Ralston Hyman never stops. Now he is

• Ralston Hyman never stops. Now he is

pushing that if Jamaica should become an offshore banking center, it will be a bad thing as it is a means of tax evasion. Is this dude for real? And even though the interviewee is pointing out that tax savings (tax avoidance as I learnt the term) is different from tax evasion he is still pushing his view.

Problems with persons who reason as he sometimes does is; a) the reasoning is from a 'place' where it suggests the action under discussion is isolated action - It never is...do something in one sector or area and a reaction occur and or reactions occur elsewhere; b) the absence of 'real life reality' that investment and growth in any economy is never a 'one sector' and or 'one area of a sector' thing.

...the mere fact of the introduction of offshore banking puts us in the eye of the world...and, other money - job growth, etc. will come looking!

Karl let's be very serious now:
      After what happened with Trafigura (showing that there is no confidentiality in our banking system). Do you really think anyone with sense is going to leave their money in JA? Look who is now in Finance? One Ja's local corp. Which major corporation would risk exposure; knowing that a possible competition is behind our govt.? Karl that dream is gone, it's not going to happen. I don't care what Don Wheby says.

We cut off our nose to spite our face. Better they start getting creative and take offshore banking off their minds. I wouldn't even say what someone told me happened with their cell bill and debit card which was outsourced in JA. I think that the govt. should have background checks done on all employees working in these sectors and they should be also finger printed. This is the info age and information is akin to gold.

Ja can't afford to lose out in the outsourcing game ( a lot of work was done by the previous govt. which was not in the local media).

Strange, suh why you started off your post saying, "Karl let's be very serious now!"

Thanks, your point is noted.

You saw that as a point? Not surprising.

yes I did; that's your
              contribution for most of your time here. Oh, you thought otherwise?

yes I did; that's your
                contribution for most of your time here. Oh, you thought otherwise?
                There is nothing more humorous that a mad man thinking him making alot of sense. Gwaan fool yuhself bredren.

and the tracing begins

Offshore Financial centre does not necessarily mean "banking". Insurance, Hedge Funds, specialist offshore tax structures, trust management, Leasing, etc are all specialist niche ares that we could decide upon.

I also keep telling you that money-laundering and bribery are things are supposedly obligatory to report even in established offshore locations like Switzerland.

All listed below translates to people's
                      money:
                      "Insurance, Hedge Funds, specialist offshore tax structures, trust management, Leasing".

Unnuh really think Euros and N.Americans are fools. Advice from the mad man; be very careful in what you guys are doing.

I will say it again: In the information age; info is worth more than gold.

Done talk.

All listed below translates to people's
                        money:
                        "Insurance, Hedge Funds, specialist offshore tax structures, trust management, Leasing".

Unnuh really think Euros and N.Americans are fools. Advice from the mad man; be very careful in what you guys are doing.

I will say it again: In the information age; info is worth more than gold.

Done talk.
                        Steeeuuupppss.

Yuh think they were gonna trust their money to a kleptocracy?

LoL

yeah man cause Solomon Bros.
                          ah come setup hedge fund and tax break accounts in JA.

yeah man cause Solomon Bros.
                            ah come setup hedge fund and tax break accounts in JA.
                            They may or may not, but it has NOTHING to do with Trafigura leak.

In any case, the hedge fund industry proliferated far outside the old trad. players.

You nuh see Jamaica has already become a registrar od Cargo ships???

Willi it seems as if you
                              refuse to see what the leak is about our banking sector. I think we should just leave banking and finance alone and concentrte on other niches. It' not gonna happen (banking and finance)