• Petulance as public policy

published: Thursday | November 1, 2007

Some days ago, two events of note occurred. Minister of Transport Mike Henry declined to attend the reception marking the inaugural flight of Virgin Atlantic to Jamaica. Also, Minister of Trade and Industry Karl Samuda announced a suspension of the trade in scrap metal until further notice. These sudden assertions of ministerial decisiveness come amid a growing climate of concern for governmental drift, which we noted in a recent editorial.

But petulant actions of this nature do not dispel the impression of lack of a firm grasp of the reins of government. In fact, they have quite the opposite effect - they give a feeling of a government which lurches from a strange passivity on fundamental issues, such as crime control, to ill-thought-out bluster on secondary issues.

We hold no brief for Sir Richard Branson and Virgin, but the fact is that, as he pointed out, he is in possession of a valid contract with Air Jamaica and the Government of Jamaica. If Mr. Henry objects to the contract, it is th of churlishness to express his objections in this crude manner. It gives the impression of a government which cannot keep its cool and does not know how to proceed on matters of difference in a calm, dispassionate and rational manner. Hot-headedness on the political hustings may win kudos for Mr. Henry but is totally inappropriate in a government minister. It is as if he and the Government, as a whole, have not woken up to the reality that they are no longer the Opposition.

Mr. Samuda's case is different in the specifics but raises the same general issue of impulsiveness. It is true that the scrap metal rampage has got completely out of hand, with reports of persons dismantling the rails of bridges in broad daylight. But that is hardly a reason to lock down the scrap metal trad in one fell swoop. As persons in the business have pointed out, they have legally binding contracts to fulfil with overseas buyers.

This seeming 'act of God' by Mr. Samuda threatens such contracts and is likely to result in real hardships to business persons and their employees. In a situation in which there are already serious increases in the cost of living, this is a thoughtless step indeed. It suggests a picture of a minister who acts first and thinks later, without any serious consultation with the parties likely to be affected by his ill-considered actions.

Shooting from the hip is never good public policy. It is still early days yet in the life of the new government and a certain rustiness in the arts of governance is apparent. The country's level of tolerance for long learning curves is limited. Mr. Golding needs to have a heart-to-heart talk with his ministers and to inject more sobriety into their policy-making actions.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...cleisure1.html

The matter of not understanding and recognizing the inter-connectiveness of action(s) on the economy and thus the society again rears it head.

It appears to me that many within the JLP - MPs and followers - have not come to the realisation that 'pushing' in any one area creates a bulge(s) in other area(s).

Naive? Deficient in 'commonsense'? Simpletons?

On point!

Still have my doubts about the scrap metal lockdown. I cannot blame Samuda much for this one. The people involved knew that a lot of "irregularities" existed in their industry and stood idly by or turned a blind eye. What were their plans to stop the theft and public destruction that was occurring right before their very eyes? No one likes when govt. regulates stuff when the industry itself could do it, but in this case, they seemed to have been blinded by the money and not a one of them cared if their very cars was sold as scrap metal.

But to get back to the childish behaviour of Minister Henry - I guess after 18 years of practising to be in opposition, it's going to take a while to act like the govt. Hell, even some in the PNP didn't learn after 18 years!

I can imagine if Portia had done this. What colour drawz would the cartoonist have her wearing today?

I was really dissappointed at Mike Henry's reaction to the arrival of Virgin, maybe he doe snot realise he is the face of the government as far as this issue is concerned and he cannot go on behaving like he is in some Banana Republic and still wearing grass skirts.

But when I mentioned long time ago that there is a serious paucity of leaders in the JLP ranks people like Assassin either dont understand where I am coming from or refuse to accept it. Maybe it is both.

I was really dissappointed at Mike Henry's reaction to the arrival of Virgin, maybe he doe snot realise he is the face of the government as far as this issue is concerned and he cannot go on behaving like he is in some Banana Republic and still wearing grass skirts.

