My heart bleeds for my country

And you support the almhouse leading up to this.

20 years wi focked around while the World moved ahead..

For what ?

Black Man Time ?

Mi nuh have NO patience fi reckless incompetence and di injustice and careless management of di country. It was not neccessary to produce generations of 'irredeemable' youths and mi nuh care which brown/black 'intelligencia' corn did a bun dem and dem war gainst di 21 Families..is only one casualty mi a si from dah war deh...

my heart ah bleed from long before siccko start..

And how do you account for the dramatic increase in crime in 8% growth T&T?

Condolences to you and the family.

While I analyze that situation.. give us your take and the relevance to the Jamaican situation.

Crime would have ballooned no matter who was in power. One could argue it would have been better curtailed under one govt. or not grown as fast, but it would have ballooned nonetheless.

No one is saying there would not be an increase in crime.

We are talking about 'murder capital of the world' levels here.

Keep it real.

Poor Sonia and his family.
                Each and every life taken by another evokes similar responses, everyone has love ones. So the woman that holds her belly in tears,her innocent son was killed by the police(with absolutely no chance of justice)is inextricably linked to the love ones of a less maligned victims.

Condolences to all, please do not let it distort your reality of the crucial issues.

Blessed

Sorry to hear about your friend. It's rough inJa. Just spoke to my Mom who says she's 'staying indoors'. Just a a couple weeks ago they shot and killed a shopkeeper in May Pen - the father of my brother's friend. Elderly man, very cool..stone's throw from where my mom lives....it just get's closer everyday...like Karl says - 1 degree of separation.

Sad to hear boss, right now mi other brother who a police say the stone crusher dem send threat to them fi the killings in st anns and say dem ago target the st anns station

we are now canibalising our young and so within 10 years if this continue we shall have no one to replace us when we are gone

All this was already written in the book of life and it had to happen because we went away from righteous livity. You have journalists in Jamaica more concerned about ego than doing good and so only when it hits home will they stop being gatekeepers and get off this class mentality.

Don't worry mi have something fi dem and its coming shortly

its in the blogs here at www.myspace.com/cdfreakmusic

Just playing my position in life

Ras check Mobay before a
                      certain type of tourism was introduced. I spoke to one person Who told me Catadupa (sp) was once thriving community (with it's own market) dead now. Cambridge the same thing. I can recall around 82 or 83 when they had world music festival (everyone in Mobay ate a serious food then). Tourist board had beg people to put up Tourists in their private homes. Skeeter Davis (on Radio West's Balcony) sang for free to a crowd near sam Sharpe square. You had top artists of the day coming then Rick James et al (nuh man neva haff nuh time fi di gun ting)

BTW please note; that in Germany some people do take in tourist in their private homes. I wonder how they would react to an all inclusive with no tips (and a sting to fire staff that do collect tips).

Mobay that was known as the friendly city is destroyed. Even in John's hall; kids would come out with mangoes to sell tourists (everyone ate) JUTA bus drivers were akin to middle managers. I guess the the descendants of slaves were reaping too much (which was in fact a small fraction) from the tourist industry. As Scaly correctly pointed out; no descendant of slave has any serious stake in the tourist industry. BTW John's Hall is now a hotbed for crime in St.James (the people would once beautify a waterfall and tourists passing by would take pictures) Boss it's only 2.6 million people living in JA, check how many tourist come in the island annually. Why was the economy of Mobay allowed to die? (hence affecting the neighbouring communities)
                      Last edited by Jawge; December 26, 2007, 02:28 PM.

Revival is on the way. Ed Bartlett is working hard. I think he was a decent minister of sports in the 80s but he seems to have grasp the issue of tourism. He is also involving key tourism people in Key position and going after the asian market.

Recently America won a decision in China to be able to advertise directly to the Chinese tourist inside China. Now if only we can negociate something like that in China etc. We now have direct flight to Brazil. They might give Air one a license and they just got a direct flight from Birmingham UK to Thompson Vacation. With a few more moves like this we will be increasing our tourism, only thing we have fi do a stop the foolishness. Also no more big hotels unless them come with a plan to sell their hotels in their home market. The spanish hotels needs to committe selling their hotels in the continent of Europe.

Look for my written piece sometime in the middle of the year after I see how much we have improved or loss.

Brazil? I thought Brazil was in the
                          tourist business too. Sass it's simple we want back the Euros and north Americans crawling all over Mobay (as before) remember the song; Come see me down in Montego Bay, ho, ho ho, those were the good days. Crime was in the single digit and the city was called the friendly city.

Please note: the last time I travelled to Ja I was among the minority on the plane (being a black man) Where did all these whites go? I travelled very often to Ja in 07 and that's all I noticed; the plane is filled with whites but they just disappeared on disembarking at the airport (never to be seen in the town). Eeeediat ting dat.

So.. All Inclusive Hotels kill Mobay ?

What the tourists prefer ?

Mi nuh unnastan.. how yuh force a tourist to stay in an all-inclusive ?

Yuh tek stock of the conditions of Ochi Rios after yuh pass di hotel strip ?

How about Mobay beyond the strip ????

Man ah bawl ah Ochi same way.

Mi go hang roun ah Maumi bay (sp) wid some firend before going to Frenchman last year and I had to tell my bredrin that this place was tops back in the 80s. Suppose yuh see di roads.

If yuh ah get fi stay inna hotel six day five night fi 699 USD, yuh wouldn't tek it? One time in Mobay wi all know that tourist wid certain pocket stay in certain hotels. The "pepsi cola" crowd (here we say economic package) was for mid size hotels, guest houses, restaurants, local bars and clubs. how did this change?

If you go to St.Tropaz the locals will tell you this is how toursim has been for years and nothing has changed and we all are doing fine. We the descendants of slaves created the vibes , culture and yet cannot reap.
                              I would like to see a all inclusive in St.Tropaz. The US is a tourist Mecca I
                              would like to see an all inclusive there. Did you know that Many Jakans buy homes near to Disney and rent it a peak times? (Bottom line everyman eat food)

I am waiting to see an all inclusive in florida. I would be the first to patronize it.

Yuh cyaan stay ah town an tell mi bout tourism inna Bay.

Jawge Brazil have a lot of tourist especially around South America and some doing well down there now. You may not realise how many rich people down there despite the poverty we hear about.

Getting people like Heinz Simonitich to serve on boards along with the bredda from Roun Hill can only help tourist in Europe. I notice the threr are some strategic appointment by Bartlett on these boards to brain storm and put their heads togather.

Give it six months and let us see the difference. They just gave 2 million dollars to avertise in North America. What airline did you take?