• Gleaner EDITORIAL - A sobering report on the way ahead

EDITORIAL - A sobering report on the way ahead
    published: Thursday | November 15, 2007

The Prime Minister, the Hon. Bruce Golding, gave his first major address to the nation since gaining power two months ago. It was a sobering report. While pointing to a number of initiatives which the new Government was undertaking, and to election promises which the government was attempting to fulfil, the message from the Prime Minister was clear - things will get worse before they get better.

This is an important message for the Government to get over to a population impatient for results. The impatience is understandable. As the Prime Minister himself pointed out, he, too, is impatient. With the destruction of our roads, the tight fiscal situation and the deteriorating global economy, especially the spiral in the oil price to US$100 per barrel, the economic situation for the average Jamaican is becoming more and more difficult.

In this context, it took real political courage for Mr. Golding to unequivocally affirm the Government's unshakeable commitment to fiscal discipline and macroeconomic stability. This is a welcome departure from the statements of others in the past, and should have a salutary effect on the Jamaican dollar and on the macroeconomic situation more generally.

At the same time, the Government itself will appreciate that Mr. Golding was strong on medium- and long-term needs, but not so clear on what it intends to do in the short term. In particular, the pressing questions of what we are going to do in this and the coming fiscal year about our $2 billion oil import bill, the rise in our food costs and the overall jump in the cost of living and the cost of doing business in Jamaica, remain unanswered. This is particularly urgent as all of these immediate price increases look set to continue and will put unprecedented pressure on wages in general and on the public sector wage bill in particular. The implications for inflation and interest rates and the plans of the Government to increase investment and employment are extremely serious.

It is imperative that the Prime Minister give early leadership in this area and develop an approach to these problems in the short term. We are completely opposed to any attempt to restore price controls of the old sort, but reports of the reintroduction of the 'marrying' of goods and of flour selling at 65 per cent above the former price cannot simply be ignored either. If the general public is being asked to show patience, then the same call must go out to wholesalers and retailers, large and small. Price increases which reflect real increases in costs are one thing, but rampant price-gouging is a different matter.

Mr. Golding gave an impressive perspective on the country's problems and on the general direction that he hopes to steer the ship of state. Now it is up to him to help us navigate the reefs and storms immediately before us. This will not be easy, but with broad public cooperation from all sectors of society, much can be achieved.

The opinions on this page, except for the above, do not necessarily reflect the views of The Gleaner. To respond to a Gleaner editorial, email us: editor@gleanerjm.com or fax: 922-6223. Responses should be no longer than 400 words. Not all responses will be published.

EDITORIAL - A sobering report on the way ahead
    published: Thursday | November 15, 2007

...the message from the Prime Minister was clear - things will get worse before they get better.

This is an important message for the Government to get over to a population impatient for results. The impatience is understandable. As the Prime Minister himself pointed out, he, too, is impatient. With the destruction of our roads, the tight fiscal situation and the deteriorating global economy, especially the spiral in the oil price to US$100 per barrel, the economic situation for the average Jamaican is becoming more and more difficult.

In this context, it took real political courage for Mr. Golding to unequivocally affirm the Government's unshakeable commitment to fiscal discipline and macroeconomic stability. This is a welcome departure from the statements of others in the past, and should have a salutary effect on the Jamaican dollar and on the macroeconomic situation more generally.
    Herein lies the problem - the JLP is so wrapped up in theories that it forgets that what is leaned in classes at Universities and other institutions of higher learning is mere what should hold in ideal situations...usually without any regard for the 'real pushing on or pulling on'...taking actions in any one area of the economy and what comprises whole societies lead to 'bulges and deflations' in other areas. The case studies do not usually mirror in every detail the situation faced in 'real world' situations.

The type of fiscal discipline spoken of by the Golding JLP if it is anything like that imposed by the Seaga JLP of the '80s shall mean lay-offs, government resistance to wage hikes and other corollary problems.

At the same time, the Government itself will appreciate that Mr. Golding was strong on medium- and long-term needs, but not so clear on what it intends to do in the short term. In particular, the pressing questions of what we are going to do in this and the coming fiscal year about our $2 billion oil import bill, the rise in our food costs and the overall jump in the cost of living and the cost of doing business in Jamaica, remain unanswered. This is particularly urgent as all of these immediate price increases look set to continue and will put unprecedented pressure on wages in general and on the public sector wage bill in particular. The implications for inflation and interest rates and the plans of the Government to increase investment and employment are extremely serious.
    We assume that Golding lead and gave direction to those he leads, i.e. his Ministers and MP collegues, in underlying policies and formulation of proposed actions that will shape 'the way forward'. Golding's address is thus the best his JLP can come up with at this time.