But when I mentioned long time ago that there is a serious paucity of leaders in the JLP ranks people like Assassin either dont understand where I am coming from or refuse to accept it. Maybe it is both.
          Mike Henry has been one of the few ministers to hit the ground running but because yuh disagree with what he did all of a sudden "there is a serious paucity of leaders in the JLP ranks" ... People fully well understand where you coming from Sickko, there is no question about that.

I have had this stance about lack of quality leaders in the JLP long before the elections, even when Sister P was at the heights of her popularity and could have won the elections easily...you can go on trying to attack and belittle my allegiances till dem sun yuh, whatever Mike Henry achieved, he lost all or most of it with his childish, churlish act.

It is interesting that despite Henry being the Minister, it was the PM who met with the Virgin boss in his absence....think about that part.

Lazie, why try to taint the man's argument? Just deal with what he just said and leave the "we know where you are coming from" garbage alone. Yuh nuh tiyad a dat now?

I guess you are going to have to prove that there are other ministers that can't make the grade. So, Mike Henry is one. Who else?

For me, Pearnel Charles is too combative in his position as minister, nuff bark, little bite. Holness not really doing anything to impress. Derrick Smith - is who dat? Babsy - I just can't look past the bank loan.

There are a few who have done well so far, the most impressive being the PM. But if he doesn't do something about those responsible for crime, then he will begin to look rather inept. The buck stops at his desk.

So what is new with that Mosiah, that has been his MO for a long time now attack people or try to big up himself talking bout keeping things real and forgetting 'reality' is sunjective...but read him post again, I find it interesting him say Henry is one of the few ministers who hit the ground running, what has the others been doing? Standing still.

Maybe him rate people like Pernell who thinks that making a lot of noise and being in the news is akin to actually working.

I note how quietly they have extended the period for those with work permits to come in and regularise themsleves after the big noise about 10 days.

Like I posted months ago...even labourites, more committed and serious than Assassin and Lazie agreed that except for a few people, the JLP ranks were low on leaders.

We picked Clive Mullings, Chuck, McKenzie, even Holness. but very few else

I guess after the 100 days done we will be told the situation was so bad they will need another 300 days to start making moves..

I have had this stance about lack of quality leaders in the JLP long before the elections, even when Sister P was at the heights of her popularity and could have won the elections easily...you can go on trying to attack and belittle my allegiances till dem sun yuh, whatever Mike Henry achieved, he lost all or most of it with his childish, churlish act.

It is interesting that despite Henry being the Minister, it was the PM who met with the Virgin boss in his absence....think about that part.
                      Wait, did you attack Sass in your post? Why unuh suh petty? As unuh get questioned unuh see it as an attack. Am I the only one here with a broad back?

Yes, you did question if the quality of leadership in the JLP .... well ... based on their 6 weeks in office, they're head and shoulders above those that we had for the last 18 years.

Yes, Henry's stance may be wrong, but its comical to use that to question the quality of leadership in the JLP. People question the integrity of the Jamaica Observer, should we be questioning your integrity too?

Lazie, why try to taint the man's argument? Just deal with what he just said and leave the "we know where you are coming from" garbage alone. Yuh nuh tiyad a dat now?
                        Actually ... no!!! Why is it fair game fi unuh dweet, but bitch when its put tuh unuh?

Well, Lazie, I am tired of it all. That's what I have been trying to get to yuh from last week. Can we raise the level, just a little and engage in some meaningful discussions, instead of the two-line responses, where one of the lines is an insult?

Yuh don't have to, of course, just making an idle appeal.

I am not in leadership in the Observer and I dont form policies, hell I am not even on staff at the Observer, so if and when they think it is time for me to go, they dont even have to give me any notice or pay in lieu.

Bad analogy...

Well, Lazie, I am tired of it all. That's what I have been trying to get to yuh from last week. Can we raise the level, just a little and engage in some meaningful discussions, instead of the two-line responses, where one of the lines is an insult?

Yuh don't have to, of course, just making an idle appeal.

Okay ... raise the level nuh!!

Everybody asking bout raising level, but as soon as dem cornered what unuh duh? Same way wha day yuh come after me bout the police cars, did you talk tuh yuhself bout raising the level? Some of unuh just want to have unuh own way?