I can learn from Mr. Bill Clarke, can

The futility of the inane

Presenting reasoned arguments to political sycophants is an exercise in futility.
    Your capacity for enduring inanity is very high. Fortunately or not, I never developed that particular skill.

More power to you Karl.

Question..

Does the Diaspora have Entrepenuers ?

HAHHAAA !! HAAA ! HAAAAH HAAAA!

WHOEEEEE !!

'Reasoned Arguments'

BWAHHHAAA HAA!!..

Stop please.. mi beg yuh.

Suck up dis argument:

Jamaica's growth relative to its neighbours and the World since 1972 is a subject of ridicule. In 1970 we were FIRST among developing Nations and 19th behind Spain.

So you and Karl have a dilema...

1. If we have such a vibrant entrepenuerial spirit... where are all the productive businesses to provide a substantial taxbase and foreign exchange income ?

2. List all the Venture Capital firms in Jamaica taking advantage of the 'entrepenuerial spirit'

The World is round.. not flat.

This argument is circular and
          weak. I have to agree with Karl that Manley initiated ahuge entrepenuerial
          drive among the populace during the 70s. Evidence of this is many BLACK business owners, now scattered across the island.

I completely disagree.

Manley unleashed a lot of dependency and big government advocacy (like collectivization). During that time of many changes, some people took the opportunity to unleash their own enterprise as black people became more confident.

To date, no Govt has really planned and implemented a workable broad scale, widely inclusive drive to unleash enterprise. Seaga and Daddy Manley came closest.

Just my opinion still.

Willi have you ever heard of workers savings and Loan
              bank? Boss is nuff people walk in say mi haff ah business, mi need ah start and get di money. whey dem deh? Here dem nyam di money. Willi nuh talk wha yuh nuh know. Bout confidence; Joshua gave them the capital to start business. This is why to date you have some blacks owning business. prior to 72 a black man could not dare walk in the bank and ask for a business loan. Granted the banks in Joshua's time should have had some strict rules with regards to repayment.

I have had an account at Workers Bank before you born!

Willi have you ever heard of workers savings and Loan
                  bank? Boss is nuff people walk in say mi haff ah business, mi need ah start and get di money. whey dem deh? Here dem nyam di money. Willi nuh talk wha yuh nuh know. Bout confidence; Joshua gave them the capital to start business. This is why to date you have some blacks owning business. prior to 72 a black man could not dare walk in the bank and ask for a business loan. Granted the banks in Joshua's time should have had some strict rules with regards to repayment.

Fostering real enterprise is morte than dishing out money J.

What was the failure rate? What was the fraud rate?

What was the Capital distribution Fund used for?

cyaan watch dat; given that we had
                      a population of 53% illiteracy. You would find failure; what messed us up was the poor advice given to Joshua on regional politics.

It is human nature Scaly, it cannot be stopped. One good thing that the previous govt did was make it clear that they won't be bailing out anybody from these non-regulated institutions, so hopefully the new govt will stand by that.

Even the most brilliant of us are sucked in sometimes, as you can see from this famous quote:

"I can calculate the motions of heavenly bodies, but not the madness of people" - Sir Isaac Newton

He was one of many investors who had lost their shirts in the South Sea Bubble