Injunction too late to prevent the dismissal of the members

• Injunction too late to prevent the dismissal of the members

A Supreme Court injunction to stop the dismissal of members of the Public Services Commission (PSC) came too late today to save the members from being fired.

The Governor General reportedly issued letters to individual members of the Public Service Commission early this morning, relieving them of their positions.

High court Judge Justice Kay Beckford has granted the injunction seeking to block the Prime Minister from recommending to the Governor General that the members of the PSC be axed.

The ruling was handed down despite strong opposition from lawyers representing Prime Minister Bruce Golding, but the court hearing was too late.

January 10 is the date set for the hearing of the motion filed by Portia Simpson Miller challenging the Prime Minister's decision to have the members dismissed.

The Opposition Leaders' lawyers yesterday filed papers seeking a judicial review of the plan to fire the Commissioners.

The lawsuit names the Prime Minister and Attorney General as defendants.

The Opposition Leader was seeking a court order quashing the recommendation that the five members be dismissed.

Mrs. Simpson Miller's lawyers were also seeking an injunction preventing the dismissal of the Commission members until they were afforded a fair hearing into the Prime Minister's allegation of misconduct.

Lead Attorney Bert Samuels, argued that the Prime Minister breached the rules of natural justice by denying the members of the PSC a hearing to determine if there was misbehaviour on their part.

They further claim that Mr. Golding was guilty of procedural unfairness by not giving notice before coming to this finding of misconduct.

According to Mrs. Simpson-Miller the Prime Minister is acting against the members of the PSC only to thwart their recommendation for Professor Stephen Vasciannie to be the country's next Solicitor-General.

Third world= one Don

something tells me this is far from over...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
        something tells me this is far from over...
        ... worse nightmare?

It's not going to get better; a dangerous precedent
          was set since Sept3rd. Okay let me reveal what I've been telling people offline: The PNP was broken in 1980. 2007 was the year for the JLP to be broken, unfortunenately this didn't happen. We are now getting the net result. This age (the info age) will not be so forgiving. Ja is now on full decline.

Badone is you mi ah
            address in the above post.

... Ja is now on full decline.
              Check the un hdi ranking over the years ... yuh late.

The Sky is falling ?

Sun was shining last 18 years.

Now the Sky is falling after 3 months.

You either have your tongue permanently stuck in your cheek or you are severely retarded.

Bert Samuels, Portia's lawyer is ****************ed that he got outfoxed by the PM. Him claimed that the PM preempted justice, but did he? The recommendation was made from November .... don't it?

Outfoxed by the PM?!?! How so?!?!

Is Bruce, you and the others won't get it.

Because it never happened! How did he outsmart anyone!?!?! Better yuh blame the PNP lawyers for screwing up, but I fail to see any outsmarting here.

But carry on if it makes you feel better.

Because it never happened! How did he outsmart anyone!?!?! Better yuh blame the PNP lawyers for screwing up, but I fail to see any outsmarting here.

But carry on if it makes you feel better.
                          eMotional as usual. PNP a s s kisser Garnet Roper asked the lawyer if he was outfoxed by the PM, the lawyer laughed and said ... "Foxed ... Foxed!"

If Portia's lawyer can say that .... what makes you the expert to say otherwise?

or some other cheek!