• That DAMN Butch Stewart!!!

Sandals to maintain mobile police unit

Wednesday, November 07, 2007

MONTEGO BAY, St James - Tourism Minister Ed Bartlett has lauded Gordon "Butch" Stewart's Sandals Resort International (SRI), for pledging to maintain the recently commissioned Mobile Command and Control Police Unit which will be operating along Montego Bay's 'Hip Strip'.

"Sandals Resort International has undertaken to maintain the unit and we are very happy. We think that that is the kind of partnership that we need between stakeholders and the ministry to achieve the high level of enhancement that our product needs to be competitive," Bartlett remarked.

Said Bartlett: "I can assure that I will be on the case of other stakeholders to deal with the case of other units at other locations when they have arrived."

The tourism minister, who was speaking on the weekend in Montego Bay at the commissioning of the mobile police station, said the vehicle, valued at $23.5 million, was acquired with an allocation from the Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF). He indicated that similar units would be made available to cover the "Negril resort area, Ocho Rios resort area, Port Antonio resort area and the south coast".

The tourism minister also announced that closed circuit television (CCTV) would be installed along Montego Bay's "hip strip" to compliment the control vehicle, fitted with state-of-the-art surveillance equipment which has a capacity to scan within a four-mile radius.

"We are going to have an eye out there; a big eye so we can remove the thugs and the pimps and the hustlers and the pushers; so we can preserve the legitimate traders who are on the street and in their places of business; we can protect ourselves and our visitors," Bartlett said.
    Meanwhile, Bartlett, who had said at the end of last month that the tourism industry recorded a nine per cent increase in stopover arrivals over the previous year, told the commissioning ceremony that there was a marked increase from the Canadian market.

He said that Montego Bay, which now "sees over 600,000 tourists per year is poised to have a million tourists coming here in the next few years".
    Last edited by Karl; November 7, 2007, 11:30 AM.

... hehehe ... I wonder how his detractors gonna know him on this one?

Good move by Butch.

Lazie, his detractors shall criticise as the need arises, and shall praise likewise.

Good move by Butch.

Lazie, his detractors shall criticise as the need arises, and shall praise likewise.
        hehehe ... had to wipe some sweat before posting that don't? Wonder what Dawn Ritch gonna write bout this weekend?

Here's one:
          1. Buying out the police?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            Here's one:
            1. Buying out the police?
            So that he can further his criminal enterprise?

I'm sure there is a conflict of interest somewhere.

conflict of interest? All of a sudden everybody know this term. As mi say, change is good.

You seem quite familiar with "conflict" though, right?

Whatever that means. All mi know was that before Sept 3rd people used to see it as no big deal. If the opposition said anything about it, they were cursed for trying to oppose oppose oppose.

Change is good bwoy!

I am sure there is however we cannot afford not to accept help wherever we can get it. Unnuh mussi tink a first world unnuh live