What do u guys think of this new Organic way of life ?

• What do u guys think of this new Organic way of life ?

This is such a booming business I can't even keep up, my wife buys a lot of Organic groceries from the food co-op in my neighbourhood and now she has me eating organic tomatos, organic chicken and all kinds of so called organic foods. I admit I like most of this organic cooking (cyan tell her nutten else ) but how the hell do I know what is really organic, I wasn't there when the farmer grow it, now I am seeing organic wine, organic beer I am even going to a grand opening of a new organic flower shop for a client of mine next month.

How do I know for sure if something is organic or not ?

If it grows in small farms in Jamaica...it is organic. loL

Seriously, organic chicken for young girls is a must, given the hormones they stuff in them in Farrin.

Jamaica lucky that we dont go to extremes like other places.

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
      This is such a booming business I can't even keep up, my wife buys a lot of Organic groceries from the food co-op in my neighbourhood and now she has me eating organic tomatos, organic chicken and all kinds of so called organic foods. I admit I like most of this organic cooking (cyan tell her nutten else ) but how the hell do I know what is really organic, I wasn't there when the farmer grow it, now I am seeing organic wine, organic beer I am even going to a grand opening of a new organic flower shop for a client of mine next month.

You don't!

Unless you buy locally and can inspect.

Scaly, I buy some of the stuff at Whole Foods (14th St.) most vegetables, simply because it taste good. But I don't know what is really organic

Well my pepper and callaloo was genuinely ORGANIC

If it costs twice as much, it's organic. Or it better be!

And that's the part I just dont get ? how can it cost so much more if you grow it naturally ? U don't have to buy chemicals so..........??
                And it can't be labour cost because a pure illegal dem use pon farm and pay dem slave wages.

So why it so much dearer ?

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                  Well my pepper and callaloo was genuinely ORGANIC
                  Was?
                  yuh change tings?
                  say it is not so?

And that's the part I just dont get ? how can it cost so much more if you grow it naturally ? U don't have to buy chemicals so..........??
                    And it can't be labour cost because a pure illegal dem use pon farm and pay dem slave wages.

So why it so much dearer ?
                    nuh yuh jus seh som-wey helse; supply and di-maane?

Chemicals give you greater yields, that's why the regular products are cheaper. With organic, yuh have to pick off the bugs with your hand, one by one. Bound to be more expensive!

nuh yuh jus seh som-wey helse; supply and di-maane?
                        HAHAHA Yes Karl but demand is high now. When I go to one of those natural healty organic places for lunch the line long so till but I don't see prices coming down.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                          Scaly, I buy some of the stuff at Whole Foods (14th St.) most vegetables, simply because it taste good. But I don't know what is really organic
                          You should try the food co-op in park slope they are much cheaper than Whole Foods.

HAHAHA Yes Karl but demand is high now. When I go to one of those natural healty organic places for lunch the line long so till but I don't see prices coming down.

I buy mostly organic foods. Traditional crops are sprayed with too much industrial chemicals which may have long term negative effects on the body. Also, farmers have been giving chickens & cows growth hormones to fatten dem up, and dem grow faster & bigger. Natural is the way to go!