what was bruce objectives for the first 100 days

• what was bruce objectives for the first 100 days

it is about that time to evaluate the start...

fair enough.

per the prime minister bruce golding on sept 11, 2007 in his inaugural address to the nation of jamaica...

And what are going to be the priorities of our government?
      • The protection of the rights of our people

• The reduction of crime, so that Jamaicans can feel safe and secure

• The creation of an educated, productive workforce

• Attracting investments that create real jobs, generate prosperity and ensure that that prosperity is shared among the people

• Transparency and accountability in government and the elimination of corruption

• A strong Parliament and more effective political representation

• The elimination of unnecessary bureaucracy and waste of public resources and the efficient delivery of government services.

The policy initiatives to achieve these goals are outlined in the Manifesto we presented to the electorate. Over the next 100 days, action will be taken on a number of these initiatives, not only because we regard as compelling the urgency of their implementation but also because it is important for us to validate the sincerity with which these commitments were made.

I ask the Jamaican people to appreciate that the commitments we intend to honour during the first 100 days are, of necessity, those which do not require significant outlay of government expenditure. The financial constraints and fiscal challenges that we face are well known and the medium and long term solutions will have to be pursued over time. But there is much that can be done to improve the quality of governance and the quality of people’s lives that do not require large spending. It requires political will. We will demonstrate that political will as we assume the responsibilities of government.

Today, I assure the nation that notwithstanding these constraints and challenges, I will this week take the necessary steps to honour our commitment to abolish tuition fees in all government high schools. I also reiterate the commitment that we have made to abolish the fees charged to public hospital patients with effect from April of next year.

One of our immediate tasks, unanticipated as it was, is to deal with the lingering impact of Hurricane Dean. There are thousands of persons who lost or suffered damage to their homes, farmers whose crops were totally destroyed, not to mention schools and other public buildings, roads and infrastructure that were badly affected. The assessments have not yet been completed, the estimates not yet finalized.

We are grateful for the assistance we have received from friendly countries and the local private sector. We will seek to expedite the processes involved so that we can help those who were affected to get back on their feet as quickly as possible. We must move swiftly to clean up our streets, to remove the debris which Dean left behind. The government cannot do it alone. We will need the active support of the people in the various communities and within the next few days I will announce plans for a national Hurricane Dean clean-up day and invite members of the public, especially civic and community-based organizations, to join with us in a national effort to clean up our communities. We have to put the nation’s house back in order.

We have placed at the top of our agenda the creation of a new framework for good governance. It involves many elements that we regard as important for us to move forward:
      • the entrenchment of a new Charter of Fundamental Rights

• the establishment of a Citizens Protection Bureau to defend the
      rights of our citizens and secure redress where their rights are violated

• a single, independent authority to investigate instances of abuse by members of the security forces• the reform of our justice system as recommended by the Justice System Reform Task Force

• the curtailment of the powers of the Executive and the strengthening of Parliament, so that it can exert greater control over the government

• the strengthening of the role and authority of the Opposition in that Parliament, because in our Westminster system the strength of the Parliament depends on the strength and effectiveness of the Opposition.

Corruption in Jamaica is much too easy, too risk-free. We are going to make it more difficult, more hazardous with stiff penalties for violations. We intend to:
      • impose criminal sanctions for breaches of the rules governing the award of government contracts

• establish a Special Prosecutor to investigate and prosecute persons involved in corruption

• enact legislation for the impeachment and removal from office of public officials guilty of misconduct, corruption, abuse of authority or betrayal of public trust

• introduce whistleblower legislation to protect persons who provide information on wrongdoing on the part of public officials

• review the libel and slander law to ensure that it cannot be used as a firewall to protect wrongdoers.
      Last edited by Karl; December 6, 2007, 03:54 PM.

get the excuses ready, Lazie and Maudib!

Well, let's see:

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
          And what are going to be the priorities of our government?
          • The protection of the rights of our people
          • The reduction of crime, so that Jamaicans can feel safe and secure
          • The creation of an educated, productive workforce
          • Attracting investments that create real jobs, generate prosperity and ensure that that prosperity is shared among the people
          • Transparency and accountability in government and the elimination of corruption
          • A strong Parliament and more effective political representation
          • The elimination of unnecessary bureaucracy and waste of public resources and the efficient delivery of government services.

• the entrenchment of a new Charter of Fundamental Rights
          • the establishment of a Citizens Protection Bureau to defend the rights of our citizens and secure redress where their rights are violated
          • a single, independent authority to investigate instances of abuse by members of the security forces
          • the reform of our justice system as recommended by the Justice System Reform Task Force
          • the curtailment of the powers of the Executive and the strengthening of Parliament, so that it can exert greater control over the government
          • the strengthening of the role and authority of the Opposition in that Parliament, because in our Westminster system the strength of the Parliament depends on the strength and effectiveness of the Opposition.
          • impose criminal sanctions for breaches of the rules governing the award of government contracts
          • establish a Special Prosecutor to investigate and prosecute persons involved in corruption
          • enact legislation for the impeachment and removal from office of public officials guilty of misconduct, corruption, abuse of authority or betrayal of public trust
          • introduce whistleblower legislation to protect persons who provide information on wrongdoing on the part of public officials
          • review the libel and slander law to ensure that it cannot be used as a firewall to protect wrongdoers.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
            it is about that time to evaluate the start...
            hehehe ... change is good! Today is 85 days since the PM swear in. Does the counting start from the day him swear in, or when the entire cabinet swear in?

Mosiah, say mi have selective memory or something like that suh, see the speech yah .. http://www.mfaft.gov.jm/?q=inaugural_speech_golding.
            Last edited by Lazie; December 6, 2007, 03:09 PM.

What calendar are you using? Is that some Neanderthal thing yuh have hang up on yuh wall?

Mosiah you missed 2.

review the libel and slander law to ensure that it cannot be used as a firewall to protect wrongdoers.

Isn't there a forum regarding this today? Matter of fact, the IJJ is a panelist.

enact legislation for the impeachment and removal from office of public officials guilty of misconduct, corruption, abuse of authority or betrayal of public trust

You're aware that ...
                http://www.jis.gov.jm/justice/html/2...PROSECUTOR.asp if yuh waan know di truth.

Let's see what happens with Montague and Warmie first.

How does that affect the fact that the proposal of a special prosecutor is being put into action?

Nobody put things into action like PJ. Enuff said!

what about "the pipeline man", paul robertson?

How does that affect the fact that the proposal of a special prosecutor is being put into action?
                          Strange, yet yuh applauded the others?

get the excuses ready, Lazie and Maudib!
                            This was the 5 year agenda, not the 100 day one.

Willi, yuh nuh know dem gonna claim is an excuse?