• Walker's eligibility questioned

Walker's eligibility questioned
    published: Saturday | December 29, 2007

Walker
    Edmond Campbell, News Coordinator
    The question of Danville Walker's eligibility for the post of director of elections was raised yesterday during the election petition hearing in the Supreme Court involving the West Portland Member of Parliament, Daryl Vaz.
    Mr. Walker has acknowledged his dual citizenship with the United States and Jamaica.
    During cross-examination yesterday, attorneys for Mr. Dabdoub questioned Mr. Walker's eligibility for the post of director of elections based on the provisions of the Electoral Commission (Interim) Act of 2006.
    Allegiance issue
    According to the act, no person shall be qualified to be nominated commissioner (of the Electoral Commission) or the director of elections, if he, by virtue of his own act, swears allegiance to a foreign power or state.
    However, a source close to Mr. Walker said he believes the Jamaican Constitution gives him the right to work in Jamaica and makes no reference to dual citizenship with respect to his position as director of elections.
    The source further pointed out that the provisions of the Electoral Commission Interim Act are subordinate to those of the Jamaican Constitution.
    Mr. Walker is scheduled to continue his testimony on Monday. Dabdoub, who challenged Vaz for the West Portland seat in the September 3 general election, claimed that by virtue of swearing allegiance to a foreign power, Vaz should be disqualified as a Member of Parliament.
    Last edited by Tilla; December 30, 2007, 02:20 PM.

I almost dead when I hear dis.

Danville Walker is a fraud and needs to step aside right now. His credibility is completely shot. Thanks for the work he has done in cleaning up our elections, but it's now time to step!

Get tfoh!

Dabdoub want take on everybody to rhatid. When is he going to realise he is a loser?

ah bwoy when Seaga did complain him was a grumpy old man but no the shoe is on the other foot him loose credibility bad.

Anyway him need to step aside but so too the loser from "West Portland". There are no winners here.

What did Seaga complain about?

you figet mi post it?

pretty much say Walker is arrogant and nuh listen to nobody, well that could have mean't the Seaga led JLP.

Seaga said he should have been relieved about 4-6 years ago but the PNP stood by him.

What a load of crap. The Electoral Commission (Interim) Act of 2006 never that that a US Citizen cannot work in Jamaica. It said that the US Citizen cannot be Director of Elections. They need to fire Danny boy monday morning.

That was because Walker was a PJ Patterson creation...unnu figget that? All this is because Walker is a political whore and dances for the highest bidder.

the question you need to ask yourself is whether Abe is wrong? Yes he might be a loser but is he wrong about Vaz or Walker now, stop attacking the messenger and lok at the message.

Whats up family? Everything criss and curry?

What messager? Abe himself have conducted himself in very poor state in his election campaign carry posters that people shouldn't vote for Vaz because he is a US citizen and had the "rapist" theme all over his platform. This is a man who claim that Bruce was responsible for $25 million which disappear under his watch at the NDM and the NDM said it was false.

The fact is Abe will stop at nothing to get a seat.

and what about this action that makes him any different from any other politician in the PNP or JLP...you behave as if we are dealing with Choir boys here...but once again back to your allegations...how much of what he said was not true?

Regardless of what you and I think Vaz was not convicted or tried in any court of rape and murder.

Bruce Golding was never accused of the NDM of stealing anything and Abe telling the people that Vaz will be disqualified is nothing but propoganda is the worst in politics.

That said he will do anything to get a seat.

Sass you surely dont believe what you just wrote...

It is not what I believe, I am saying that Abe is too desperate, just like the bredda who a fight DK. There is a time to give up and let it go.