Who is right - Teddy McCook or the Observer?

• Who is right - Teddy McCook or the Observer?

Such nonsense, Mr McCook

Friday, November 02, 2007

Mr Neville 'Teddy' McCook is not your average Jamaican. Mr McCook has, over many years, distinguished himself as one of Jamaica's most successful sports administrators and is currently the chairman of the North America, Central America and Caribbean Athletic Association (NACAC), as well as a representative of the International Amateur Athletics Federation (IAAF).

So when Mr McCook, a former president of the Jamaica Amateur Athletics Association (JAAA), speaks we all tend to listen.

In yesterday's edition, Mr McCook was reported to have complained that the local media do not give pride of place to Jamaican athletes over their overseas counterparts, even when the Jamaican athletes finish behind the foreigners.

"I feel that a finalist from Jamaica is worth the prime position over any medallist," he is reported to have told guests attending a dinner on Monday in Trelawny in honour of Jamaican athletes from that parish.
    "I still believe, and I find it unacceptable, that we have a Jamaican getting a bronze medal, an American getting a gold medal, and the picture of the American is in the sports pages," Mr McCook said further.

Mr McCook also complained further that a newspaper carried a story on Vincentian track & field official Mr Keith Joseph who earlier this year challenged him for the post of president of NACAC.
    The temerity of the newspaper!

Going by Mr McCook's complaint, the local media should, as he claimed is done in the United States and Canada, not speak about the opponent.
    Frankly, we haven't heard such balderdash since the run-up to the September 3 general elections.

What Mr McCook is demanding of the Press is that we should abrogate our responsibility to the public and practise the sorry excuse for journalism that he said he listened to on a radio station from the former Czechoslovakia during the 1972 Olympic Games held in Munich, Germany.

"All I could hear was our boy came 10th, our boy came eighth, our boy came 16th. We never heard who won the gold medal, it was all about their boy," Mr McCook said of that broadcast.

If Mr McCook's description of what he heard was true, not only was that broadcast petty, but it flew in the face of one of the principles of sports, that of improving relationships between the world's peoples.

Fortunately, we must disappoint Mr McCook. For even as we do focus on our own athletes when they perform on the international stage, we cannot give incomplete reports of the events, as to do so would be a betrayal of the trust which the public places in the media to provide accurate information.

In fact, if Mr McCook had sought to be honest about the Jamaican media's coverage of sporting events, he would not have spoken such nonsense on Monday. For any examination of the local Press' reportage of major sporting events will show that a lot of ink and airtime are given to Jamaican athletes, even when they do not medal.

Maybe Mr McCook was overwhelmed by the occasion which, we acknowledge, was an excellent and moving gesture on the part of the organisers. Or maybe he simply didn't think carefully about what he wanted to say. Whatever it was, the comments were quite unbecoming of a man of his stature.
    Last edited by Karl; November 2, 2007, 09:12 AM.

This is one is easy - McCook, of course!

Teddy is not saying that we should not be given the full results of whatever event. But when I lived in other parts of the world, their newspapers would not be having huge pictures of "the other athlete" at the expense of their own. What I did find was that there would be more stories of the event, so even if a Tyson Gay grabbed the pictorial spotlight for winning the 200m, there would be 2 or 3 articles of Bolt's silver medal run to ensure we don't forget who we are.

But the Observer has a nerve talking about nonsense.

Teddy wrong.

We all complain about America's biased coverage, so why should we emulate it. Also, we do big up our athletes sufficiently.

Teddy got really wrong when he sought to use his own case as an illustration...when he was running against the St. Lucian for the Chair of the NACAC. Sorry, but we wont support Teddy just because he is Jamaican. Nutten nuh go suh! That job should go to the best qualified that promises to do the best work. In this case, Teddy was the best in my opinion, but not because he was Jakan! It was because of his outstanding record.

I think our coverage should be biased, but not to the point where we don't know and respect the medallists or the even the other competitors.

I think the network out of Barbados does a great job with their coverage. They are clearly biased towards Caribbean athletes, but they respect the other competitors and praise other victors. But there is no mistaking who they are keeping a close eye on.

That should never change!

As long as we don't get to the standard of the Americans where you may not get the name of the medallists but be told that the American, from Great Neck, New York, placed 16th.

Agreed!

In fact, that is indeed how our coverage is now.

Not exactly. There have been a few lapses, I think. I'll point it out when it happens again.

Maybe, but all in all its a decent balance.

Marion Jones got too much play, I agree.

