Jamaica tax system ranked 9th worst worldwide

well it is the whole system.

Assasin let's be very careful here, 9th worst and one of the highest in the world are 2 totally different things, one is based on the rate or pecentage paid and the other combines factors having to do with collection and ease of payment.

Let's make sure we know that this is apples and oranges.

we? snicker snicker

This is not the article I wanted to find but it highlights some of the problems including taxes. You are right but it really highlights the mess we are in. Making the system easiar and lesser taxes in my view would increase collection.

we? snicker snicker
            LoL

That is my point too.

No wonder we cant progress.

At lunch i just heard about a Danish Tourist killed in Jamaica last month. The man was building a dream house near Johnny Cash's in MoBay and the local end was apparently extorting for more money. He came out to sort things out and then was found dead near frome with his head bashed in...and we talking about roots of expressions!!!

People, we have serious problems!!!!!
              Willi, everyone has their pet peeve. You and others like to discuss Portia's clothing or posture in a cartoon or which politician is more of a virago. This sometimes continues intermittently for weeks. You guys find such things interesting.

I don't hear any gun a fire about our "being in trouble" when these weighty subjects are discussed over a period of weeks.

Live and let live.

Me???

Come betta dat dat!! Neva posted any cartoon and am not involved in those argument.

I dont tek yuh for liad, so I expect an apology.

My pet peeve is economic freedom for Jamaica. Everything else depends on that.

Yuh can chat any other bull crap yuh feel ike.

Him nuh see a Portia friend them a complain about everything said on political platforms?

Why are you so sure? You have info Lazie doesn't?

Yuh didnt read the article?

What article? Lazie said compliance of 30% and 10% and you said you were SURE more people were paying...hence my question.

"Not Tax rate, COMPLIANCE rate. in other words, if 100 people should be paying taxes, only 30 (or 10) are paying. Obviously, this is a calculation. I am sure more people are paying, but they are paying way less than they should on average".

OK Gotcha now.

Didnt understand before.

I am not SURE per se. I only surmise that if only 10% were paying, surely some action would have been taken.

However, upon reflection, I retract...cause is Jamrock we talking bout.

Point made and accepted.

Thanks and I have to give you a 'bigup". Others would start to cuss and ramble. Willi, the tax net has always been a problem and always unfair to the working class (used in the context of working for others) who are TAXED but GOV never sees the money. Too many loopholes, too much carelessness, to much trickery.