Exploring the unique Jamaican creole - MdmeX, good read!

Just tell me this: In the times when most things were written
    in Latin and spoken as thus. How much of Europe was literate? Don't tell me you guys are hinging on the fact that English came out of Latin (with some saxony =Germanic; mixed in) you guys will call patois a language now. Different time but as it won't affect me (cue from phd) i support it now.

lol... yuh too bad... karl wudda be de wuss patois teacha - eva...

I see this all as part of the colonial leagacy - the idea that anything that is of Jamaican origin is somehow inferior to anything that is not.eg. reggae vs R & B, Dread Locks vs Afro, patois vs. English. I am glad to see that tide continues to change.

I think many Jamaicans would learn to appreciate some aspects of our culture more if they were some how deprived of them, as happened to many of us when we went overseas.

if karl cudda be a patois teacha... anybody cudda be a patois teacha... all de mad man dem pon street wudda qualify fi teach patois

how is spanish being derived from latin different from patois derived from english or afrikaans from dutch?

as for nanny you are yet to provide with anything of her glowing achievements....

she was the first female prime minister in jamaica by annointing more than anything else.

she is a great motivator, i have been present on several occasions when she had occasion to speak to various organisations but she is not prime minister material...yuh cudda bawl blood.

If you were around in Garvey's time,
              you would say the same of him:
              "she is a great motivator, i have been present on several occasions when she had occasion to speak to various organisations but she is not prime minister material...yuh cudda bawl blood."

Bible: by the fruits ye shall know them.

What is part of the Colonial Legacy ?

More Parents should insist their children speak english at home.. maybe that way they can be taught and maybe pass English....

errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr........how DARE you compare garvey to portia?!!! yuh slack! tek whey yuhself!

Why is it that Nanny P cannot be compared with
                    Garvey? Please explain in detail,thanks.

Colonial mentality => "the idea that anything that is of Jamaican origin is somehow inferior to anything that is not"

By all means acquire the skills necessary to particpate in modern society. But why was patois not given equal footing since it was the 'language' spoken by many in Jamaica. Why was it relgated to the scrimmage field.

Seuss mi respek yuh an dis fight ah
                        nuh really fi yuh. Come see mi up top pon di info age and writing our own computer language. Bless.

Why is Patios spoken by many in Jamaica ???

Think about it carefully...

Because it is our national (not native) language.

I can tell why I speak it and why my fluency has improved sinced migrating. It is the same reason many Jews speak Hebrew as well as English, the same reason many Irish speak Gaelic as well as English, the same reason many south Indians proudly speak Telegu, Tamil, Malayalam as well as Hindi and English. Unforutanely it took the threat of losing that part of my heritage to realise its value.

We should take as much pride in speaking patois as we do in speaking fluent standard English.

The reason most people speak patios in Jamaica is because they cannot speak english.

You see them TRYING REAL HARD on TV but they are incapable.

You are connecting with your 'culture'.. good for you.

I wonder if is a gaurantee pass in CXC is what wi trying to obtain.

"Mommy, mi get a pass inna Patios !"