The Golding led JLP came to its leadship position on a platform of 'knowing the way forward'. This idea of 'knowing the way forward' was sold in a climate of our immediate needs i.e. short-term solutions we were promised was at hand.

Let us face the 'real world' - we are where we are and solutions are needed now. We know the situation of unemployment and underemployment and the coming opening of the doors through which graduates of high schools, colleges, universities and other institutions enter the ranks of those seeking to put food on the table...those wishing to 'keep body and soul together'. It means an increasingly frightening situation where as quoted above, our Golding led JLP is "not so clear on what it intends to do in the short term".

The problem is this is the 'real world'...Jamaica's world...and, short-term solutions are needed.

It is imperative that the Prime Minister give early leadership in this area and develop an approach to these problems in the short term. We are completely opposed to any attempt to restore price controls of the old sort, but reports of the reintroduction of the 'marrying' of goods and of flour selling at 65 per cent above the former price cannot simply be ignored either. If the general public is being asked to show patience, then the same call must go out to wholesalers and retailers, large and small. Price increases which reflect real increases in costs are one thing, but rampant price-gouging is a different matter.
    Yes?!

Mr. Golding gave an impressive perspective on the country's problems and on the general direction that he hopes to steer the ship of state. Now it is up to him to help us navigate the reefs and storms immediately before us. This will not be easy, but with broad public cooperation from all sectors of society, much can be achieved.
    I would make a slight change to the last paragraph -

Mr. Golding gave a frightening perspective on the country's problems and it can be clearly seen that while he lays out the general direction that he hopes to steer the ship of state he has also given the alarming news that both himself and his collegues have not a clue on how to alleviate the immediate needs of the people. He may be our PM but it is up to us to awaken him to realities of our current situation and the path to take to deal with these our immediate needs.

Fund infrastruture 'build-out' - improve, renew and set in place efficient maintenace systems - and social programs as he continues to work at wooing new investments. In short he must continue on the path of the former PNP government that he and his collegues poured 'poo-poo' on - i.e. take the measures that relieve the pressure on the society while giving the private sector needed time to 'come up to speed'.

Aside:
    Brushing aside the matter of the PNP facing oil bill increases of the magnitute now faced is a joke. A look at the increases the PNP faced at various times will show that a comparison with the present %age increase is valid.

In my mind, the argument that this Golding led JLP is entering waters never before faced in terms of %age increase in the price of oil is not based on fact.

If the JLP had 18 years to run the country and produced the same results that the PNP have produced, I would be ashamed to be even mentioned in the same sentence with them.

Your unswerving allegiance is most instructive.

Assuming you obtain no direct benefit from your campaigning, you are not that far from being classified as clinically insane.

I don't even think Jesus was favoured with your level of abiding 'love'.

Beloved Party indeed.

If the JLP had 18 years to run the country and produced the same results that the PNP have produced, I would be ashamed to be even mentioned in the same sentence with them.

Your unswerving allegiance is most instructive.

Assuming you obtain no direct benefit from your campaigning, you are not that far from being classified as clinically insane.

I don't even think Jesus was favoured with your level of abiding 'love'.

Beloved Party indeed.
        Now you finished with the diatribe maybe you wish to address what the path the Golding led JLP should take to address our current pressing problems?

Karl.. and I mean no disrespect..

There is a certain insanity which has kept Jamaica down and I must say I have been enlightened by your posts and those of others.

I have been trying to unravel the enigma of the Jamaican Condition as it continues to 'defy gravity'.

You have been very helpful in this regard.

I hope that 20 years from now I will be able to laugh about 'those days' and 'those odd fellows'

Right now as a Jamaican all I feel is disgust.

The past 35 years was really not neccessary. I don't care how much corn was mashing. I will say it again.. in the 60's black people could not VOTE in America. Where have you and many others chosen to LIVE ?

LET OUR PEOPLE GO !

Karl you can't say that;
            I was told that the JLP is unfortunate and this crisis is an unusual phenomena. Had the election been called a year before things would be right now.

Does this mean we won't see 6-10% growth in the medium term? Tell me, I need to know!

wha you a go run whey???

It might just force us to use our own resources.

wha you a go run whey???

It might just force us to use our own resources.

Dat's why him been trying to sell the Escallion that him drive

Start a new thread if you want to discuss other issues.