• I am trained as a Critical Thinker

not an economist.

Can the economist Gurus out there please assist me in this latest 'Bruce is an eediat' claim.

A simple question.

How does knowing that Omar predicated his budget in March on a $71 dollar exchange rate assumption currently impact the financial markets ?

I do not have enough data to apply my critical thinking process to.. so can someone either provide the data OR simply provide an answer to the question.

I am bothered by the claim that it is 'obvious'. Maybe it is an economist ting...

Dem tek up dem marables and gone home. I guess after finally doing some projections and statiscal research Baddaz realized that simply jumping to Omar's defense isn't the sensible thing to do. Mosiah now ... him trying to find another smokescreen.

Prior tradition was to shred papers after a change of Govt. Many people will disagree with this practice.

It is not a good idea to be slavish to old policies for the sake of tradition!

I must admit I cannot see any issue regarding that disclosure having passed thru 75% of the fiscal year.

Indeed, if the intention is merely to withhold info from currency speculators, then that is fighting the wrong battle. GOJ has the power to create an environment for a strong currency and that is proper thing to focus on, as it has more impact.

But di dollar nuh pass 71 ahready ???

What speculators going do wid dis info ?

I was talking about releasing the info say 4 months ago...

But that is not the case ?

Did Bruce Golding release the info 4 months ago ?

Once again.. not a trained economist so help me to understand the point Baddaz and Mosiah are making... the obvious reasons and such...

Are you quoting someone in your first sentence? Then use the "___ " nuh!!!

LOL mi ra&&& dem
                tink mi mad in yah to warrah woooeeeee

While you are right regarding Bruce’s disclosure having little impact on the rest of the fiscal year…what about next year’s projection? The methods for making such projections should not be disclosed, especially when the US dollars is in such demand on the open market. Countries/companies doing business with Ja. government will now try and ascertain the method Ja. used when predicting losses/gain in the foreign exchange market and can use our projection of the devaluating dollar against us. For example, if Omar had stated the dollar would stay at $66 for the rest of the fiscal year that would be an indication that he expected the macroeconomic conditions to favor Ja. as the demand for our dollar would increase against the $US (for whatever reason). The natural process of supply and demand would play itself out without any influence from companies or governments. With this disclosure American companies will wait until the dollar is weaker or restrict business before doing business with us. Mitigating against foreign exchange risk is an important element for any business trading in a global environment and showing your hand is not a prudent way of doing business.

I am not an economist just an atypical thinker.
                  Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                  Mitty

I think you should have waited
                    until that machete slap mark wore off. Just my opinion

I guess we will wait to see if this happens..

Meanwhile back in the world of what HAS happened, if there is no impact.. what are the comrades clamoring about exactly ?

The comrades are now down to 'hypothetical' mistakes of Golding ?

LOL !! Bwoy the fall from the Heights has certainly sent a few over the edge..

heh heh! This is too funny!!!

Can't stop laff! HAHAHA!

Missa $1 Gas man.. how yuh fi chat bout machete slap ?

LOL !!

You right bout dat.

I find this hilarious.

LOL !! WHOOEEE !!

Tilting at Windmills...

But the Fed in the US and the ECB give targetted exchange rates all the time...