Just came back from MegaMart

• Just came back from MegaMart

one word...Bleeeeeertnaught.....we deh a Merka...some one said it reminded them of WalMart but this looks more like a coming together of Walmart and Costco and Sam's Club.

All me know seh like how we Montegonians love newness, Fontanta and SuperPlus get lick.

Next time you visit megamart--check to see how many of the products have a 'made in Jamaica' label............................................. ......

Jamaica is a consumer economy. the manufacturing of all the products comes from elsewhere. all imported.

The single major benefit is local employment. A %age of these employees pay go back in pruchasing Megamart products.

Jamaica NEEDS manufacturing industries...

When next you go to Walmart check and see how many of the things are marked "Made in the USA". Mek sure yuh get back to mi!

touche'

I erased that part from my post. That part about made in America. I wanted Sickko--even you to broach that fact.

My response is: America is a highly industrial and developed country. it can well afford the made in china....made in Indonesia...made in India label on imported products. In fact, the current business trend in America dictates cheap labor from overseas.

Jamaica cannot afford this trend.

Emphasis therefore MUST be on manufacturing for growth and develpment. consumerism is not the answer...so you and Sickko can tan deh.

You outdid yourself with this bunkum.

Are you suggesting that Jamaica should try and compete with China now? There is not a nation on this planet that can. It would be dumb for us to try.

Go ahead, HL. You get your kicks trying to belittle Jamaica.

Jamaica does NOT have to go the manufacturing route.

Agriculture, Tourism, Finance, IT and other (service) niches could do us well.

No, Willi. America at one time was a manufacturing giant. So, as far as HL is concerned, we must follow the same route if we want to be successful. I guess once we establish ourselves as manufacturing giants, then we can embark on the "business trend of exploiting cheap labor from overseas."

sigh

Jamaica should pursue a mixed economy and that mix should be uniquely suited to our special characteristics.

Look pon Switzerland and Austria, do they make cars?? They are among the richest European countries.

Why are you attacking me in this boss? What have I done to deserve this on, I never even mentioned Burrell here or do you think I am disssing your beloved USA?

neva si come see.....

me or HL...LOL!!!!

Jamaica does NOT have to go the manufacturing route.

Agriculture, Tourism, Finance, IT and other (service) niches could do us well.
                          Well you know my stance already - limit and move away from manufacture....unless there is such a thing as clean manufacture. We are so small that waste from manufacturing plants will eventually make the island not fit for humans!

who di cap fit.....

I am with you on that but for different reason. I just can't see how we will ever be able to compete with a China in the near future. Perhaps in the distant future when Chinese wages start to skyrocket, then we might have a chance, but for now, the economies of scale just not working out for us.

One might say how does T&T do it? Well, even if we find oil there will be a limit as to the kinds of things we would be able to manufacture competitively.

Anyway, we give HL's nonsense post too much respect when we respond the way we are doing.