The Black Church Means Business.. activist theology

• The Black Church Means Business.. activist theology

Just want the massive to know of Rev. Dennis Dillon, a very progressive and powerful Jamaican preacher doing great work in the US for many years now. His approach to theology is focused on economics and is truly Garveyite.

New Economic Paradigm - The Black church means business

The picture cannot be grimmer. May the Lord help those of us who continue to do business as usual in America at a time when Black people are on the lowest rungs of the economic ladder and are steadily descending. Social progress without economic growth is tantamount to leaving New York City and traveling southward, down the New Jersey Turnpike, in hopes of getting to Boston up north. The fact that you are on Interstate Highway 95 does not mean that you are heading in the right direction. Often, Blacks in America are on the right road but speeding in the wrong direction.

I am greatly concerned about the economic state of our affairs and how blasé we appear to be in what truly is a state of economic emergency. Every other race has access to capital, owns franchises, controls some industry, carries out global trade with its homeland and owns and operates much of the commerce in its community. In all these economic areas, Black America trails those communities at an alarming distance. Power equals property, and property is the only true real estate. But Blacks own well below 1 percent of this nation’s real estate. It is not hard to compute how little power that represents.

The socioeconomic impact of this powerlessness is debated and discussed daily by both Black and white people, as well as by people of other colors. Crime, health, justice issues, the gangsta style and popular cultures, education and the media, as well as all of the vices that plague our people, can be traced back to our dire economic circumstances.

Black America desperately needs a prophetic voice. Our hurting race needs men and women of ardent faith who will—with great clarity and precision—address our economic circumstances in pursuit of workable solutions. One only needs to reflect on last year’s presidential election and it is easy to chronicle the tremendous role that the white church played in getting President George W. Bush re-elected at a time when an unjust war was being fought and hundreds of thousands of innocent people were being killed. Clearly, power—and not righteousness—motivates these people and, yes, they are motivated.

Black America’s preachers and church system must take the same pro-active stance that their white counterparts have taken to gain political power and economic control. Slavery, colonialism and even the current Bush presidency are the result of the power of the white church in the white race’s quest for supremacy and global economic control. And let us not lose sight of the fact that most white church organizations are modern pioneers of commerce and economic power in the global community. The Black church must begin a similar agenda for economic parity.

Given the nearly $1 trillion buying power of Black America and the sad fact that we own very few businesses, our No. 1 priority must be economic reformation. In this undertaking, the church must lead. Black churches must now relearn the lessons that our great African forefathers taught Europeans to help civilize that race. Historians Black and white have documented that scholars throughout the Western world—the famous Greek philosopher Pythagoras, for example—traveled to Africa for the knowledge and wisdom taught in the mystery schools of Egypt and south of the Sahara at the University of Sankore and in other intellectual centers in Timbuktu and Jenne. From the civilizations and empires of Ghana, Mali and Songhai, they learned sophisticated forms of governance and commerce. Africa’s contribution to Western civilization continues. Consider that in 1907, Picasso, the famous European artist, made the faces of the women in his canvas “Les Demoiselles d’Avignon,” look like African masks, marking a turning point in Western art.

We are a spiritual people, but the true indicators of our inner spiritual strength are the external defenses and the prosperity of our communities. True spiritual depth is not measured by the quantity or size of our churches and other institutions nor by the number of leaders we have. Rather, it is measured by our impact on the economic well being of the community in which we live. Clearly, the church needs to reform its views and join the long list of Black institutions that now recognize the importance of economic empowerment.

The church’s mission is to empower. It is the prosperity of a people that best depicts its strength and power. In the Black community, therefore, the Black Church must mean business!

Reverend Dennis Dillon is the chief executive minister of the Brooklyn Christian Center and the executive chair of The Black Church Means Business Conference.

