Vaz travelled this year on US passport - heh heh!

• Vaz travelled this year on US passport - heh heh!

Vaz travelled this year on US passport
    published: Friday | December 14, 2007

( L - R ) Dabdoub, Vaz
    Chief Immigration Officer Leighton Wilson yesterday produced Immigration Records in the Supreme Court to show that Jamaica Labour Party Member of Parliament Daryl Vaz had travelled on a United States passport this year.

Wilson was testifying in the election petition brought by People's National Party candidate Abe Dabdoub.

Dabdoub is seeking to have Vaz disqualified as Member of Parliament for West Portland because of his alleged dual citizenship. He is asking the court to find that Vaz pledged allegiance to a foreign power or state, which is in breach of the Constitution of Jamaica, making him ineligible to be an MP.

Wilson produced two departure cards - which Vaz signed - disclosing he was a businessman and an American citizen.

One of the cards was signed before nomination day in August this year, and the other after nomination day.

Another immigration form was produced to show that Vaz landed in Jamaica on October 7 this year on a U.S. passport.

It is stated in Vaz's U.S. passport and the landing form which he signed when he landed on October 7, that Vaz is to leave the island by January 9, 2008, and is not permitted to work in Jamaica.

Vaz is contending that he got his American citizenship through his mother, who is an American. He claims further, that if he is under an allegiance, it was not by his own act.

Dabdoub is seeking orders from the court to be returned as the duly elected candidate.

Vaz is contending that if the court rules against him, there should be a by-election in the constituency of West Portland. The hearing continues today before Chief Justice Zaila McCalla.
    Last edited by Karl; December 14, 2007, 08:40 AM.

Cho,

We done agree him a heeediot.(being kind here)

Mi and yuh will never disagree on this one!!

What is wrong with travelling on a US Passport ?

You see the part where it was stamped that he is not allowed to work here?

My UK visa says the same thing...but isnt this just indicative of the contempt that this fellow and those in his circles have for the laws of Jamaica?

nothing, absolutely nothing...unles ofcourse you are a Jamaican parliamentarian sworn to uphold the laws of Jamaica a sovreign nation.

That is not necessarily a legal problem, as he may still not have sworn anything....however, it is incredibly stupid PR thing to do while engaged in a legal battle.

I would prefer to see him out of politics anyway. mi nah hide and speak.

What is wrong with a Jamaican Parliamentarian sworn to uphold the laws of Jamaica travelling on a US Passport ?

Is it against the law for a Jamaican Parliamentarian to travel on a US Passport ?

You see the part where it was stamped that he is not allowed to work here?

My UK visa says the same thing
                What are you on about? What does a visa have to do with this? Why would he not be allowed to work here if he has dual citizenship?

If you present a foreign passport to immigration, that is what they will stamp, unless it shows place of birth Jamaica, then they may forego this.

PR ?

Since when Jamaicans know bout much less have a problem with this ?

Lets keep it real now.

If you engage in politics, then you HAVE to be in the PR game.

Who are those in his circles ?

Yuh mean the circle Reneto talk bout ? 75% ?

Heh, heh.

What is the Public perception regarding dual citizenship ?

If yuh tink dem call a by-election.. who yuh tink woulda win ?

If you present a foreign passport to immigration, that is what they will stamp, unless it shows place of birth Jamaica, then they may forego this.
                            Yes but he is also a Jamaican citizen so that is much ado about nothing.

Who are those in his circles ?

Yuh mean the circle Reneto talk bout ? 75% ?

Heh, heh.
                              He means "white/brown" people. "The man". "Whitey". "The downpressor". "The great satan".