Opposition calls for better working conditions for police

• Opposition calls for better working conditions for police

Less than two months after its defeat at the polls, the Opposition is calling on the Government to speed up efforts to improve working conditions for members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force.

The call has come from the opposition's spokesman on National Security, Dr. Peter Phillips.

He made the statement following Sunday's shooting incident in Toll Gate, Clarendon which led to the death of Constable Fidel Beckford.

The former National Security Minister also expressed concern about the level of violence directed at the police force.

Dr. Phillips is urging anyone with information regarding the slaying of members of the force to bring it to the attention of the police

.... this has to be a friggin joke!

I wonder if Phillips said this with a straight face. Hilarious.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
        I wonder if Phillips said this with a straight face. Hilarious.
        Funny thing is - When he was Minister responsible for the police he acknowledged that working conditions inclusive of pay needed to be improved. He also from time to time implored the citizens to provide aid to the police.

Appears to me he is toeing the same line he did while Minister.

Perhaps, the outrage expressed here has to do with timing?
        Last edited by Karl; October 30, 2007, 11:22 AM.

Actually Phillips probably believes he can get more done now with a serious Govt in Charge.

He certainly was ignored in the last Admin.

Seems to me that Phillips is being consistent, but on the surface it does come over as a rahtid joke. I guess, like Portia and the fire truck issue, Phillips was not able to get the money he would have liked when he was in office, so he is hoping that this Finance Minister (and PM?) would be more generous in helping out the police.

It's not often I like when we agree.

To quick to laff, Lazie. I guess you cannot remember the number of times he pleaded for more to be done.

How long was he in charge of the police? How long was his gov't in power? Suh what dem couldn't achieve in almost 2 decades (based on question number 2), him expect to be done overnight on a budget that was inherited? Him need to stop. If te call was coming from someone else I wouldn't see the need to laugh.

Phillips a plead, Smith a plead and Mosiah and Assasin a Bawl out, a when something a go done where them have police car a all a di station them and the police station them nah leak?

Well, since this new gov't took over dem ordered some police cyar. The Supreme Court say the gov't should seize U$800,000 from 2 Colombians, that money should be used to provide equipment for the police.

He's a hypocrite at best!

Lazie, the last govt. ordered an untold number of cars for the police. Try something else.

Who cares what the previous gov't did? Sass made a post that the gov't need to give the police cars. This gov't realized that the JCF is short 300 vehicles. Gwaan fuss bout what the previous gov't did.

Silly of me to think that the truce would result in some sensible post from you.

Lazie, you said, "Well, since this new gov't took over dem ordered some police cyar."

To me, you are saying that at least this govt. could order some cars for them. Unless you are being sarcastic, because if all they coud do is order cars...

I am saying that ordering cars is the least. Yes, they need cars, but we need much more than cars to combat this crime problem. Maybe with the cars, we could order a maintenance program for them.

Fast getting to the day when I shall just ignore some people post on this site. Too much hype, little substance.

sigh