Exploring the unique Jamaican creole - MdmeX, good read!

Just not fair to say that they are incapable. That is like saying someone from Cuba who is struggling to speak English is incapable. English for many of us is a foregin language!!!

Do English students (students in England) ace their GCE English exams? No, they don't. When I was in school, a classmate from Belize who spoke fluent Spanish did not get the Spanish prize.

The point is, many of us would fail patois! So, no one is trying to find something for people to pass. That is missing the point completely, and rather lazily too!

It comes as no surprise to me that some foreigners believe that English is not our mother tongue. Even our news readers, radio and tv personalities speak the language with such stress, slowly pronouncing each letter in the word and basically screwing up her majesty's language. Just the other day one frigged up the word "porcelain" by pronouncing it "porsilane"! Oh, how my ears ached! Our emphases in pronunciation follow no rules or regulations. The foul-ups are too numerous to mention.

So yes, our English is not quite as good as it should be, even for some of us who think it is, but studying another language like Patois, our own!, will not make it any worse, and just might make it better!

Look like seh unnuh miss di results of our English competence..

Why would one consider applying resources to teaching Patios given our situation ?

Just asking.

Yeah, it looks ridiculous when you look at the passes. But do we consider placing a hold on our French and Spanish classes in the meantime? Not sure what the answer is.

I really believe that studying patois will help not only in our understanding of English but in how we grasp other disciplines.

other disciplines? Could you be
          more explicit mo? Thanks.

how is spanish being derived from latin different from patois derived from english or afrikaans from dutch?

as for nanny you are yet to provide with anything of her glowing achievements....

she was the first female prime minister in jamaica by annointing more than anything else.

she is a great motivator, i have been present on several occasions when she had occasion to speak to various organisations but she is not prime minister material...yuh cudda bawl blood.
            What then is she lacking that [quote]she is not prime minister material...yuh cudda bawl blood? [quote]

leadership ability....for ONE.

she is a good motivator, but does not comport herself as a leader nor has she been decisive as a leader.

Erm, like computer science and information technology, to name a few.

ah let's start here:

Because I think you are confusing a manger for a leader.
                  The Psychology of Leadership

One of the differentiating factors between Management and Leadership is the ability or even necessity to inspire. A Leader, one who can instill passion and direction to an individual or group of individuals, will be using psychology to affect that group either consciously or unconsciously.
                  Those who seem to be "Natural Leaders" and effectively inspire groups without really knowing the strategies or tactics used are considered Charismatic Leaders. The conscious Leader on the other hand applies a variety of psychological tactics that affect the “reactions” of a group to the environment they exist in.
                  In numerous "directive" (meaning to willfully direct as opposed to unconsciously do) Organizational psychology disciplines such as “Directive Communication” by Arthur F. Carmazzi and theories like “The ripple effect” by Sigal Barsade, leadership is a product of awareness and command of the reactions and influences of a group on the individual as well as the individual on the group.
                  A Leader's successful application of directive organizational psychology by modifying specific leadership behaviors towards the group, will yield an Organizational culture that is in essence “inspired”.

The Embodiment of Leadership

Most research into leadership mistakenly focused on cognitive and intellectual processes, forgetting the important fact that every cognitive process is an embodied process. In the book Leading People the Black Belt Way, Timothy Warneka accurately points out that, “Great leadership begins with the body.”
                  People are living, organic beings, and medical research is increasingly recognizing the truth that mind and body are, in fact, one. While we often speak about mind and body as separate entities, great leaders understand that mind and body are, in reality, two sides of the same coin. Superior leaders recognize further that an awareness of their own physical selves is a critical component of their success. In a very real way, our toes, stomachs, and shoulders are on equal footing (pardon the pun) with our thoughts and ideas. As with any other tool, however, leaders must be trained to use embodied leadership technology appropriately and effectively.
                  In leadership, as in the martial arts, your stance is critical to your success. If you have a weak stance, then every way you lead will be fundamentally flawed. For example, if you have a weak stance in your emotional life, then you will have significant difficulties when you attempt to lead other people relationally. Recalling that we are embodied beings, I do not mean the word stance to be understood only metaphorically. I am also using the word stance in the literal sense, in terms of how leaders actually carry themselves physically when they lead others. Learning embodied stance will deepen your capacity for experiencing your own emotions, and better equip you to cope with the emotions of others, from the lighthearted to the highly conflicted. Your stance, you will learn, has a very literal, not to mention enormous impact on your ultimate success as a leader.

Passing patois and English do not have to be mutually exclusive. I suspect that in some instances it may be easier to teach certain syntaxes using the 'native' tongue first then advance the concept to standard English.

I mean, look at you ... even with your restricted exposure to the language you seem relatively fluent in Patois. Imagine if you were allowed to fully emerse yourself.

In all hoensty - after you put the emotions aside. From a resource perspective I do not have to see a full CXC patois course. But I would settle for a little more respect for our language, Poetry, music etc. in our curriculum. There is room to use say Buju's music to explore the concepts of theme,onomatopoeia or aliteration in prose. A few more desertations on the differences between the Western and Eastern Patois would not hurt either.

Yuh coming roun,
                      ah see ground fi talk. Funny ting; yuh nuh write patwah at all

LOL!!!!!!! so because timothy warneka.....heheheheheheheh...help him lawd!

needless to say jawge if we were talking about the martial arts this might be entertaining.....but since we are talking about leading a country....

what you have defined is no matter what warneka or barsade seh (and i'm sure you're quoting them because they are not jamaican) what is being described is in fact a manager.....

we are talking about the leader of a country jawge....speaking of which....are you inspired by the leader of your country?

Originally posted by Seuss View Post
                          Passing patois and English do not have to be mutually exclusive. I suspect that in some instances it may be easier to teach certain syntaxes using the 'native' tongue first then advance the concept to standard English.
                          Can't agree more!

Originally posted by Seuss View Post
                          There is room to use say Buju's music to explore the concepts of theme,onomatopoeia or aliteration in prose.
                          Ono...wha?!?

...says the poster who spells his name Jawge (for George).

Okay, we are going to work
                              with this:"your stance is critical to your success. If you have a weak stance, then every way you lead will be fundamentally flawed. "

What was Nanny P's stance on the "fire truck " issue? Was her stance a popuplar one? Did she take a lot of flak from her peers? Instead of just laughing and saying oh it's Kung Fu, stop belittling yourself and read the article with its varied applications.

quick question:Can you apply all you learn in school immediately to the real world?

Tank God fi dictionary.com.