'Give teachers power to search'

• 'Give teachers power to search'

Following the stabbing death of a student at Jamaica College (JC) on Monday, president of the National Parent-Teacher Association, Sylvester Anderson, believes the Government should look at allowing school administrators to search students at public high schools.

"The Government should revisit that policy and, where necessary, make the changes. It (searching) can be one way of reducing weapons that enter schools," Mr. Anderson told The Gleaner yesterday.

He described the incident as unfortunate and believes the policy change, combined with behavioural change programmes, will stem the issue of school violence.

Currently, only school resource officers who are part of the Safe Schools Programme, as well as other personnel, are allowed to search students on school compounds.

Alphansus Davis, head of a committee looking at safety and security in schools, says suggestions have been made to that effect.

Measures needed

"From consultations we had so far with teachers, parents and students, they are of the view that teachers should have the powers to search and, if teachers don't have the powers to search, then devices should be placed at the entrances of schools to detect weapons entering the school."

Mr. Davis, who is expected to send the findings of the committee's work to the Minister of Education in three weeks, said the incident is an isolated one as JC has made strides in the area of security.

Meanwhile, JC principal Ruel Reid assured that despite the incident, the school remained safe for students.

"There is no lapse on behalf of Jamaica College ...," Mr. Reid said, noting that no school in the country was able to search every student entering the facility.

"They have to have security personnel doing that, and you think how practical it is based on how schools are structured currently to process every person, you would have to have a system as they have at the airport, that everybody entering would have to go through a particular area."

The JC community is still coming to grips with the death of 17-year-old Martiman Golding. When The Gleaner visited the school about 11:15 a.m. yesterday, students could be seen milling about the campus as school was to be closed at midday.

Mr. Reid said assembly yesterday morning was used to counsel the students.

Education Ministry backs random searches in school

The Education Ministry has been told that there is nothing wrong with school administrators conducting random searches of students.

Education Minister Andrew Holness says the Ministry sought advice from the Solicitor-General's Department on whether there were legal grounds for school administrations to search students.

He says the Solicitor General advised that this would not be an invasion of the privacy of the students.

Mr. Holness says guidelines governing searches will be included in a new security policy for schools.

The policy is to be implemented at the start of the Easter Term in January.

"We've had opinions from the Solicitor General as to whether or not searches would be in violation of anybody's right to privacy and we have basically developed a ground upon which we can institute searches in schools," said Mr. Holness.

"Metal detectors again are going to be part of the guidelines which will form how principals in schools which have been deemed high risk should operate,"

He disclosed that school administrators will undergo special training in preparation for the introduction of the policy.

"We are now developing a programme where we will be training the school administrators to think of security as if it were a normal part of their management practices and I think that is where we are really going to make an impact on the issue of security in schools,"

"In fact, when you're doing anything a the school you would think about finance, human resources and now you have to make security planning part of the regular routine, day-to-day management of the school," he continued.

His pronouncement follows stabbing incidents at Jamaica College on Monday and the St. James High School Tuesday.

Dem teacher can search mi anytime

The "Hot" Teacher Syndrome

Pop Quiz......What do all of the women below have in common?
      • A: All are aspiring actresses?
      • B: All are successful models?
      • C: All are school teachers who alledgedly had sex with their underage male students.

If you chose "C", congratulations. All of the women above are not actresses or models, but school teachers. They are in the order pictured above: Sandra "Beth" Geisel (who allegedly had sex with a 16yr old male student), Pamela Rogers (who allegedly had sex with a 13yr old male student), and finally Debra Lafave (who allegedly had sex with a 14yr old male student).

hehehe ....I'd even mek dem know dem miss a spot.

Allegedly? I thought at least one of them was convicted.

no sah.. not teachers... foolinish dat... i can see security doing a check upon entering the schools... lawd know seh some a de teacha dem need fi get search tuh...

the killing at jc... what i find particularly frustrating is we saw this coming... it was only a matter of time before we had this type of murderous outcome... the writing was on the wall from the kths fighting among students... there were others even before that...

measures should have already been in place to seach students entering the school prem...

Those cats are some tough pedophiles