More Fiyah: Is Garvey a fool or an Uncle Tom?

i have no counterpart in geneva.

we have an office there......

counterpart in terms of
      ideology. Myabe you should hang up, go sailing then come back. No?

mi tell yuh seh mi a look counterpart? mi rise dat argument here YEARS ago before yuh even hear about her ... right here on this form too ......

nah...no sailig today...maybe some snorkeling on the week-end. i've also meant to take up windsurfing. what do you think?

Yah years ago..
          right Anyway since you asked me; yes go ahead snorkel away and surf the wind.

cool...YEARS ago....mdme x might remember. mo as well. matters not if you remember i don't have to lie about it.

i first had that conversation at the dinner table with my father about 18 - 20 years ago.... sunsequently i took a course in black english at university which further opened my eyes to a lot of things relating to language, syntax and grammar...in addition to also formally studying german and spanish. my only french was 2 years of high school but it helped me in france a few years agi and hopefully it can help me again this weekend.

Very good, I'm very happy fo you. Trust me on this
              take a programing course (don't have to be the regualar college ones)
              then look at some Perl scripts. You may see a whole new world opening up to you: You may also see how you could manipulate a bulk of info. Trust me the world is changing; computers/robots will handle language issues.

Have you noticed now that when you call customer service for major corps the robots/computers are can now speak better? matter of time boss. Check out Bill Joy's essay.

not interested in those things jawge.....i have an IT department to do that.....that is not my career path nor my profession.

btw i'm glad you are happy for me....

might as well learn patois if robots are going to take all the english speaking jobs!!

patios will be a breeze for them. Because
                  of Xp and vista you won't see the old media player. If you
                  know someone with win2k professional ask them to play the old media
                  player for you. You will then get a first hand view of how a comptuer
                  sees sound. You can then see how patios can be slowed and manipulated to render it to common English (hence not a different language) word to the wise don't speak patios on the phone and think you are not being understood by prying ears .

Quick question: when in College, you didn't use computers? Not even for email or word processing? (remember pine?)

i did use computers for assignments...that was it though.....well...maybe video games too....had a sega fifa game that came in handy during study breaks!

well they have made
                      several leaps and they are still progressing. last time I went to the
                      doctor they had a magazine showing robots to do your heart surgery (talk bout precision cutting). It will only get better enjoy.

BTW pine is an email program on most college campuses (because they are heavy in UNIX)

If what is of the utmost importance is what you are saying(not the language...)then isn't it possible for someone to expesss themselves clearly in a different language(other than English), and if not.. then it is reason for it (patois) to be formally taught,thereby achieving the primary objective(conveying a message, thought,viewpoint...)....
                        There is a reason for my question(house of field slave?).
                        The house slave was taught well, he loves the oppressor and hates himself.
                        Do you see the obvious parallels with regard to the ongoing English/patois debate?
                        I would further argue it is the house slave(the so-called elite one) that probably worships(love) English insomuch he distants(hates) himself from that which is ideally,wholly,inherently his language(patois).
                        That Garvey quotation(first time I seen it) is not an endorsement of the English language, for me it is about mastering whatever language you speak, that my friend is testimony for the formal teaching of patois.

Blessed
                        Last edited by Rockman; December 20, 2007, 11:51 PM.

Sweet mi fi chue. But im nah lie.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

That Garvey quotation(first time I seen it) is not an endorsement of the English language, for me it is about mastering whatever language you speak, that my friend is testimony for the formal teaching of patois.
                            Jawge can't see that.

sigh

If what is of the utmost importance is what you are saying(not the language...)then isn't it possible for someone to expesss themselves clearly in a different language(other than English), and if not.. then it is reason for it (patois) to be formally taught,thereby achieving the primary objective(conveying a message, thought,viewpoint...)....
                              There is a reason for my question(house of field slave?).
                              The house slave was taught well, he loves the oppressor and hates himself.
                              Do you see the obvious parallels with regard to the ongoing English/patois debate?
                              I would further argue it is the house slave(the so-called elite one) that probably worships(love) English insomuch he distants(hates) himself from that which is ideally,wholly,inherently his language(patois).

Blessed
                              Rocky I know you from the golden age of the forum. I must
                              admit that I surprised that you fell for the bait (That Garvey quotation(first time I seen it) is not an endorsement of the English language, for me it is about mastering whatever language you speak, that my friend is testimony for the formal teaching of patois. not even Gamma took it bredrin. I deliberately posted piece of Garvey and stood back to watch. This Garvey work is out there on the net (right under everyone's nose).
                              Guess what? Most people don't read garvey's works, hence they can't extract it. True scholars of Garvey must be laughing. The quotation comes directly from that little blue and white book on Garvey and it's out there on the net.

Rockman before I continue with you: are you telling that Garvey was making refernce to patios in the above and not English? If patios, then by your standards Garvey is a house slave.

I won't even look at Mo's post; because he ran for cover and could't help
                              Gamma when the fireworks started. Now that the crackling of small arms started (ak 47, 9mm et al he's back. Mo small arms can't cope with
                              the full scale launch of Tomahawk missiles.

Rocky once the missiles are launched I have no more control, don't be
                              a fool and stand out there with small arms in our hands. Done talk

So sad.