• Rhodd calls for unity in Portland Parish Council

Rhodd calls for unity in Portland Parish Council
    published: Saturday | December 15, 2007

Dr. Donald Rhodd
    Member of Parliament for Eastern Portland, Dr. Donald Rhodd, has called on members of the Portland parish council to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]work [COLOR=orange! important]together[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] to send a signal to the rest of Jamaica that political unity is important in achieving the nation's goals.

Speaking at the swearing-in ceremony for the Portland parish councillors, he called for forgive-ness and reconciliation, in light of what he sees as the questionable circumstances under which some of the councillors were elected.

"As you chart a path towards working together, foremost in your minds and hearts must be the need for forgiveness and reconciliation," Dr. Rhodd said. "This, I submit, is necessary since some of you have been elected under very questionable circumstances."

He said that those who had been involved in bribery and intimi-dation should realise that their actions "have undermined our democracy which has been built by the blood, sweat and tears of tens of thousands of individuals".
    He urged the new members to incorporate Jamaicans in their decision making, and to foster a spirit of cooperation in the council.

Donald - betta shut up and start set the example and so some WUK in the Parish.

Him better remember that people disgusted with his peformance and much of his vote is because he's a son of the Parish.

Bewildering Rhodd

I am absolutely bewildered by the speech of Donald Rhodd at the swearing-in of parish councillors. He spoke about the effect that bribery and corruption had on the campaign, but is he simply trying to sew discontent among people for the newly elected members of the parish council?

There are approximate 25 districts in the Fellowship division. Of this number, seven have traditionally voted in the majority for the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP). The deplorable roads in these areas, in particular Ginger House, Comfort Castle and Millbank were not fixed by Mr. Rhodd and his government in the 18 years they were in [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]office[/COLOR][/COLOR]. How dare Mr. Rhodd talk about discrimination?

Jamaica needs a government for the people by the people, not for PNP or JLP. Whatever your political affiliation, you should be able to support a party without your community having to suffer. People who aspire for political leadership should win the hearts of the people through their work, not through the amount of money distri-buted two days before an election.
      - Paul Brown pbrownsnr@hotmail.com

Him better wake up. Him, Vaz and the JLP councillors better start working cause Portland people tiad now.

As Karl say we poise fi take off how long. Imagine your road nuh work pon in 18 years?

..and him of all people talking bout bribery & corruption. Him should a talk to him former MP Daddy first. But say no more!!