By Reverend Dennis A. Dillon

Pity the 'beloved party' cannot understand this basic principle:

Social progress without economic growth is tantamount to leaving New York City and traveling southward, down the New Jersey Turnpike, in hopes of getting to Boston up north. The fact that you are on Interstate Highway 95 does not mean that you are heading in the right direction. Often, Blacks in America are on the right road but speeding in the wrong direction.

Karl, where yuh deh ?

May fyah bun up unnuh "Jesus"

Good post!

I was asked who can lead American Blacks out of Desolation..

Emergency Alert CCCXV11

I don't know who will lead us to group success in Amerika but:

1. Churches are by far the strongest and most organized institution in the Black community...with millions of devotees ( sadly mainly profiling or putting themselves in a religious trance to manage their worries)

2. Churches have VERY extensive real estate holdings in the community...which can be leveraged to community economic development. The focus should be on STEM classes and business development

Dat Jeezas ting alone naw cut nuh dash wen wi inna profound crisis

Pity that the vision or rather the support for a vision of transformation through working together and finding our own solutions is absent in Black Amerika

I suppose watching and regurgitating Babylon TV propaganda and worthless entertainment is a more valuable use of our time

Dawg nyam wi suppa an Babylon juss ah look on an laff how people can be so stupid & self destructive

This is the end of the Emergency Alert....Now back to unnu regularly scheduled Babylon programming

Just want the massive to know of Rev. Dennis Dillon, a very progressive and powerful Jamaican preacher doing great work in the US for many years now. His approach to theology is focused on economics and is truly Garveyite.

New Economic Paradigm - The Black church means business

The picture cannot be grimmer. May the Lord help those of us who continue to do business as usual in America at a time when Black people are on the lowest rungs of the economic ladder and are steadily descending. Social progress without economic growth is tantamount to leaving New York City and traveling southward, down the New Jersey Turnpike, in hopes of getting to Boston up north. The fact that you are on Interstate Highway 95 does not mean that you are heading in the right direction. Often, Blacks in America are on the right road but speeding in the wrong direction.

I am greatly concerned about the economic state of our affairs and how blasé we appear to be in what truly is a state of economic emergency. Every other race has access to capital, owns franchises, controls some industry, carries out global trade with its homeland and owns and operates much of the commerce in its community. In all these economic areas, Black America trails those communities at an alarming distance. Power equals property, and property is the only true real estate. But Blacks own well below 1 percent of this nation’s real estate. It is not hard to compute how little power that represents.

The socioeconomic impact of this powerlessness is debated and discussed daily by both Black and white people, as well as by people of other colors. Crime, health, justice issues, the gangsta style and popular cultures, education and the media, as well as all of the vices that plague our people, can be traced back to our dire economic circumstances.

Black America desperately needs a prophetic voice. Our hurting race needs men and women of ardent faith who will—with great clarity and precision—address our economic circumstances in pursuit of workable solutions. One only needs to reflect on last year’s presidential election and it is easy to chronicle the tremendous role that the white church played in getting President George W. Bush re-elected at a time when an unjust war was being fought and hundreds of thousands of innocent people were being killed. Clearly, power—and not righteousness—motivates these people and, yes, they are motivated.

Black America’s preachers and church system must take the same pro-active stance that their white counterparts have taken to gain political power and economic control. Slavery, colonialism and even the current Bush presidency are the result of the power of the white church in the white race’s quest for supremacy and global economic control. And let us not lose sight of the fact that most white church organizations are modern pioneers of commerce and economic power in the global community. The Black church must begin a similar agenda for economic parity.

Given the nearly $1 trillion buying power of Black America and the sad fact that we own very few businesses, our No. 1 priority must be economic reformation. In this undertaking, the church must lead. Black churches must now relearn the lessons that our great African forefathers taught Europeans to help civilize that race. Historians Black and white have documented that scholars throughout the Western world—the famous Greek philosopher Pythagoras, for example—traveled to Africa for the knowledge and wisdom taught in the mystery schools of Egypt and south of the Sahara at the University of Sankore and in other intellectual centers in Timbuktu and Jenne. From the civilizations and empires of Ghana, Mali and Songhai, they learned sophisticated forms of governance and commerce. Africa’s contribution to Western civilization continues. Consider that in 1907, Picasso, the famous European artist, made the faces of the women in his canvas “Les Demoiselles d’Avignon,” look like African masks, marking a turning point in Western art.

