Tempers rise at Riverton scrap heap

• Tempers rise at Riverton scrap heap

Trouble is brewing at the Riverton landfill as angry scrap metal dealers yesterday blocked the road leading to the dump complaining that since the new regulatory framework for the scrap metal industry took effect, about three weeks ago, traders at the landfill are unable to do business.

They say that the scrap metal business at Riverton has come to a halt as the area is not among the approved sites for loading containers.

Armed with placards, the scrap metal dealers and their suppliers told The Gleaner that the situation had reached boiling point, with many persons who benefit from the trade warning of dire consequences if they are not allowed to legitimately earn a living.

Blockade quickly cleared

Early yesterday morning residents of the area blocked Spanish Town Road, but the blockade was quickly cleared by the police.

Superintendent of Police, Derrick 'Cowboy' Knight, told The Gleaner that a team of police was dispatched to the area to monitor the situation.

"We are hoping that someone from the Ministry (of Industry and Commerce) or the minister himself (Karl Samuda) come down, but I can tell you I see this as a problem that will confront me for some time because most of those persons survive from the scrap metal industry," Superintendent Knight said.

Scrap metal dealers say that meetings were planned with the minister to discuss their concerns but he did not turn up.

Mr. Samuda could not be reached for comment as he is said to be abroad, while efforts to get a response from his junior minister, Michael Stern, proved futile.

"The action that is taken now is that the road to the dump is going to be closed until the people involved in scrap metal from Callaloo Mews and Riverton can have back a job and maintain our families and send our children to school," sai Forbes McIntosh, a resident.

"As long as it stop (scrap metal trade) in Riverton and Callaloo Mews and we can't get it here, we are not going to stop demonstrate until everybody yard or house is filled with garbage," Ms. McIntosh warned.

Carl Donovan, a dealer, is upset with the authorities, claiming that the decision to exclude Riverton from the list of approved sites for loading containers, came as a surprise.

"Rubbish that dem throw weh, we take up and make a bread out of it, now dem take up back the bone and put on dem table and fighting the man who start it," he said, in relation to the scrap metal trade.

At a political rally in west Kingston on Wednesday night, Mr. Samuda told party supporters that with the introduction of regulations in the scrap metal industry, the sector was now operating without serious challenges.