• KC boys must be back in class today, Holness orders

KC boys must be back in class today, Holness orders

BY KIMONE THOMPSON Observer staff reporter

THE 56 Kingston College sixth-form students who were sent on indefinite suspension last week for non-payment of fees, are to be reinstated today, Education Minister Andrew Holness has ordered.

Holness blasted the school’s action as inconsistent with the regulations under the Education Act and declared that Kingston College could not bar students on the basis that they had not paid fees.

“The minister is concerned with students being sent home or excluded from classes and he wishes to remind all principals that no child is to be excluded from classes or is to be discriminated against by virtue of his inability to pay,” Holness’ spokesperson, Dr Charlene Ashley said.

“We understand the position of the school. However, we cannot endorse the students being excluded from school. We’re working with the school to continue its dialogue with the parents to encourage them to make arrangements to pay and to honour their obligations,” or Ashley, the communications director at the ministry, told the Observer.

The boys were sent home from school on Thursday for the non-payment of school fees amounting to $15,000 and were told not to return until the fees were paid or arrangements made to pay them.

The action came against the government’s decision to cover all secondary school fees, including refunding those already paid by parents and guardians for the current academic year, a policy which was said to have tipped the general elections in favour of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

But KC principal, Rupert Hemmings, defended his decision to send home the boys, most of whom are
    from the upper sixth form and who are slated to sit external Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE) next June.

“...It’s not so much about payment. It’s a principle we’re defending here,” Hemmings shot back. “We can’t have our kids believe that this is a way of life. School is about a lot of things and if we want kids to believe that you don’t pay but you can just walk in, what’s going to happen to our society?” he asked.

Hemmings maintained that although the sixth form sum was labelled “contribution”, it must be paid because, unlike the case for forms one to five, sixth form “is a privilege”.

“Whether you want to call it school fee, tuition fee or otherwise, as it relates to sixth formers, they pay a fee which may be a contribution to pay the light bill, to pay the water bill, to help pay part-time teachers. We are getting caught up in words and at the end of the day all of these monies do the same thing,” he insisted.
    Last edited by Karl; December 3, 2007, 09:07 AM.

even kc has its problems... all of jamaica has problems but i support the kc principal... if mr holness wants to make arrangements for payments to the school he should just step up and make a committment... its all about action and not empty words...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
      even kc has its problems... all of jamaica has problems but i support the kc principal... if mr holness wants to make arrangements for payments to the school he should just step up and make a committment... its all about action and not empty words...
      Been following yuh posts from last week and I'm not at all surprized you'd hold this position. People claim they want to support the gov't but as soon as an opportunity arises to take a shot at the gov't unuh jump at it.

"... its all about action and not empty words..."

Well, lets see how consistent you are? In 2002 the well loved PJ said he would be abolishing cost sharing, where were you and your line about "... its all about action and not empty words.."

In 2007 the JLP said they would do it .... check yuh facts before talking bout not empty words.

The new gov't put a policy in place, who the hell is he fi ignore a policy of the gov't? Then you come out in support of it? I guess you'd also support it if all the other institutions with 6th forms do the same. I wonder if you'd hold the same position if it was your party in power? No ... that wouldn't happen, because dem never really give a damn.

As a former teacher I will say the JLP and the Education Minister has to be careful. You cannot on the one hand expect discipline, good well run schools and be putting in place systems and policies which contribute to indiscipline, and poor management.

I think part of the JLP's message to the Jamaican people, certainly before Sept. 3, was 'di PNP mash-up di country'?

There are many things that contribute to 'a masp-up di country mash-up' of which the JLP speaks. I would suggest that inculcating necessary adherence to standards of discipline and conformity with sensible regulations help in maintaining and achieving 'higher standards' and reaping less of the 'mash-up/mash-down' syndrome.

Insisting that all students in our institutions conform to a school's well-meaning legislation and as fact, sensible legislation, goes a far way in laying the ground work for a better society.

You cannot either by word or deed be telling our future adults that disobedience and not conforming with regulations and rules...a 'mi a get ova an dats di waay tuh go' --'ginal cum corrupt way' is A-OK and expect that on attaining adulthood the young will make a 180 degree turn away from 'short-cut' 'get ova' and or the taught 'corrupt way'! It does not happen that way! You cannot build 'less corrupt'...less 'get ova' society that way!

PS: Perhaps, Minister Andrew Holness is saying the JLP government shall be our first government to fully fund operations at schools and that shall be done in one or two days?

Surely he could not be saying 'disband the 6th form as the school cannot afford it'?

Been following yuh posts from last week and I'm not at all surprized you'd hold this position. People claim they want to support the gov't but as soon as an opportunity arises to take a shot at the gov't unuh jump at it.

"... its all about action and not empty words..."

Well, lets see how consistent you are? In 2002 the well loved PJ said he would be abolishing cost sharing, where were you and your line about "... its all about action and not empty words.."

In 2007 the JLP said they would do it .... check yuh facts before talking bout not empty words.

The new gov't put a policy in place, who the hell is he fi ignore a policy of the gov't? Then you come out in support of it? I guess you'd also support it if all the other institutions with 6th forms do the same. I wonder if you'd hold the same position if it was your party in power? No ... that wouldn't happen, because dem never really give a damn.
          As usual you come with your muddty the waters - nonsense!

