• Azan must go

- PNP - Tells Trade and Invest boss to quit over MegaMart power theft
    published: Wednesday | December 12, 2007

The Opposition People's National Party (PNP) has called for the resignation of Chairman of Jamaica Trade and Invest (JTI), Gassan Azan, in the wake of revelations that his company, MegaMart, was the subject of investigations after electricity bypass equipment, which interrupts the recording of the consumption of electricity supplied by the Jamaica Public Service (JPS), was reportedly found at two of his stores.

It was reported in The Sunday Gleaner that MegaMart Wholesale Club had suspended an employee, after a JPS probe uncovered an "artificial interruption of electricity" supply to MegaMart stores in Kingston and Portmore.

On December 4, the JPS disconnected power to both stores, following the discovery of a device that interrupted the recording of the consumption of electricity.

Position in jeopardy

In a release yesterday, the PNP said Mr. Azan should resign because his position as chairman of Jamaica Trade and Invest had been seriously affected by the disclosure.

"It would not be appropriate for us to comment on the credulity of Mr. Azan's explanation. However, JTI is the Government's investment promotion agency, and we believe that Mr. Azan's ability to continue as chairman of that agency has been seriously compromised by this disclosure," said the PNP release.

"With this issue hanging over him, it is going to be exceedingly difficult for the leader of JTI to pitch Jamaica successfully to potential investors as a great investment opportunity, given that his own company has been caught depriving one of the largest foreign-owned firms in Jamaica of their rightful revenue," the release added.

yes he should go. How him fi tief the people them light?

Is not him do it! One of his employees took it upon himself to help out his boss, unbeknownst to him, of course, by hooking up some device to the electrical system that artificially interrupts the electrical supply.

Azan mussi tink say di whole a wi born behind cow. Why would this worker take it upon himself to help out him nice boss suh? This he did at not one, but 2 Mega Mart stores! Azan should be put on trial and if found guilty for grand theft and larceny (or whatever the charge may be) made to pay the price!

Even worse than this is Samuda's response that he won't dignify the PNP's statement with a response. I wonder, those persons living on Karl Samuda Avenue off Red Hills Road, do they also have these devices, or dem just plain tief JPS' electricity?

Go check how much deh a him yard

I'm waiting for Maudib to tell me that if we had 20 more Azans...

Please hold your breath.

Nuh his brother run for the PNP? Richard?

Dem playing the Matalon game. LoL

I can see the JPSCo ppl checking out the supply to the new MoBay store which I hear is the biggest of three...but the other question for me now is how many of our big bussiness men are tiefing light water and other things, by passing Customs duty etc...

So wait, We can collect more custom duties if we don't have fraud going on? Tell that to Karl. We don't have to raise tax, I hope Audley Shaw pass him CAPE soon and realise this.

Richard has been the black sheep from Day One. If they are playing the Matalon game, they are not doing it strategically but just because they can't stand a bone in Richard's body.

Reneto Adams seh 75% of Jamaicans are criminals....

Quoting Reneto - don't know which one worse, you or Rennie.

You think them man deh a PNP/JLP? Them get the best wha dem can take.

Now that is what man fi talk bout. Rig the electricity and can beat all the other competitors and run small man outa business. A dem man deh a di we fi a talk bout.

him a still part a di family don't?

So wait, We can collect more custom duties if we don't have fraud going on? Tell that to Karl. We don't have to raise tax, I hope Audley Shaw pass him CAPE soon and realise this.
                              Sass, there was a forum last week on press freedom and corruption. Believe it or not, Shaw during his presentation made mention of what you're saying. It was in that presentation he spoke of adopting the Hong Kong model.

Pity, other than NNN no other media reported on it.