Help wanted from police, political representatives
By Dwayne Mcleod, Staff Reporter
An ongoing war involving three very volatile communities has again erupted, leaving at least one set of residents feeling 'trapped' and crying for peace.
THE STAR has learnt that men from Tavares Gardens (Payneland) are currently at odds with others from the neighbouring communities of Mckoy Lane and Delacree Park in south St. Andrew.
Deputy Commissioner of Police in charge of crime, Mark Shields admitted to THE STAR that the police were aware of the situation. "We do have a lot of volatility in that area. The issue was today (Monday) discussed by the Police High Command as the area is known as a crime hot spot," DCP Shields said.
THE STAR recently visited the areas and residents were cowering in fear to say the least. However, Payneland residents, are claiming that their chance of being attacked is even greater simply because they are literally in the middle of their opponents.
"Mckoy Lane deh pon wi left, Delacree deh pon wi right, so it way more wicked fi we, it come in like judgement dung yah," said one resident.
The ongoing war has even forced residents to solicit the services of taxi operators just to make it to Three Miles, which is only a short distance away.
"Wi cyaa go no weh in peace ... Yu look out all inna broad daylight yu see di man dem crouch pon di corna wid dem big gun," one resident said.
In explaining the effects of the ongoing war on their community, the residents say time is always of the essence as they have to be off the streets from as early as 6 p.m. So serious is the respect for time, that if they are seen on the streets after that time, they will be ordered to go home..
"A nuh like seh we a bad dem up, but anything can happen anytime and wi haffi defend wi place ... Wi nuh want fi hurt nobody suh wi jus mek dem kno seh by certain time dem haffi put up,"confirmed one thug from Payneland.
Interestingly men from the warring communities have denied being the aggressors in the war. Upon visiting the areas, THE STAR was quickly advised to leave, as the men say they always have to be on the lookout for so called intruders.
"Rite ya now we naw push nuttin, wi just a defen wi ting, di bway dem always a come cross pon we so wi haffi a watch wi head," one thug from Delacree Park explained.
Protracted war
Another thug from Mckoy Lane agreed. "A long time we an dem nuh gree still eno ... Fi tell di truth a jus suh di ting set up, but a nuh we a push it still eno, but wi naw siddung mek dem come kill wi off, if a war a war," he said.
But the Payneland men are adamant that they are merely acting in self defence. "Look pon it my yute, a suh we fool fi a war two set a man weh sorround we, dat nuh sound like suicide to you?" he questioned.
As such, all three sets of residents are crying for peace and want the police and political representatives to intervene.
"Wi need di help trust me, wi need help from di police and di politician dem ... Dem yute ya naw tek nuh talk from we suh di bigga heads haffi intervene," one resident explained.
The residents pointed out that the warring is not political as all three communities are People's National Party strongholds.
Meanwhile, the police say they will surely be attending to the area as it has stirred up major attention.
"The situation has certainly attracted some attention and is currently under review ... It has definitely attracted some attention and will be looked at," the crime chief said.
By Dwayne Mcleod, Staff Reporter
An ongoing war involving three very volatile communities has again erupted, leaving at least one set of residents feeling 'trapped' and crying for peace.
THE STAR has learnt that men from Tavares Gardens (Payneland) are currently at odds with others from the neighbouring communities of Mckoy Lane and Delacree Park in south St. Andrew.
Deputy Commissioner of Police in charge of crime, Mark Shields admitted to THE STAR that the police were aware of the situation. "We do have a lot of volatility in that area. The issue was today (Monday) discussed by the Police High Command as the area is known as a crime hot spot," DCP Shields said.
THE STAR recently visited the areas and residents were cowering in fear to say the least. However, Payneland residents, are claiming that their chance of being attacked is even greater simply because they are literally in the middle of their opponents.
"Mckoy Lane deh pon wi left, Delacree deh pon wi right, so it way more wicked fi we, it come in like judgement dung yah," said one resident.
The ongoing war has even forced residents to solicit the services of taxi operators just to make it to Three Miles, which is only a short distance away.
"Wi cyaa go no weh in peace ... Yu look out all inna broad daylight yu see di man dem crouch pon di corna wid dem big gun," one resident said.
In explaining the effects of the ongoing war on their community, the residents say time is always of the essence as they have to be off the streets from as early as 6 p.m. So serious is the respect for time, that if they are seen on the streets after that time, they will be ordered to go home..
"A nuh like seh we a bad dem up, but anything can happen anytime and wi haffi defend wi place ... Wi nuh want fi hurt nobody suh wi jus mek dem kno seh by certain time dem haffi put up,"confirmed one thug from Payneland.
Interestingly men from the warring communities have denied being the aggressors in the war. Upon visiting the areas, THE STAR was quickly advised to leave, as the men say they always have to be on the lookout for so called intruders.
"Rite ya now we naw push nuttin, wi just a defen wi ting, di bway dem always a come cross pon we so wi haffi a watch wi head," one thug from Delacree Park explained.
Protracted war
Another thug from Mckoy Lane agreed. "A long time we an dem nuh gree still eno ... Fi tell di truth a jus suh di ting set up, but a nuh we a push it still eno, but wi naw siddung mek dem come kill wi off, if a war a war," he said.
But the Payneland men are adamant that they are merely acting in self defence. "Look pon it my yute, a suh we fool fi a war two set a man weh sorround we, dat nuh sound like suicide to you?" he questioned.
As such, all three sets of residents are crying for peace and want the police and political representatives to intervene.
"Wi need di help trust me, wi need help from di police and di politician dem ... Dem yute ya naw tek nuh talk from we suh di bigga heads haffi intervene," one resident explained.
The residents pointed out that the warring is not political as all three communities are People's National Party strongholds.
Meanwhile, the police say they will surely be attending to the area as it has stirred up major attention.
"The situation has certainly attracted some attention and is currently under review ... It has definitely attracted some attention and will be looked at," the crime chief said.