Millions lost as cruise ship turns away from Jamaica

• Millions lost as cruise ship turns away from Jamaica

A major cruise ship was forced to turn away from Jamaica Monday, costing the tourism industry millions in potential earnings.

The Royal Caribbean cruise liner "THE QUEST", turned away from two ports due to "alleged rough seas".

The 700 passenger ship arrived on schedule at 7:30 Monday morning and waited outside Port Antonio for a pilot to bring it into port.

But the boatman contracted to take the pilot out to the ship allegedly refused to do so due to rough seas and the liner was turned away from the port.

The decision did not go down well with tour bus operators who were assigned to take the visitors on pre-arranged tours.

Agents of the liner then decided that the passengers would disembark in Ocho Rios, St. Ann, but upon reaching Ocho Rios, there was no pilot assigned to meet the liner.

The Quest therefore sailed away from Jamaica.

The news comes just days after Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett said this was shaping up to be one of the best winter tourist seasons for Jamaica.

The decision did not go down well with tour bus operators

i wonder how they exhibited this displeasure!!!! dat boat man might have to relocate ....

Is a few Marine pilot well inna OLINT...as a result they are a bit more discerning in their activities...

"Yuh want mi to guh Ochi WHEN ?.. and is now yuh calling me ? I NOT IN DAT !"

That boat man might be forced to tek refuge eena ROUGH WATA!! Let me not even start thinking about this.

A major cruise ship was forced to turn away from Jamaica Monday, costing the tourism industry millions in potential earnings.

The Royal Caribbean cruise liner "THE QUEST", turned away from two ports due to "alleged rough seas".

The 700 passenger ship arrived on schedule at 7:30 Monday morning and waited outside Port Antonio for a pilot to bring it into port.

But the boatman contracted to take the pilot out to the ship allegedly refused to do so due to rough seas and the liner was turned away from the port.

The decision did not go down well with tour bus operators who were assigned to take the visitors on pre-arranged tours.

Agents of the liner then decided that the passengers would disembark in Ocho Rios, St. Ann, but upon reaching Ocho Rios, there was no pilot assigned to meet the liner.

The Quest therefore sailed away from Jamaica.

The news comes just days after Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett said this was shaping up to be one of the best winter tourist seasons for Jamaica.
          Well, I never know you comment on Cruise ship business too?

One of my main point is that rough seas as never stop any ship from entering Lucea's Harbor, matter of fact I have never seen any Tug boat escorting any ship in Lucea's harbor, the Britanna never need help in 1965 to turn around.

You have inside connections, call your man and save him from looking foolish.

BTW the only area that needs dredging is the Winwardside of the harbor where deep dwarft ships to be and not on the Leewardside.

Both PNP & JLP seems to be making joke of Port Antonio & Lucea.

you can that again. Before them big up the habour a portie bout them build yatch pier, it wouldn't that bad if them dida advertise it anywhere.

Ship come in wid nuff passenger, every little man have a chance fi sell them something, and you sure it a come pretty often.

Yeah Lucea and Portie abandon.

As to what happened yesterday, what could have been done? The man with the contract out of concerned for his safety refused to go out there .... I'm not gonna crucify him for that. If someone can prove that the water wasn't that rough ... then.

When Daddy Logan was alive and escorting ship thru the channel, how comes no ship neva haffi turn away, him neva seh sea too rough. If him nuh want the wuk, him must give it up.

Sass - unuh could a stay up a school and watch the ship coming in and out.

Portites should a drop some lick pon him (yes, mi a advocate violence)

Mi nuh see whey this haffi do with JLP or PNP?

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                  When Daddy Logan was alive and escorting ship thru the channel, how comes no ship neva haffi turn away, him neva seh sea too rough. If him nuh want the wuk, him must give it up.

Sass - unuh could a stay up a school and watch the ship coming in and out.

Portites should a drop some lick pon him (yes, mi a advocate violence)

Mi nuh see whey this haffi do with JLP or PNP?
                  Well maybe there needs to more than one person with the responsibility then. If the man is truely concerned about the rough waters, can he be blamed for not putting his well being first? If smady else want to go out there, fine.

you can that again. Before them big up the habour a portie bout them build yatch pier, it wouldn't that bad if them dida advertise it anywhere.

Ship come in wid nuff passenger, every little man have a chance fi sell them something, and you sure it a come pretty often.

Yeah Lucea and Portie abandon.
                    Sass the Marina look damn GOOD though, relaxing atmosphere. I was there in December for dinner. A cruise ship was in at the Ken Wright pier and a number of yachts were boated at the Marina. Them all have a swimming pool round there. You haffi tek it een pon yuh next trip.

you can that again. Before them big up the habour a portie bout them build yatch pier...
                      at least PJ did something. what did Eddie do for Portie? what are the plans for portie with this govt.?

Mi just come back from a cruise in August, and every port we went to, a pilot was there to escort the ship into and out of port. ..And then has been happening from Tom was a bwoy.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                          Sass the Marina look damn GOOD though, relaxing atmosphere. I was there in December for dinner. A cruise ship was in at the Ken Wright pier and a number of yachts were boated at the Marina. Them all have a swimming pool round there. You haffi tek it een pon yuh next trip.
                          Why should he when he can stay in Atl. and cuss what the PNP built for Port Antonio?!?

The thing is because of the reef and channel Portie Habour never ruff, it is always calm so we nuh experience that.

That was part of the highlight of going to a school on the high. How many people can boast having a sea bath at lunctime or after game, how many people can boast having a battery and their own canon at school? With Navy Island about one mile away and the ship channel in between. This was a glorious sight.

At one stage Anthony Abrahams was MP and Minister of Tourism. He was surely a disappointment for us. Him never do one thing fi tourism a Portland, all the big chat him a chat now.

I call on the minister of tourism to RESIGN! Utter slackness!