What are the facts as outlined
          1. The KC principal has instituted a system of fee paying to facilitate the continued existence of the school's 6th form.

2. Some students are claiming they cannot get their parents and guardians to make the payments.

Well the choice for the KC principal is clear either 'shrink' his 6th form to continue operating...or, give up and close his 6th form as he cannot fund it.

For the students and their parents and or guardians the choice is equally clear pay or drop-out.

What the Minister of Education has proposed at this time is NONSENSE! Either KC can afford the 6th form or it cannot! That being able to afford keeping the 6th form operational is the issue.

This continued nonsense about PNP or JLP 'dis or dat' is what it is NONSENSE! There are times to engage in sensible defense of the party you support and times when 'the Ps' i.e. 'the parties -JLP or PNP - do not enter...cannot sensibly enter the discussion.

Are you a KC old boy ?

Can you READ ???

Sometimes I doubt it.

Don1 right about unnuh.. form a conclusion then if you have tuh.. mek up tings to support it.

“...It’s not so much about payment. It’s a principle we’re defending here,” Hemmings shot back."

It look like a orange haze clouds your vision.. I would have that checked out.

But wait...?

Ah nuh di PNP mash up di country ??

Who was running the country fi di last 18 years ??

Nuh di PNP ?

Or wi was on auto-pilot ?

As usual you come with your muddty the waters - nonsense!

What are the facts as outlined
                  1. The KC principal has instituted a system of fee paying to facilitate the continued existence of the school's 6th form.

2. Some students are claiming they cannot get their parents and guardians to make the payments.

Well the choice for the KC principal is clear either 'shrink' his 6th form to continue operating...or, give up and close his 6th form as he cannot fund it.

For the students and there parents and or guardians pay or drop-out.

What the Minister of Education has proposed at this time is NONSENSE! Either KC can afford the 6th form or it cannot! How that being able to afford keeping the 6th form operational is the issue.

This continued nonsense about PNP or JLP is what it is NONSENSE! There are times to engage in sensible defense of the party you support and times when 'the Ps' i.e. 'the parties -JLP or PNP - do not enter...cannot
                  sensibly enter the discussion.
                  There are certain people on the forum, we all know dem position irrespective of what. You are one. Some of unuh simply digging for something to claim broken promises and unuh was hoping this is one.

If the principal have a problem, contact the ministry of education .... why him gonna tek it on himself and disobey the policy of the gov't? Then you have the nerve fi come talk bout nonsense.

The fact is most of these schools are trying to find ways not to refund the money to the parents, even though they got the money from the education ministry. What, dem tink is Portia a PM whey dem can duh what dem want? The gov't put a policy in place irrespective of you, Baddaz or Hemmings liking it. Hemmings as a principal must go by those policies and not take things into his own hands.

There are certain people on the forum, we all know dem position irrespective of what. You are one. Some of unuh simply digging for something to claim broken promises and unuh was hoping this is one.

If the principal have a problem, contact the ministry of education .... why him gonna tek it on himself and disobey the policy of the gov't? Then you have the nerve fi come talk bout nonsense.

The fact is most of these schools are trying to find ways not to refund the money to the parents, even though they got the money from the education ministry. What, dem tink is Portia a PM whey dem can duh what dem want? The gov't put a policy in place irrespective of you, Baddaz or Hemmings liking it. Hemmings as a principal must go by those policies and not take things into his own hands.
                    Is this disobeying policy of the government?
                    6th form is mandatory?
                    Since when?

...as far as I know it is mandatory to go to 5th form!

Is this disobeying policy of the government?
                      6th form is mandatory?
                      Since when?

...as far as I know it is mandatory to go to 5th form!
                      Did you hear them say, excluding 6th form? I didn't. If Hemmings is uncertain, contact the ministry ... wha suh hard inna dat?

Wi have a New Dispensation comrade.

These are serious times and we have serious people.

Holiday is over.

no lazie... as a beneficiary of michael manley's free education, i support the effort to provide free education for high school students... however, there was a reason it was abandoned by the then pnp govt... that reason still exists today... the jlp gov't in recognizing the benefits of the pnp free ed initiative has decided to implement the system...

the problem is the environmental lanscape has changed significantly since the pnp had free educaton... there are a lot more schools and jamaica's contribution to debt servicing has grown exponentially making it more challenging to service free ed, while maintaining other critical services...

its one thing to say you will do and then actually do... the fact is the jlp has not come out and outlined how they plan to fund this free education... secondly and specifically, from my understanding the fees in question is not covered by the govt...

The boys were sent home from school on Thursday for the non-payment of school fees amounting to $15,000 and were told not to return until the fees were paid or arrangements made to pay them.

it appears that the fees are not covered by the govt... if such is the case the principal is within his right to do as he has done...

they have an option, pay or make an arrangement... whats wrong with that... sounds reasonable and prudent...

if the gov't wants to make a committment on behalf of the students, they should do so, not just talk... afterall, it was their promise declaration to cover all secondary school fees, remember...

the principal has a school to operate just the same...

Do 5th formers have a right to enter 6th form after their CSECs?

New Dispensation...

Adjust yuh gears.