• Lawyer reprimands government for handling of PSC

Lawyer reprimands government for handling of PSC
    Friday, 14 December 2007
    Washington based Attorney at Law, HilaireSobers slammed the government over its handling of the dismissal of members of the Public Service Commission.

Mr. Sobers was stinging in his description of the government's action.

"I consider the government's behaviour to be nothing less than the lynching of the rule of law and indeed as it relates to the issue of misbehaviour as has been ascribed to the PSC, if there is anybody who is an exemplar of constitutional misbehaviour I would put that at the feet of the Prime Minister and nobody else," said Mr. Sobers.

Mr. Sobers said while there was no breach of law, the government showed scant regard in its ethics and promoting the spirit of the law.

He has dismissed the government's claim that the timing of the dismissal and the court hearing were coincidental.

"I am no fool and I have been a lawyer for almost 20 years and this is a trick. This is an artifice to essentially undermine a process," he continued.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
    Lawyer reprimands government for handling of PSC
    Friday, 14 December 2007
    Washington based Attorney at Law, HilaireSobers slammed the government over its handling of the dismissal of members of the Public Service Commission.

Mr. Sobers was stinging in his description of the government's action.

"I consider the government's behaviour to be nothing less than the lynching of the rule of law and indeed as it relates to the issue of misbehaviour as has been ascribed to the PSC, if there is anybody who is an exemplar of constitutional misbehaviour I would put that at the feet of the Prime Minister and nobody else," said Mr. Sobers.

Mr. Sobers said while there was no breach of law, the government showed scant regard in its ethics and promoting the spirit of the law.

He has dismissed the government's claim that the timing of the dismissal and the court hearing were coincidental.

"I am no fool and I have been a lawyer for almost 20 years and this is a trick. This is an artifice to essentially undermine a process," he continued.
    I told you that Portia and the PSC would lose in court.

Now the argument shifts to ethics???

This is the PSC that was severely reprimanded in July by the High Court!!!

Bias business this.

The PSC should have resigned en bloc in September!! Decency is the first casualty in Jakan politics!!!

never did i say they would win in court... i said i was appreciative of them taking it to court... my concern is the manner in which all this is being handled... the high court will sort whether out there was sufficient grounds for dismissal on 'misbehavior'...

so ... like AJ you want the gov't to be helpless?

lazie, raise the level... from as long as you've seen me posting here, can you cite an instance where i've indicated that i want the gov't jlp or pnp to be 'helpless', as you've put it... i dont understand how you could arrive at such a conclusion...

i read you like a book... don't try to put me in any box... if you cannot see the greater benefit with the high court sorting out the issue, its all on you... let me help you, whatever affects the jlp will ultimately affect the pnp... its not a jlp/pnp party issue, its a jamaican issue...

you do realize that is Lazie yuh talking to doh, right? remember, he keeps it real.

like mi seh, mi respect him enthusiasm, but find it frustrating that him cannot see beyond the narrow issue of party politics...

lazie, raise the level... from as long as you've seen me posting here, can you cite an instance where i've indicated that i want the gov't jlp or pnp to be 'helpless', as you've put it... i dont understand how you could arrive at such a conclusion...

i read you like a book... don't try to put me in any box... if you cannot see the greater benefit with the high court sorting out the issue, its all on you... let me help you, whatever affects the jlp will ultimately affect the pnp... its not a jlp/pnp party issue, its a jamaican issue...
                Lazie?
                Lazie...you are asking to see beyond his nose on anything concerning JLP?
                Joke ting, dat!

can't tell him dat doh. him keep it real!

In my books Portia and Bruce should be parish council leaders at most.

Heh, heh.

Comedy to rhatid !

Underestimating Bruce Golding is the achilles heel of the PNP...