Cannot agree with them taking it to a politicial platform.

• Cannot agree with them taking it to a politicial platform.

'Lock them up!' Smith says plans in place to jail former PNP officials

MINISTER OF National Security Derrick Smith has all but convicted some members of the People's National Party (PNP) administration that formed the last government, allegedly for misuse of public funds.

Speaking at a Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) rally in Tivoli Gardens on Wednesday night, Mr. Smith said that he has plans in place to drag some people off to jail.

"Right now, day after day, we finding out one and two people who thief money when dem was in government," Mr. Smith said.

"I am here to tell you, when the investigation that is going on now confirm dat dem was a thief, I have a team of police a wait fi lock dem up.

"And once we lock dem up dem a go a prison. For a long time they have been robbing this country and time come to put a stop to it," the National Security Minister said.

The former PNP government was rocked by several scandals during its 18 years in office and some of those scandals have seemingly followed the party into opposition. However, no member of the party has ever gone before the courts on any charge.

Witch-hunt

Some members of the PNP have even accused the JLP, which formed the government two months ago after narrowly winning the September 3 general election, of witch-hunting. These charges came after Energy Minister Clive Mullings revealed in Parliament that the distribution of some four million 'free' Cuban light bulbs just before the general election had cost Jamaica more than $276 million.

He brought documents to Parliament, which he said, raised questions of fraud and informed that the Contractor General, the Auditor-General and the police Fraud Squad have been asked to probe the matter, which was also referred to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The investigation is in its early stages. But it was not only Mr. Smith who pointed the accusing finger at the PNP on Wednesday night.

"Wi nuh stand fi di 'thiefingness' weh gwaan under PNP government and if you watch wi work, wi going put some a dem a prison," Agriculture Minister Christopher Tufton said.

In direct reference to the light-bulb saga, Dr. Tufton said: "Dem a screw in wid one hand and a put yuh taxpayer money inna dem pocket wid di other hand."

James Robertson, Member of Parliament for St. Thomas Western, was more subtle in his attack.

"We make no apology for standing up for what is right and any man who want to cry will have to cry," Mr. Robertson said.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

yeah lazie i agree....the vernacular and all seems to be just to political populism....cheap trick, absolutely not the right platform.

Somebody need to muzzle Smith's mouth. I wish we could proceed with the business of NATION Building. I'm getting tired of these SHOUT-OUTS

Political Platform ?

Ah wheh di...?

Where else does one vent ?

Yuh want people dead inna Gordon House ?

UNDAH DI JAIL DEM FI GUH !!

Were you at the Tivoli Rally ?

How you find out bout it ?

What yuh want dem fi talk bout inna Tivarli ?

Next ting wi gwine want people fi keep quiet when dem a play dominos, like mi si pon ESPN..

Heh, heh.

What i saw on TV was just about every Tom, Dick and harry bawling fi people guh a prison..but wha de seh bout Glass House people?

nuh wanda de country cyaan develop... imagine, dis iz de standard for a minister of national security... well out of bounds...

kern and paulwell cannot expect a fair and unbiased investigation... jamaca dont need such an imflamatory security minister...

"More man have cyar, gyal and cellphone"

Memba dem days ?

Mi ah watch di previously silent comrades and unnuh not dissapointing.. talking about why country cyaan develop...

Comedy to rhatid..

Has a Minister or MP ever gone to prison ?

Pernel Patro and Babsy came close but it is still not too late...

Danny Buck say the PM must reign in Derrick Smith! WTF???!!!!

Does JAG Smith count.

given that the country was slow in development... aren't you expecting a higher standard with this new govt... ok, the actions of this new security minister in tivoli represents a change in the positive direction... fraud...

How many months gone now ?

Ah keep telling unnun fi PACE YUHSELVES.. at this pace unnuh could not last 18 months much less 18 years...

'Lock them up!' Smith says plans in place to jail former PNP officials

MINISTER OF National Security Derrick Smith has all but convicted some members of the People's National Party (PNP) administration that formed the last government, allegedly for misuse of public funds.

Speaking at a Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) rally in Tivoli Gardens on Wednesday night, Mr. Smith said that he has plans in place to drag some people off to jail.

"Right now, day after day, we finding out one and two people who thief money when dem was in government," Mr. Smith said.

"I am here to tell you, when the investigation that is going on now confirm dat dem was a thief, I have a team of police a wait fi lock dem up.

"And once we lock dem up dem a go a prison. For a long time they have been robbing this country and time come to put a stop to it," the National Security Minister said.

The former PNP government was rocked by several scandals during its 18 years in office and some of those scandals have seemingly followed the party into opposition. However, no member of the party has ever gone before the courts on any charge.

Witch-hunt

Some members of the PNP have even accused the JLP, which formed the government two months ago after narrowly winning the September 3 general election, of witch-hunting. These charges came after Energy Minister Clive Mullings revealed in Parliament that the distribution of some four million 'free' Cuban light bulbs just before the general election had cost Jamaica more than $276 million.

He brought documents to Parliament, which he said, raised questions of fraud and informed that the Contractor General, the Auditor-General and the police Fraud Squad have been asked to probe the matter, which was also referred to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The investigation is in its early stages. But it was not only Mr. Smith who pointed the accusing finger at the PNP on Wednesday night.

"Wi nuh stand fi di 'thiefingness' weh gwaan under PNP government and if you watch wi work, wi going put some a dem a prison," Agriculture Minister Christopher Tufton said.

In direct reference to the light-bulb saga, Dr. Tufton said: "Dem a screw in wid one hand and a put yuh taxpayer money inna dem pocket wid di other hand."

James Robertson, Member of Parliament for St. Thomas Western, was more subtle in his attack.

"We make no apology for standing up for what is right and any man who want to cry will have to cry," Mr. Robertson said.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

Notice no names were called?
                              Tears those in the news apart...yet no action can be taken against those who use the platform in this way. Electioneering on big!

It would be terrible if the JLP lost council seats it currently holds...and, even more terrible if it ended up losing the position it enjoys as majority holder of Parish Councils seats and Parish Councils.