Running scared

A nuff people inna the media use to do the insurance thing so you can't blame him.

Tiger was one who couldn't see a light and nuh tek advantage. I remember at Halfmoon he ordered room service and before you know he was a the front desk, had to come and tell how him mash up Sunsplash

Agreement Between the Government of Canada and The Government of Jamaica

For the Avoidance of Double Taxation and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion With Respect to Taxes on Income
      This electronic version of the Canada-Jamaica Income Tax Agreement signed on March 30, 1978 is provided for convenience of reference only and has no official sanction.
      The Government of Canada and the Government of Jamaica desiring to conclude an Agreement for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income, have agreed as follows:

The terms "a Contracting State" and "the other Contracting State" mean Canada or Jamaica, respectively.

1. Notwithstanding the provisions of Articles VII, XV and XVI, income derived by entertainers, such as theatre, motion picture, radio or television artistes and musicians, and by athletes, from their personal activities as such may be taxed in the Contracting State in which these activities are exercised.
      Okay! I was always of the impression that citizens had to file taxes in their home country.

All the tax collector have to do is get the booking agents and have money from royalities reported. Wha the artist them a talk a foolishness. Tax man can't tax you fi the hype. So they want to perform but no pay the tax.
        If you make statments on your earnings - in any public forum - that are in fact more than you earn...the 'tax man' has every right to tax you on that.

You could receive a notice to pay based on your words. You then must either pay or dispute the assessment and submit evidence to show what youy now claim is your true income.

The dispute could lead on into an audit!

It is a very, very bad thing to mis-state your income. Trus mi di 'tax man' luv wen yuh gi di big figa dem. Dem nuh hask nuh question 'cept - PAY-UP!

If you make statments on your earnings - in any public forum - that are in fact more than you earn...the 'tax man' has every right to tax you on that.
          KARL gimme a break. So you telling me that when a rappers says he was driving in his LAMBORGHINI an a lie him a tell dem can tax him pon it? DI WHOLE A UNNUH A COMMUNIST TO RHATTID.

...and, you think that is declaring earnings?

Okay if a rapper says I made $20 million this year and a lie him a tell he should pay taxes on it? A wha kinda BUSHMAN ACCOUNTING principles you a use?

He certainly should not be surprised if the IRS comes calling.

Accounting has nothing to do with it at that stage. You say you made the money - you pay the tax on it!

Tax collectors operate on the basis that you are under reporting your taxes. If you open your mouth and state your taxes is more than you have on your filed returns - that is, your income. The tax man is under no obligation to verify same. Do not fail to under that! You send in your earning and or speak about your earnings and the tax man only disputes it if he has reason to seek more money. The 'tax man' cares not a fig if you make a dollar yet send in earnings of a million...all he wants is payment!

Let me put it another way for you...the tax man will not arbitarily lower your tax from the way you filed. It is you who will have to file a dispute. It is you who must question the tax bill invoice requesting payment....or, pay-up!

btw - Boss, many companies that do business with you here that require that you state your income (read the fine print) reports same to the IRS (in other words it is there for the IRS to source and use as gospel!) ...some others have you sign documents saying you are agreeing that the IRS use those figures.

He certainly should not be surprised if the IRS comes calling.

Accounting has nothing to do with it at that stage. You say you made the money - you pay the tax on it!

Tax collectors operate on the basis that you are under reporting your taxes. If you open your mouth and state your taxes is more than you have on your filed returns - that is, your income. The tax man is under no obligation to verify same. Do not fail to under that! You send in your earning and or speak about your earnings and the tax man only disputes it if he has reason to seek more money. The 'tax man' cares not a fig if you make a dollar yet send in earnings of a million...all he wants is payment!

Let me put it another way for you...the tax man will not arbitarily lower your tax from the way you filed. It is you who will have to file a dispute. It is you who must question the tax bill invoice requesting payment....or, pay-up!

btw - Boss, many companies that do business with you here that require that you state your income (read the fine print) reports same to the IRS (in other words it is there for the IRS to source and use as gospel!) ...some others have you sign documents saying you are agreeing that the IRS use those figures.
                  KARL this is utter rubbish. They have to find the money first. That's why they have forensic accountants who look at your expenditures then look at your income to see if it can cover those expenditures. In the case of BEENIE MAN dem nah do dat dem just a seh yuh drive HUMMER so yuh must have money.

Find which money? Are you crazy?

Why would the IRS be looking for your money unless there is the belief that you are hiding some? ...or, you are unfortunate to be one of those caught in those chosen randonly for an audit?

I am stating it as fact - that if you declare you make "x" amount you are charged taxes on that amount...not a penny less!

You may be charged on a larger sum...but, not less than what you said!

Listen to this again Bricktop - The IRS does not dispute your reported earnings unless there is reason to believe that you earn MORE THAN YOU SAY YOU DO!

What type of efficiency on the collection of taxes it would be to be spending time running down, 'doing accounting' and auditing returns that on inspection appears correct? ...and, questioning documentation and or lifestyle and or utterances that bring MORE into the government coffers? The tax-man' spends time trying to find MORE! A waste it would be trying to find LESS!

thanks but that is not with the US and the UK and what about royalities? It said nothing about it.

Any tax-man here?
                        Kindly tell us how you go about your work?
                        Country please?
                        Thanks!

2006 CADILLAC ESCALADE, Gen IV 6.2L Vortec V8 VVT, orange, fully loaded, mint condition, chrome rims, great gas mileage. Call for price. Serious enquiries only. Email: mosiah@reggaeboyzsc.com

How much Rapper and DM a live like Trump?

So when Beenie sign who got the keys for mi bimma, him should have ask fi the key to him Kia then?

If the artist have proper record he has no problem him can say anything him want.

So maybe the tax man would charge Leroy Smart and Sanchez more than them charge Bob Marley then?
                            Last edited by Assasin; November 8, 2007, 05:10 PM.

So when Beenie sign who got the keys for mi bimma, him should have ask fi the key to him Kia then?

Good one!

If the artist have proper record he has no problem him can say anything him want.

So maybe the tax man would charge Leroy Smart and Sanchez more than them charge Bob Marley then?
                                You got that right! ...in both cases!
                                ...the docs could save their respective arses!