Portia accuses gov't of waging class war against PNP

• Portia accuses gov't of waging class war against PNP

OPPOSITION Leader Portia Simpson Miller says Prime Minister Bruce Golding's comments at Sunday's conference of the governing Jamaica Labour Party ran contrary to his suggestion for bi-partisan talks, and accused the Jamaica Labour Party of waging a "class war" against her and the People's National Party.

SIMPSON MILLER... accused the government of being hypocritical
    "If you feel that way about us, why do you want to meet with us? To say our brains are being eaten by termites, to say we are sinful, would you sit with someone you have no respect for?" she questioned.

At the same time, Simpson Miller, who was speaking to reporters at the South West St Andrew nomination centre at the Greenwich All-Age School, called on the government to move fast to take charge of rising food prices.

"What you need to do is stop chatting and take action in the interest of the Jamaican people," Simpson Miller said. "It is unacceptable that they are saying they can do nothing about food prices. When we were in power, it was the government's fault. Were we not living in a globalised world then? The excuse is lame and they need to do something about it," the opposition leader said.

World wheat, fuel and oil prices have risen sharply over the past weeks, sending the cost of food prices around the world soaring.
    In the meantime, Simpson Miller accused the government of being "hypocritical", on the Trafigura affair.

"I think while we're dealing with Trafigura, the JLP needs to say where they got so much money from in the general election," she said, adding that, it was time to take a look at how political parties are funded.

Last week, Golding announced that the Dutch government would be investigating Trafigura's $31-million donation to the PNP, which was first said to be a gift, then the proceeds of a commercial arrangement.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...AINST_PNP_.asp

"What you need to do is stop chatting and take action in the interest of the Jamaican people," Simpson Miller said. "It is unacceptable that they are saying they can do nothing about food prices. When we were in power, it was the government's fault. Were we not living in a globalised world then? The excuse is lame and they need to do something about it," the opposition leader said."

Well, who is to blame here? The media for not reporting or Portia for not listening? Didn't the PM address how they would be addressing the food issue?

Conciliatory talks between government and Opposition appear to be on hold.

Comments from Prime Minister Bruce Golding at the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP's) conference Sunday have left the People's National Party (PNP) leader, Portia Simpson-Miller smarting.

Mrs. Simpson Miller seems dead set against any further discussions with the governing party at this time.

The Opposition Leader seemed to be fuming as she told reporters she felt personally disrespected by Prime Minister Golding's biting criticisms of her party's officials.

In his address at the party's conference Mr. Golding said the PNP suffered from intellectual depravity and it was as if termites infested their brains.

The Opposition leader was bitter in her response.

She said that the attack was not conciliatory in nature asked where was the conciliation in saying they were sinful was and brainless.

She alluded to a growing class war in the country, which she felt Mr. Golding fed into with his comments.

She felt his words were disrespectful toward the majority of common folk in the country and to herself as a woman of humble origin.

On Sunday, Prime Minister Golding said he had extended another invitation to the Opposition to meet at Vale Royal in a bid to find consensus on the way forward.

But Mrs. Simpson Miller and PNP executives will be meeting to craft an official response Tuesday.

Oh No..

Barely 2 months and dem draw fi di race/class card ahready.

Motty seh yuh haffi unnastan di heights from which dem fall.. you have to expect some head trauma.

Well.. another 3 weeks of election mode...

We can put in the appropriate filter.

Oh No..

Barely 2 months and dem draw fi di race/class card ahready.

Motty seh yuh haffi unnastan di heights from which dem fall.. you have to expect some head trauma.
            6 months the JLP, if they continue along the same path, will be a minority government! Forget the 18 months comparison with Portia's PNP reign!

And why is that ?

You comrades need to calm you a$$es down. Yuh had 18 years.. now do us all a favor and check into rehab.

But hold on.. mi swear mi seh a massive ah black man inna di Arena..

How dem nevah fling stone aftah Bruce ?

PNP playing a dangerous game and once again pressing those button...

Well one day di bottom ah guh drap out.

I suggest the PNP focus on reforming itself.. for the good of the country.

The queen of the red herring.

Didnt her own opponents launch "class war" against her in 2006???

She better worry about internal battles.

LoL - as mi hear seh some of har people dem claiming that she wearing too much YELLOW clothes and not enough of the ORANGE color