My heart bleeds for my country

Yes Sass that's what I'm saying
    after they stay in Brazil; they will head home. I would like to see the railroad revived (for tourist purposes) so that cathadupa (sp) and cambridge can come alive again.

Sass did you hear about the appleton train that they would oonce have? You partied and drank whilst the train took you along the contryside. I was looking forward to this once, only to hear that it was cancelled (I guess staying on the compound, eating and dirinking all you can for 699 USD is much better).

Boss all inclusive is not tourism. Go to europe or N america and tell them
    that you want to stay one place for x amount of dollars (whilst eating and drinking) then go back home. They would ask you if you are out of your damn mind. If you don't have the money stay home! simple This why most cruise aganecies have payment plans (in short when you have enough to go to Europe as a tourist come aboard).

They partner with govt. to build these hotels yet the same tax payers who are partners cannot enjoy it. Bossman ah eeiat ting dat. It couldn't work in Europe nor N.America (and this is why none is there).

There are pros and cons with the all-inclusive concept.

It is a controlled environment.. see if you can connect the dots.

Why does Cayman get more cruise ships per day than Jamaica get per week ?

All-Inclusives cause dat tuh ?

Does Cayman get more tourists
        than NY or Florida? Do you see any all inclusives in NY or Florida?

let me define tourism for you: It's when one goes to a foreign country
        to spend money in order to see the culture and environ of the land. Money is being spent so that even the vendor with the soda and hot dog stand can benefit.

All inclusive is not tourism,hence it's not seen in Europe or N.America.

Oh let me guess on your Cyamn question: The PNP. yes?

No-one can force a tourist to go to an all-inclusive.

Yuh tink people waan guh somewhere and lock up all day.. dem waan roam di place.

Butch Stewart cyaan force nuhbaddy fi stay inna him all-inclusive.

What yuh need to ponder is what woulda happen if wi nevah have all-inclusive.

See the Cruise Ship situation for your answer...

What would happen if wi
            neva have all inclusives? Ah let's see; well Mobay would still be known as the friendly city, tourists would be crawling all over the town, outer communities would sell thier trinkets ( man busy wid carving nuh haff nuh time fi gun ting) hotel workers would be going hope with tips (no matter how small) this in turn cause the hardware man to increas in profit. Local farming areas would come to market and expect good sale because workers in the friendly city of Mobay want to buy food. Clubs and resturants in the town would be thriving (hence the return of Mobay's night life) this would provide employement for the liocal man on the street. A man could invest in buying a bus strictly for tourist transportation and get a decent salary. I could go on but let me stop here.

BTW have you ever checked the data on crime in Mobay prior to all inclusives? You would find some interesting facts there.

Um.. how does an all-inclusive prevent this ?

How does a package that provides room, food and liquor prevent you from crawling all over the town ??

What is stopping Cruise Ship passengers from crawling all over Mobay and Ochi Rios ? Like they do in Cayman ?

Are you seriously trying to connect All-Inclusives to crime in Mobay ?

The issue in my own simplistic view is that while slavery was abolished 170 odd years ago many of us still unliberated and believe too much in entitlement. In T&T where money abounds, the mentality of many is that they don't have to work for it. It's an attitude that governments (so-called leaders") regardless of their politics or affiliation propagate and facilitate, strictly for political ends, i.e. to gain and retain power.

The anomaly of 5% unemployment, plenty $$, inflation (owing to rampant consumerism) and increasing crime in T&T is all about attitude.

I also think that T&T want to compete so much against JA that dem feel dem mus match an exceed in all spheres of activity.. LOL.

pr

With all due respect

You are talking out of your a$$.

All-Inclusives have their niche all over the World.

The question you must ask is why we do not have a vibrancy of OTHER forms of Tourism in Jamaica. It has NOTHING to do with the presence of All-Inclusives.

Do some basic research and stop embarassing yuhself.

Damn you are simplistic- not eevry hotel in Montego Bay is all-inclusive and the tourist that come here do have choice but you also need to understand that not every white person who steps of the plane has unlimited spending power and some can only afford the cheap all-inclusive plan thay had to save three years for..some of thoxse who come here cant even buy souvenirs to take back home as they are working stiffs like all of us.

I hope that can help a bit

Tourism will be a very small part of the railroad getting back up and wont be worth the cost of setting it back up...thing more of transporting goods and services within the island and keeping the big trucks off the main roads...

Revival is on the way. Ed Bartlett is working hard. I think he was a decent minister of sports in the 80s but he seems to have grasp the issue of tourism. He is also involving key tourism people in Key position and going after the asian market.

Recently America won a decision in China to be able to advertise directly to the Chinese tourist inside China. Now if only we can negociate something like that in China etc. We now have direct flight to Brazil. They might give Air one a license and they just got a direct flight from Birmingham UK to Thompson Vacation. With a few more moves like this we will be increasing our tourism, only thing we have fi do a stop the foolishness. Also no more big hotels unless them come with a plan to sell their hotels in their home market. The spanish hotels needs to committe selling their hotels in the continent of Europe.

Look for my written piece sometime in the middle of the year after I see how much we have improved or loss.
                        Revival time

Log on To progress...

Unnuh tink a country like Jamaica with its history of gangs can remain static fi 20 years while the rest of the World progresses and there are no dire consequences ?

Black Man Time.
                          "Black man time?. Thanks to Seaga, the father of garrison and gun culture in Jamaica. Fifty years later we are reaping the bitter fruits.