Catherine as a whole would stand to lose more by losing Portmore to an independent status. But by the same token, Portmore would stand to gain immensely and would be able to spend its tax dollars within the confines of Portmore. Toll from the causeway; tax etc from Caymanas Park; and concessionary plus gate gate income from events at the Ft Clarence etc would be hefty pecuniary benefits to Portmore.

Portmore, at this moment, might be closer to being independent than we think. It already operates as a municipality with all its own elected officials and mayor (independent of Spanish Town.) So Bruce might be on to something!

In terms of beaches, St Catherine doesn't really need one to survive as a parish. Three of the old parishes (St John, St Andrew and St Thomas in The Vale) operated without any beaches, and Clarendon had only a few miles of coastline.
          Last edited by Farmah; December 30, 2007, 08:33 PM.
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Thanks for the response, Farmah.
            You know I am against secession in any form(pseudo, self-serving..), it is always the bigger picture, though I know you are quite capable of arguing (robbing Peter to...)it is for the grand scheme of things.
            Perhaps it is because I know Portmore's dirty little secret, it is an Oasis for nomadic gunmen.
            Farmah, I am also worried about corruption, and not having that safety net in St. Catherine...

How yuh duh?

Blessed

Doing great Rockman. Bless Up Bredrin!

I really haven't taken a stand on the Portmore issue but I can't help but think about all the pros and cons. I have seen the phenomenal growth of Portmore over the years and would be curious to see the further transformation into its becoming a parish. That said, I would be equally satisfied if it remains a part of St Catherine.

Re: Portmore being "an Oasis for nomadic gunmen." Cho!! The entire Jamaica seems to be the gunmen's oyster! They go all 'bout, especially into the hills when them "hot."

I too am worried about the corruption but take heed, the Rear Admiral said he has big plans.
              Last edited by Farmah; December 30, 2007, 09:44 PM.

Irie, mi idren, Farmah!

The whole a them a same thing...chat more than what they do while mi grannie can't enjoy her retirement...