We are a spiritual people, but the true indicators of our inner spiritual strength are the external defenses and the prosperity of our communities. True spiritual depth is not measured by the quantity or size of our churches and other institutions nor by the number of leaders we have. Rather, it is measured by our impact on the economic well being of the community in which we live. Clearly, the church needs to reform its views and join the long list of Black institutions that now recognize the importance of economic empowerment.

The church’s mission is to empower. It is the prosperity of a people that best depicts its strength and power. In the Black community, therefore, the Black Church must mean business!

Reverend Dennis Dillon is the chief executive minister of the Brooklyn Christian Center and the executive chair of The Black Church Means Business Conference.

By Reverend Dennis A. Dillon
          Last edited by Don1; December 19, 2014, 01:38 PM.

Church can only do so much as most of their leaders are "God like figures" who do not invest in productive activity but mostly social activities. The leaders are prone to failure by not living up to the godlike figure and sin at sometime as you seen some of the big pastors do and all hell break lose.

They have a role to play but oftentimes when they enter business or investment it usually involve members losing their shirts. It is however a good place for linkup and socializing and community activity.

What you say is true. How churches currently operate reflect the current interests of Black people which are largely backward. Churches need to place as much emphasis on economic empowerment as they do in praising their White Saviour

What I'm proposing is a new paradigm for churches (starting with a few) which can assist in transforming our pathetic shituation in Amerika.... using the infrastructure they already have in our communities

You ever watch the documentary Black Church Inc? Some of these pastors are straight up pimps.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6puxE9vemI

Yes they pool resources but and able to build bigger churches, do community outreach and operate a few barber shops and hair dressers but what they have not been able to do is to be a real productive force.

The church can have outreach and encourage entrepreneurship but many failed miserably at been productive entities. They can play on peoples sympathy and be very empathic but are very slow to react to changing environment and then to mix that environment with their "daily guide" the bible membership concern and some fast talking leaders who has absolute control.

Yes they pool resources but and able to build bigger churches, do community outreach and operate a few barber shops and hair dressers but what they have not been able to do is to be a real productive force.

The church can have outreach and encourage entrepreneurship but many failed miserably at been productive entities. They can play on peoples sympathy and be very empathic but are very slow to react to changing environment and then to mix that environment with their "daily guide" the bible membership concern and some fast talking leaders who has absolute control.
                    Now you're being repetitive. I'm aware of how churches operate. Yapping about their flaws is not my thing.. I'm into solutions. Bellyaching about what the problems are is just another way of doing nothing.

Churches are not suitable for retail business but can easily provide teaching services in STEM and entrepreneurship in partnership with competent 3rd parties. The problems are vision & funding.

Black people's issues start at the home and community level... so the cures to what ails us must also start there. Since the Black Church (flawed as it is) is the most organized and resourced force that we control at the community level (or any level) ... that's the obvious place to design A solution around.

One other solution is architecting a scalable technology platform which can drive sales in black-owned businesses in a key sector we target (eg restaurants which we have a lot of) by rewarding our consumers for their loyalty in purchasing products from vendors in our network. This can also provide a transparent fee based income for the network operators. That's a winning triple play

Technology is the great leveler...so that's what we have to use to level the playing field
                    Last edited by Don1; December 19, 2014, 05:50 PM.

thanks for this. Just had a look. Yeah they have a portion a big ones here inna GA and when you see some of the AD them on the street you have to wonder.

The church is business savvy,the paster is rich.
                        The tradeoff with religion and state is church goers are contented with not making earth heavenly because they have to ticket to the real thing upon death.
                        Historically,the church has been instrumental in the struggle (one way or the other).To link that activism to religion raises the question where is the evidence of that activism in the caucasian church.My guess it is just an activist thst happens to have a close relationship with the church.

