A 15th Parish?

• A 15th Parish?

What do the forumites think about Bruce Golding's ambition to unyoke Portmore from St Catherine, thereby making it an independent parish? Will Portmore have everything to be a self-containing parish?
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Does any Parisj in Jamaica except Kingston have everything to make it a self containing Parish?

None stands alone; not even Kingston.
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Is it because Portmore has grown so quickly and so expansively why we think it deserves to be a parish? Or is it because Spanish Town, the capital, is finding it hard to compete with Portmore, a town that believes it is an extension of Kingston? Maybe all we need to do is change the capital of St. Catherine to Portmore! Bad idea, I agree.

How about incorporating Portmore into the Parish of Kingston? Kingston as a parish is really not worth even talking about.

Just not sure that we need to create new parishes just because a town in a particular parish has begun to boom.

dont like it... not necessary... portmore is at most a city in st. catherine...

it is simple a political move by the JLP.

they are already a city and have their own mayor. I think the only problem is are they a part of the St.Catherine PC or not and if you can have 2 mayors inna one parish.

It needs to be worked out but I don't think just creating a new parish is the solution. It seems to be the lazy way to solve the problem, if indeed there is a problem.

Hmmmmmnnnn!!!!!

I'm not saying that I agree one way or the other but if it was okay for the architect of modern Jamaica to annex, then why would it now be a "lazy" act if Bruce separates Portmore from St Catherine?

if you have two cities, you have two mayors... the pc boundaries is what needs to be reconfig, if thats an issue...

The problem comes in because in all other parishes the mayor of the "city" is the chief exec for the parish. In other word the mayor of Port Maria is actually the mayor for the parish of St.Mary but in Portmore case, Spanish Town is not even a city and the mayor of Portmore is only the mayor of Portmore.

This was not properly thought out in the begining it was just a political move and Bruce making another political move. Secondly why is Portmore the only elected mayor who is elected directly by the people?

I think part of the problem Bruce looked at was the size of St Catherine. I believe it's actually the largest parish in the island. Portmore, though it was always a part of St Catherine, was mostly water-logged low-lying areas with mangroves and macca. As an area Portmore has grown immensely over the last 35 to 40 years. I read once where, outside of Kingston & St Andrew, it was the most populated area with over 250,000 citizens; it has surely outgrown those statistics by now.

With its present growth in terms of land area and population, I think they would have a legit claim if they ask to have their status adjusted. However, it seems more like a political wish/promise than it is a wish of the people of Portmore.

Kingston and St Andrew dont really exist as separate entities. The legal (court) jurisdictions were made to overlap each other when the KSAC was created.

Are you saying make Portmore a part of Kingston and therefore a part of the KSAC - makese sense to me.

Brilliant Idea - Make Portmore a part of the KSAC

Ksac

Kingston and St Andrew dont really exist as separate entities. The legal (court) jurisdictions were made to overlap each other when the KSAC was created.

Are you saying make Portmore a part of Kingston and therefore a part of the KSAC - makese sense to me.

Sass, political move or not, change is a constant. It may occur slowly over hundred of years but it's a phenomenon that our great grand kids will come to read about. Here's a bit of history on your beloved St Mary and Portland:

Long time ago, Portland was just about half its size having been charted at the extreme north-eastern end of the island. Where your beloved St Georges FC is located now, was once another parish called - you guessed it - St George. Portland, as we see it now, is a combination of the old Portland, St George, and the north-eastern triangular clip of what was a part of St Thomas.

But wait a moment! Even your hometown of St Mary was not as big as it is now. There once existed, between St Mary and St George, another parish called Metcalfe. About two-thirds of that old parish, Metcalfe, was adjoined to the old St Mary to give what is now the present-day St Mary.

And yet, all those changes were made through political moves.

These moves are always political, Farmah, but it's whether the political move was done cynically or not.