This conflict of interest outcry gone way outta hand...

• This conflict of interest outcry gone way outta hand...

Wednesday, November 07, 2007

Dear Editor,
    I write to comment on Captain Horace Burrell's recent return to the presidency of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF).
    The issue of conflict of interest has been in the public domain recently, following several government appointments. Captain Burrell's return to the presidency also brings to light this very important issue.

As is widely known, his company - Captain's Bakery - is the main sponsor of the top competition in at least six parish football associations. The voting delegates of the JFF are, for the most part, representatives of the various parish associations.

In a time when funding is hard to come by, is it far-fetched that Captain Burrell's commercial arrangements, which sponsorships are, could serve to wield a huge influence over delegates?

I am not questioning Burrell's commitment to football or what he has done for the sport, neither am I questioning his leadership ability, but this arrangement with a substantial bloc of the JFF's voting population, which may be called on to ratify his decisions, needs to be examined; especially since I am sure that the JFF will be depending on the public purse for assistance as they look to achieve their objectives.

I know I may be raising a very unpopular issue, but this is a clear conflict of interest.
    David Edwards
    Ft Lauderdale
    USA

Willi: Your take?

If there is an issue about Burrell, its not merely this sponsorship arrangement.

As much as Boxhill was incompetent, it did not help that Burrell used his FIFA weight with "ticket or leave it" Jack Warner to undermine Boxhill.

I posted the letter to show that Jamaica is conflict of interest happy now. It is the en vogue expression.

If there is an issue about Burrell, its not merely this sponsorship arrangement.

As much as Boxhill was incompetent, it did not help that Burrell used his FIFA weight with "ticket or leave it" Jack Warner to undermine Boxhill.

...duh don't buy the Brooklyn bridge?

I posted the letter to show that Jamaica is conflict of interest happy now. It is the en vogue expression.

...yuh rite! Dem gone crazy!

Gwaan thing that Warner, Burrell and Blatter easy.

They could star in the movie "3 the hard way"!!!

Dem bredda deh nuh easy at all. Havelange protoges.

That grouping is no more boss, have it on good authority that SEPtic and Jack fall out after FIFA took the decision to stop the World Cup rotation just when CONCACAF was next in line.

Notice that Jack was in T&T while the FIFA brass was in Rio, yes maybe he had an election to win but two days in Rio would not have blighted his chances that much.

If I was Jack I would be royally pi$$ed too.

Anybody with a brain could see that, Willi. Don't be too hard on Karl.

The irony is that I quite like Burrell and he and I were quite friendly in the past when our paths would cross.. However, me nah go tell nuh lie.

Good for you!