They lie!

And if it was not fraud but simply gross mismanagement of the tax-payer's money.. what then ?
    Portia should let them out to pasture!

There is also the matter of making an example of our senior civil servants. Failure to deal with them leaves our country at the mercy of 'forceful politicians' who these *civil servants fail to 'pull up' and prevent undue mis-management and waste.

*civil servants - jobs to 'pull-up' these politicians. They are - i.e. the civil servants - our last defense, of checks and balances, after we have voted those we deem unworthy out of or held away from office.

Whistleblower legislation should help with that.

I agree Karl, not just politicians need cleaning up and disciplining.

Green on green dont work.

Colours are neutral anyway, despite the best efforts of politicians.

My personal sentiment revelove around what is good for Jamaica. Parties are expendible to me, as they are subject to change over time. PNP of today has nothing to do with Daddy Manley's party. JLP, according to the Labour in its name should be a socialist party.

Partis are just a convenient vehicle to attain National goals, if they fail in that...off with their heads! LoL

Green on green does not work.

Colours are neutral anyway, despite the best efforts of politicians.

My personal sentiment revolve around what is good for Jamaica. Parties are expendible to me, as they are subject to change over time. PNP of today has nothing to do with Daddy Manley's party. JLP, according to the Labour in its name should be a socialist party.

Partis are just a convenient vehicle to attain National goals, if they fail in that...off with their heads! LoL

$4,000,000 US to feed 1500 people for 4 months? It's TALK A DI TOWN dem was a eat at? And how di PNP conduct dem forensic audit so fast?
            Was it to feed, board and transportation?

Any way your 1,500 people x $$4.00 per meal x 3 meals per day x 122 days approximately = $2,196,000.00

If I am reading it right board and transportation are to be added!

Whistleblower legislation should help with that.

I agree Karl, not just politicians need cleaning up and disciplining.
              Frankly I do not know why whistlebower legislation is needed - It all boils down to what Carlton Alexander (I hope wherever he is he will forgive me for 'tweeking' his idea of "the only contract worth anything is a handshake"?) refers to as the 'spirit/heart of man'! i.e. a person who believes in his cause - right or wrong - will step up to the plate! If that 'inner conviction' is not there you could have a million laws it will not do one damn good!

I disagree.

You well know that the price of one's conviction in Jamaica could be from loss of job, blackballing to even death!

Official protection is needed to correct the societal imbalance.

If what you said is true, then explain how come people are killed in front of hundreds of witnesses, yet no-one saw a thing??

Yes Portia SHOULD.. but as we know based on experience.. she needs a 'Mandate'..

That is why we have a real leader as Prime Minister and you should be thankful.

We don't need populists and those that seek to hold power for powers sake that hold the country to ransom giving succor to a ineffecient and corrupt Civil Service.

Local Govt elections coming up. I am sure you will make the right decision.

Your sentiments are not in question.

I meant the sentiment of the author....

Was it to feed, board and transportation?

Any way your 1,500 people x $$4.00 per meal x 3 meals per day x 122 days approximately = $2,196,000.00

If I am reading it right board and transportation are to be added!
                      You are actually going to debate this ?

Each Bulb costs 70 cents !!

Which person in their right mind conceives of a distribution model where the cost of distribution of each item exceeds the cost of the item ?????

What is your agenda ?

LoL

The author speaking from a high level of frustration. Palpable.

I disagree.

You well know that the price of one's conviction in Jamaica could be from loss of job, blackballing to even death!
                          Nothing would change! Legislation would not protect from reprisals through to killings! The very legislations on the books prove that. Currently in Jamaica - reprisals through to killings are rampant...and, there is legislation on the books to protect and act as deterrent!

What is lacking - conviction on the part of those who should 'give up' the wrongdoers regardless of personal cost!

Official protection is needed to correct the societal imbalance.
                          Official protect is only as strong as those who must enforce same!
                          Again - Conviction is lacking in the enforcers!

If what you said is true, then explain how come people are killed in front of hundreds of witnesses, yet no-one saw a thing??
                          Said, it in my first post...will say it again - Carlton Alexander said that, the conviction/willingness of the person and or persons to live up to the 'contract'/ideal is what is lacking!

Those who witness the killing(s) are not convinced that taking a stand against such behaviour is in own self-interest and or has not the moral fortitude to 'stand up!

The day an overwhelming majority...not just the majority, as I think the majority right now is feed up and is in any case, has always been against the gun crimes and in a general sense the criminal activities and corruption...stand up and refuse to allow any blatant act...any known act to be not reported, is the day the criminals/the wrong-doers will soon after get the message that there is no hiding place! Crime & gun crimes will then fall dramatically! Engage in it and the people shall 'out you'!

People do that all the time and end up dead in the current paradigm.

Govt needs to step up and encourage the ethical behaviour..ie remove all/most impediments to doing the right thing.

In the present situation, each person is left on their own to suffer the consequences. To break the cycle, the state needs to step up and offer protection and incentives. In the US they have witness protection programs. Why?

The State needs to offer financial incentives, guaranteed protection, including repatriation to a foreign location if needs be, moral backing and encouragement (PR programs to LAUD ethical behaviour) and finally they need to make examples of those exposed by the whistleblowing.

The balance of power needsa dramatic shift. It is not just the passing of the law, its the enforcement and other supportive ACTIONS. The law is a great framework to build on. YOU KNOW THIS!

Yuh chatting rubbish...

You cannot depend only on the 'moral fortitude' of individuals to report on things.. you have to account for incidents observed by those that require some assurance of SOME TYPE of protection from the establishment.

People do that all the time and end up dead in the current paradigm.

Govt needs to step up and encourage the ethical behaviour..ie remove all/most impediments to doing the right thing.

In the present situation, each person is left on their own to suffer the consequences. To break the cycle, the state needs to step up and offer protection and incentives. In the US they have witness protection programs. Why?

The State needs to offer financial incentives, guaranteed protection, including repatriation to a foreign location if needs be, moral backing and encouragement (PR programs to LAUD ethical behaviour) and finally they need to make examples of those exposed by the whistleblowing.

The balance of power needsa dramatic shift. It is not just the passing of the law, its the enforcement and other supportive ACTIONS. The law is a great framework to build on. YOU KNOW THIS!
                                Not disagreeing...but, I think it always comes down to the will to do things! Your last paragaph on the relationships that it will take, says everything!