Exploring the unique Jamaican creole - MdmeX, good read!

yuh lie nuh backside just for your ease of reference even if you cannot understand...at least READ:

well mi agree wid her.....to teach or encourage the formalisation of patois should not be to the detriment of the english language.....

and for your information i was of this opinion BEFORE some phd from geneva said so.....i agree with her that patois should be taught as a language and not to the detriment of english.

i hope that you are right about me, few things would give me greater pleasure than knowing that you are right in what you thought.

some people see what never was and say why not! yuh what is funny...man like you sell out marcus garvey fi rice and peas!!!

How will this be achieved:
      "i agree with her that patois should be taught as a language and not to the detriment of english." When majority of our Jakan kids come to school already versed in patios? Yuh know what; if I was sitting behind the walls of an academia in Geneva (with my kids) I would say the same thing.

i thought you hung up. fallacy seems to be your reasoning form!

do they teach english language at primary schools in england?

what about spain, do they teach spanish at primary schools in spain? the nederlands? germany?

They should make it mandatory to speak English in the workplace.

That should fix dem business... bout unique creole..

Yuh tink mi coulda speak Patios inna mi house.. is idle time and scrimmage game mi coulda tri dat..

She ah tek dis ting fi fun...

and now...just listen to you!!!

No what you should ask is if
              they teach cockney in Primary schools in England. I'm sure Spain, Nerland and Germany have their dialects too. As I said I don't fault you or the phd.

glad you ran with it mi friend....what is spanish but a dialect of latin, same is true of french, italian, portugues and romanian, all are "bastardised latin".... afrikaans is a competely new language based off dutch, which itself has indo eurpoean roots the same as german and english in parts.

the point is at some stage, these languages were formalised to concretise a national identity. it had to be done jawge...it neva fall from heaven as you seem to think

That's not fair! There is only one answer. This is not a fair question. Give the answerer a choice!

Parfect English !

You are grasping at straws with an
                      argument called inifinite regression Which is really circular).This argumet is not about where language began. You get sidetracked too easily (I understand this is the info age and one can be overwhlemed with huge amount of info out there).

Just tell me if all the European countries that you mentioned don't have dialect then tell me if they are being taught in the respective schools.

side tracked? THEY EACH HAVE THEIR OWN LANGUAGE THAT IS INDIGENOUS TO THEM....it started out the same way patois did.....

each area has it's own dialect and accent...same of english...but patois is NOT english...it is it's own language......it is not english. you are a victim of the same colonial slavemaster behavious that yuh come on here and decry as i said ....i people like you sell out marcus garvey fi rice and peas!

black starliner? why do they need that, the QE sails to cape town once a year!

really? yuh getting desperate now.
                          let's take a look at the word "yuh" where did it come fom, swailli? Patois is mainly an english dialect sprinkled with some African, french and spanish.

leave this alone because you are out of your depth here.

As for Garvey talk; I will ignore it. Mi haffi inna di hills a fight fi survive. Mi nuh eat ah di great house and get ah nice piece of pork shank. The 'educated" class belittled and use the courts to destroy Gravey. You sir view Nanny P with disdain (who incidentally is of the same ilk as Garvey)

Now go figure.

Jawge, I'm going to step outside of my small sphere of expertise and tell you that linguists, one after the other, seem to all agree that patois is a language. Why should I listen to you and your unlearned theory?

I'm hanging up - NOW!

Okay you guys win; go ahead and
                              teach this new language in schools. This I hope will produce quailty scientists and engineers so that Ja can start to export something of their own. Why should I worry anyway. I will take a cue from the phd, yeah I want my kids to eventually learn patios. Now knock yourself out. Hope bruce brings this one into law.

Thanks, Jawge!

As a fellow forumite would say - FORWARD!