Downtown businessmen complain of increase in robbery

• Downtown businessmen complain of increase in robbery

EXTORTION MADE US SAFER - Downtown businessmen complain of increase in robbery

By Jonique Gaynor/ Dwayne McLeod, Staff Reporters

Although extortion in the downtown area may have decreased since the incarceration of reputed Matthews Lane area leader, Donald 'Zekes' Phipps, frequent break-ins and robberies have, reportedly, taken its place.

One businessman, who requested anonymity, told THE STAR, "a pure tiefing di man dem a gwaan wid. Every night dem bruk inna store. Di other day dem tief $3 million worth a tings from one store and if yuh don't keep out a good eye, dem tief yu goods dem right offa di truck.Yuh see from Beeston Street coming down, every store off deh so get bruk." He told THE STAR that his store had been robbed twice since Zekes' incarceration and said three stores had been robbed as recently as Saturday.

He revealed that store owners have been forced to keep a close guard on their properties and said, "Sometime di Chiney man dem haffi come dung ya all three time fi di night. Dem haffi deh a town a watch dem place."

He also noted that the most affected areas were Princess Street, Orange Street, King Street and West Street, with King Street being the worst of the lot.

"A three store pon King Street di man dem rob jus' last week," he added.

Blocked lanes

Even though there are frequent patrols from various security companies, it is reported that the robbers are able to do their deeds undetected, because they break into the stores "from di lane dem, like Luke Lane, an' dem dig out di store dem from deh so. It look like dem [patrols] 'fraid fi go dung inna di lane dem. An' wha' di guys dem do, is dem throw all kinda tings inna di lane dem so yu can't really drive through."

THE STAR was also told that several businessmen, including those not from Jamaica, are getting so frustrated with the situation, that they are planning to recruit outside forces to help stave off the attacks. "Di Chiney man dem can't sleep ah night. When Zekes did deh a road, dem tings ya couldn't gwaan and police only a tek report an, a seh 'yes'. Dem naw do enuff. Wha night ya, mi see a man a ride past wid a sledge hammer ova him shoulder an' police deh deh a fool roun man wid 'im motor vehicle. Dem use di hammer dem an mash up di people dem place. A chaos dung a dis place, man. A years mi deh a town an' mi neva fraid so yet. But mi naw mek dem run mi," the source said.

Upon visiting the area, THE STAR was taken to look at three stores which had been recently broken into. THE STAR was told that the culprits gain entry to the business places at nights by using sledge hammers to break their way through the walls. The businessmen have since tried to patch up the walls.

But although the business fraternity is clearly frustrated by the situation, the police say they have no knowledge of such happenings. ISCF Special Sergeant Steven Watson, told THE STAR that he was not aware that robberies were occurring on such a wide scale and said he was also unaware that persons were disappointed with the work being done by the police.

He said, "I am not aware of the break-ins or of the lack of confidence in the police. This is news to me. If this is so, we will have to reassure business personnel that we are there and that we have their interests at heart. We work closely with the business persons in the area and if this was happening on such a wide scale, we would know. I'm not saying it's not happening, but I'm not aware of it. It may have happened to a few people and it might just be blown out of proportion."

He added, however, that the police would work on implementing; "necessary measures and strategies to combat this because we can't allow a few criminals to take over the municipality."

Where is the mayor in all of this? Is ongle people sign him can pull dung?

all of downtown needs rebuilding... most if not all of those houses need to be torn down, the people relocated and rebuild down town for business... too much little houses right smack in the business district... it is stifling development in my opinion... tuh much lanes wid unemployed people...

Agree sah.

Bring back the don's, we need them for development

Where is dudus when you need him? How else are we going to keep the order(Law and Order they both go hand in hand)

respect

Sad, eh? The merchants downtown should be insisting on efffective policing, not suggesting that extortion is the way to go.