• Cop caught with four illegal guns

Cop caught with four illegal guns
    published: Monday | December 17, 2007

WESTERN BUREAU:
    A constable of the Area One Flying Squad was taken into custody by his colleagues in the wee hours of yesterday morning in relation to four illegal firearms in his possession.

Reports are that about 1:00 a.m. yesterday, the constable, who was recently interdicted after discharging his firearm during a wake held in honour of a fallen colleague, called for assistance in detaining two men whom he observed in the Bogue Village area acting suspiciously.
    However, on their arrival, the police proceeded to search the lawman's car where the guns were found.

The Gleaner understands that apart from his licensed 9mm pistol, the cop had a home-made handgun, a Smith & Wesson .40 pistol, and two Smith & Wesson revolvers, one of which had been dismantled.

The policeman, however, claimed that he was tipped off about the whereabouts of the weapons. He further claimed that he was on his way to hand the guns over to the Freeport Police Station when he saw the two men acting suspiciously, accosted them and called for assistance.
    The policeman, along with the two men, one from Bogue Village and the other from the neighbouring parish of Hanover, was then taken into custody.

Dirty cops
    In a recent article published by The Gleaner, Superintendent Steve McGregor said that some members of the St. James police were involved in criminal activities.

"It would be foolhardy to think that there won't be some police who are involved, even intimately involved in 'bandooloo' or as much as criminal activity, but you need to have the evidence to take action against them," the divisional commander had said.
    "There are persons out there that will call, claiming to have proof of the involvement of members of the force in criminal activities, but when you invite them to come in with the evidence for us to take action, they refuse," he added.

watch him get away.

what if he's telling the truth?

anyway...him call his colleagues because him si suspicious looking behaviour and dem come search his car?!!!! LOL!!!

Yet, they have the nerve to describe the nation as "ungrateful". See headline in today's Gleaner.

Exactly! They had their suspicions about him too!

Yet, they have the nerve to describe the nation as "ungrateful". See headline in today's Gleaner.
            Yes Mosiah - I saw that article and have issues with the statement.

We might be an ungrateful nation, but that didn't just happen overnight. Dem wrenk!

..school pickney would say "dem smell dem arm and tink a charm"

if him tell the truth or tell lie him a get way.

The fact that he had a story already and a him one deh pon duty, him a go get way.

Remember nuf a them don't even have that story when them get caught and get way.

If you a police and find 4 illegal guns in any place would you put them in your car or call fi backup right away?

A today the soldier man tek over?

yes

well 'sass, he was clearly in communication with offices to request back-up...why didn't he advise of the find before? same as he could report "suspicious" behaviour he could have said...oh by the way i recovered these guns at x place.

he would also need to explain why no one was detained because it does not seem as if the "recovery" of the guns by him is directly related to the suspicious behaviour.

The reason I think he will getaway is because a so cowboy cop behave. Them go out and them under little or no supervision.
                          Yeah he had communication but him a go tell the court say a him 'cell phone" him use as the police device never did a work.

The illegal guns could be for dirty work or planting on innocent victims.

Left right left.

Thanks I hope him nuh ramp wid them. I also want to hear his plans, I have more faith in him than the present minister.

his colleagues knew he was a dirty cop and rat him out... why else would they search his car after he called them for assistance... whats alarming, is the fact that he was still allowed to carry a weapon after recently discharging his weapon during the wake... again punishment not being a deterrent... i see a shifting tide... hope its not a mirage...