Did Teddy really say 'nothing on the other country's athletes' as the article seems to imply?

...or, was Teddy calling for more on our own at the expense of some of the 'big-ups' of those not our own? ...was Teddy calling for an appreciation of our 'placed 10th in the World'...a most noteworthy performance? ...an elite performance when considered in the context of athletes who would give an arm and a leg to 'be there'? ...in the context of the size of our country? ...in the context of the numbers engaged in Track and Field worldwide?

I think so!
                I think Teddy is 100% right!

If I am right about 'one' saying more about self than the target and or the person or persons being spoken about...then the Observer has told us a lot about itself!

I bet he said no such thing. Remember, this is the Observer. Their credibility is shot.

Is S... write the article... see it here!

BY PAUL A REID Observer Writer
                    reidp@jamaicaobserver.com

COOPERS PEN, Trelawny — Neville “Teddy” McCook, one of the most powerful sports administrators in the region has lashed out against what he thinks is the local media’s slighting of Jamaicans in favour of foreigners, giving them pride of place, especially in the print media.
                    McCook, chairman of the North America, Central American and Caribbean Athletics Associations (NACAC) and representative for the International Amateur Athletics Federation (IAAF) said, “I feel that a finalist from Jamaica is worth prime position over any medallist (from any other country).”
                    The former Jamaica Amateur Athletics Association (JAAA) president, who was speaking at Monday’s Gala Recognition Dinner at Starfish Hotel in Trelawny held to honour several athletes who originated from the parish, also said, “I can’t help but feel that the tragic and sudden demise of coach David Hunt this past week was triggered by his internalising of the battering he took when Jamaica failed to advance” in the CONCACAF Under-17 finalround tournament held here.
                    “I mention this because not all of us are thick skinned and can take this battering. I still believe and I find it unacceptable that we have a Jamaican getting a bronze medal, an American getting a gold medal and the picture of the American is in the sports pages,” he went on to say.
                    He told the audience he recalled listening to a radio broadcast of the 1972 Olympic Games held in Munich and got a station from the former Czechoslovakia.
                    “All I could hear was our boy came 10th, our boy came eighth, our boy come 16th. We never heard who won the gold medal, it was all about their boy.”
                    The Observer did not escape McCook’s criticism for a recent story on Vincentian track & field official, Keith Joseph, who challenged him for the post of president of the NACAC earlier this year.
                    He said he was in Brazil (at the Pan-American Games) when his wife called, “to tell me there as a full picture of my opponent in the paper. I have never gotten that.”
                    McCook said newspapers in other countries “like the United States and Canada, they don’t speak about the opponent, they don’t embrace the opponent and I am not saying we don’t say anything about them, but I must insist that a finalist from my country is worth more space than a medallist from another country.”

McCOOK... Jamaican finalist worth prime position over medallist from another country

Aah, Mosiah, please ah begging you, dont judge this article by the Observer's election coverage standard, I wrote that article and I still have the tapes of McCook's speech.

I'm not. I still don't see where Teddy is saying that we should follow the American networks in the way they provide coverage. If you could point it out for me, then I will acquiesce.

The problem with our reporting is too few articles on a particular event. If we had more writers, then hopefully, our athletes/sportmen would get the emphasis they deserve.

Again, we don't have to go the American way of writing 6 articles on the Buffalo Bills' loss last weekend!

I dont know if I agree with you...take Bolt's silver medal in the 200m at the IAAF WC in August for example...we had at least three articles from Osaka, from the Observer writer and foreign press and I know I also did a story from interviewing his parents, former coaches and relatives here.

One thing is that we have fewer pages here than the average US paper, suppose each news paper here was to give three full pages to the Premier league each Sunday and Monday, we would see a lot more stories and photos and 'side bar' stories, but when our major events have to fight for space with other stories..then this is what you get.

Last year when I was going to the Penn Relays I submitted a proposal to sell enough ads to support a full page of stories and photos each day from Thursday to Sunday but the marketing department did not bother, so I had to vye for space with other stories.

Starting soon I am going to start talking to prospective sponsors to try and get the full page so I know I can send them three or four stories and six pictures each day.

Okay. Mek wi gwaan watch di ride den nuh. If I see some examples I will point them out.

McCOOK... Jamaican finalist worth prime position over medallist from another country
                              Even this seems to suggest Teddy is requesting prominence for our athletes...

...but, that prominence given to our athletes does not necessarily mean athletes outside of the country should not be given some mention? ...does it?

Just asking?!