=Rockman;503400]The church is business savvy,the paster is rich.
                          These are 2 generalizations which are not accurate for most

The tradeoff with religion and state is church goers are contented with not making earth heavenly because they have to ticket to the real thing upon death.
                          I have no proof of this so can't comment on your reasoning.

The fact is that most Black people who are not church-goers are also content with NOT working collectively to make our condition better. What's their reason?

Historically,the church has been instrumental in the struggle (one way or the other).To link that activism to religion raises the question where is the evidence of that activism in the caucasian church.
                          This is an astonishing and epic fail

There is HUGE activism in the White Church...this has been so since it started until now. Churches are completely based on activism AKA social control

We all should be familiar with the various activist causes promoted by the White Church establishment throughout the centuries since its creation.

Examine the role of the Church in Africa to hoodwink people into believing the European invaders were benevolent ... this enabled and even justified the slave trade. Missionaries were the first social control agents Babylon sent into Africa, Latin America, Asia etc to "pacify" the savages and eventually to control their thinking.

Then examine the role of the White Church during slavery to pacify Africans to accept their lot in life as pre-ordained by the Bible. And yes... of course we will get our reward when we die. Many still believe this astonishingly vile propaganda

Nowadays this mental control/pacification is done thru Babylon TV and movie propaganda messages (as well as the Church) and it's an outstanding success

Black Churches are largely offshoots of White dominated religious belief systems and the fact that Babylon has managed to have Black people worship a God in the image of a White man (his historic oppressor) signals a HUGE victory for the White Church Propaganda machine.

This mental control job by Babylon on Black folks is perhaps the greatest con in the history of the World. One cannot contest his own God effectively can he?

My guess it is just an activist thst happens to have a close relationship with the church.
                          If you're referring to Rev Dillon perhaps you should do some research before making such a flippant comment or settling for mere guesswork.

For me he is one of a handful of church leaders who get any respect for the correct message he pushes and the actual WORK he's done re economic empowerment for decades.

Unfortunately most Black people do no organizational work aimed at collective progress. We prefer to sit aside and criticize or just yap endlessly about the garbage spewed out by Babylon media.

C'est la vie
                          Last edited by Don1; December 19, 2014, 11:34 PM.

It may not be accurate for all but it is for most.No doubt,the catholic church is richer than any corporation...and it is the pope that has access to that wealth.The pastor at your neighborhood church probably isn't doing bad either having access to the church funds.

"Give unto Caesar what IS Caesar's, give unto God..." is a cozy arrangement..,what entitlements Caesar has over God?
                            It is the obligation of the Church to make a dufference on moral issues and not some bloke on the street.Besides if the idea was make earth more heavenly would the church be far more active?
                            The activism I am alluding to his on the glaring problem of racism,whay are we not seeing equal efforts by caucasian churches?

It may not be accurate for all but it is for most.No doubt,the catholic church is richer than any corporation...and it is the pope that has access to that wealth.The pastor at your neighborhood church probably isn't doing bad either having access to the church funds.

"Give unto Caesar what IS Caesar's, give unto God..." is a cozy arrangement..,what entitlements Caesar has over God?
                              It is the obligation of the Church to make a dufference on moral issues and not some bloke on the street.Besides if the idea was make earth more heavenly would the church be far more active?
                              The activism I am alluding to his on the glaring problem of racism,whay are we not seeing equal efforts by caucasian churches?
                              Rocky I note your opinions but at this time I'm not interested in interminable theoretical yappin about the shortcomings of this or that church

I'm focused on practical & scalable solutions to improve the abysmal State of Black Amerika

So if you have any solution that you can also personally contribute to putting into effect...I'd love to see it.

If you don't... no worries and ...Hasta la vista
                              Last edited by Don1; December 20, 2014, 11:01 AM.