• Jamaica’s trade deficit widens

Tuesday, 27 November 2007

Between January and July, Jamaica's trade deficit grew by US$66 million when compared to the corresponding period last year.

The gap between imports and exports was US$2.1 billion.

During the seven months, Jamaicans spent US$3.5 billion on imports while exports earned just under US$1.4 billion.

The minerals and fuels group saw the increase.

I don't understand.. I thought the PNP were 'managing' the situation ?

Between January and July, Jamaica's trade deficit grew by US$66 million when compared to the corresponding period last year.

During the seven months, Jamaicans spent US$3.5 billion on imports while exports earned just under US$1.4 billion.

Does this mean -

...and, that shall continue to happen for the next several years...until we hope the private sector comes up to speed...

...and, that means 'things' shall always get worse...as more and more join the labour force and aspire to use and own the 'goodies' e.g. cars, toys, (consumer goods) ...and, other necessary 'goodies' e.g. oil, raw materials, essential food staples, etc., only available through importation?!

I don't understand.. I thought the PNP were 'managing' the situation ?
        True ... I notice that Peejay missing since such a bold statement.

Too bad the PNP is not in power to 'manage it'

OK so oil went up thus an increase so what's the news ? you could substitute any country's name with the exception of China and the numbers look the same so what's the point here ?

The question is why is it news since Sept 3rd..?

Portia seh is JLP fault.

How do we close the trade deficit gap without PLANNING?

What is our strengths and what are our weaknesses when it comes to the global marketplace? How do then exploit our strengths if we don't know them?

It all comes down to proper PLANNING.

If you don't know where you are going then how are you going to get there?

respect