• Pakistan's Bhutto assasinated!

Pakistan's Bhutto killed in attack
    By SADAQAT JAN and ZARAR KHAN, Associated Press Writers 9 minutes ago

Pakistan opposition leader Benazir Bhutto was assassinated Thursday in a suicide attack that also killed at least 20 others at a campaign rally, aides said.
    "The surgeons confirmed that she has been martyred," Bhutto's lawyer Babar Awan said.
    A party security adviser said Bhutto was shot in neck and chest as she got into her vehicle to leave the rally in Rawalpindi near the capital Islamabad. A gunman then blew himself up.
    "At 6:16 p.m. she expired," said Wasif Ali Khan, a member of Bhutto's party who was at Rawalpindi General Hospital where she was taken after the attack.
    Her supporters at the hospital began chanting "Dog, Musharraf, dog," referring to Pakistan's president Pervez Musharraf.
    Some smashed the glass door at the main entrance of the emergency unit, others burst into tears. One man with a flag of Bhutto's Pakistan People's Party tied around his head was beating his chest.
    At least 20 others were killed in the blast that took place as Bhutto left a political rally where she addressed thousands of supporters in her campaign for Jan. 8 parliamentary elections.
    Bhutto served twice as Pakistan's prime minister between 1988 and 1996. She had returned to Pakistan from an eight-year exile Oct. 18.
    Her homecoming parade in Karachi was also targeted by a suicide attacker, killing more than 140 people. On that occasion she narrowly escaped injury.
    THIS IS A BREAKING NEWS UPDATE. Check back soon for further information. AP's earlier story is below.
    RAWALPINDI, Pakistan (AP) — Pakistan opposition leader Benazir Bhutto was assassinated Thursday in a suicide bombing that also killed at least 20 others at a campaign rally, a party aide and a military official said.
    "At 6:16 p.m. she expired," said Wasif Ali Khan, a member of Bhutto's party who was at Rawalpindi General Hospital where she was taken after the attack.
    A senior military official, who spoke on condition of anonymity because he was not authorized to comment, confirmed that Bhutto had died.
    Her supporters at the hospital began chanting "Dog, Musharraf, dog," referring to Pakistan's president Pervez Musharraf. Some of them smashed the glass door at the main entrance of the emergency unit, others burst into tears.

Aaargh! I am so upset! I liked her!

Don't know when yu serious or when yu being sarcastic...yu have to fix that for 2008. Get sm icons so we know.

No! I am serious! I have followed her career from Zia-Ul-Haq days. I am really saddened at her demise.

And I found her attractive! I am serious here too!

Sistah 'P' level of attractiveness ?

I bet if we referred to Sistah 'P' in that manner yuh would hear all kinda hue and cry about 'class' war.

The woman was very brave... she was moderate, secular and while probably not without her faults, an admirable politician.

pr

Just stop!!!

Sometimes you need to broaden your horizons(political) a bit...I guess Suess was right about island people.

She was brave to have returned. This was always on the cards.

Yes, sooner or later. I was hoping much later!

another sad story... she had said she knew the risk of her return but she had to return... that very moment i knew her end to violence was imminent... it was as if she knew it, you could see denial in her face and hear it in her voice...

I have spent most of my life off-island... try again..

You need to broaden you sense of humour..

Ask Mosiah for some pointers...

Her husband is criminal embezzler.

Not sure she was too clean either.

Still, she didnt deserve this.

I have spent most of my life off-island...
                              The island in you is still obvious however. Wha dem seh? Yuh can tek the man out of the island, but you can't tek the island out of him.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran