The mind of the Jakan slave:

in fact i do....he was a house slave...isn't that interesting?

Yes because apparently he decided that the house slave thing
      wasn't for him.

suddenly you seem well versed on toussaint! this is good...you were holding back huh?

good one!

"are yousaying that" he yearned to be a field slave? 'cause to me it seems that the "slave thing" is what really wasn't for him as opposed to the house slave thing.

oh one other thing.... what, if any, role did his position as a house slave have to do with his role in the haitian revolution.

i wait with baited....sorry "bated" breath!
        Last edited by Gamma; December 20, 2007, 11:38 AM.

Okay let's see what we have here now:

Gamma why do you continue to fall in this "Aristotle and falling bodies" trap? Are you saying that all slave rebellions were initiated by house slaves? (or even most) I will preempt you by answering NO! You are now left with hand waving and generalities. I would suggest you research all slave rebellions and see if they were started mostly by house slave.

One cannot use an islolated instance to make a theorem. I really don't care whether toussaint was ahouse slave or not (the guy did what he had to do change his circumstance) To sit here and say it's good to be
          a house slave because then you can start a rebellion (or the mostly likely person to start one) is foolhardy. Don't you think the master would have seen this pattern? (afterall they aren't dumb).

as usual you race off on a tangent.....bout "are your saying" mi seh what mi seh and i asked a question to which you are yet to furnish an answer.

where yuh si mi seh anything ablut ALL house slaves? mi ask yuh about ONE and one alone!

LOL!!!!! yuh scurrying around like a ...well like a scurrrying centaur to rhatid.

can you answer my question if you can? if you cannot, just let me know no shame in that.

and because ONE
              house slave started a rebellion, it means that being a house slave is the way to go. I don't think so. How many more "housies" started a rebellion and took over a whole island?

~sigh~ yuh gellup gone somewhere else....stay wid mi....can you or can't you answer the question? being no kinda is slave is the way to go but i digress.....i asked a specific question. can you answer it or not?

again yuh fall into a trap of your own setting....toussaint was not the ONLY house slave to rebel so disabuse yourself of that notion immediately...back to the issue at hand ... can you answer my question?

no I can't, I must confess:
                  I'm no autjority on Haitian history. Please go ahead and educate me. Thanks.

"...like a scurrrying centaur..." - HAHAHA!

thanks. read up on it yourself (if you are interested) so that next time yuh mek certain utterances yuh can have a context.

a good start is "the black jacobins" by CLR James, although given that he is a caribbean writer his scholarship might not find favour with you.

Are you an authority on linguistics and pedagogy?

Thanks in advance.

I thought I would be showered (pun intended)
                          with facts on your question, followed by some detailed analysis. ah well, what can I say. Yah i'm going to read up.

well the title of
                            the thread rings through here.

that's the best way...read up...don't take it from me. good move on your part.

pun miss mi...please explain.

amen breddah......AMEN!!!! sorry make that amen "brother".