But wait Don,

Nuh you seh that certain TransP. modes not profitable for private interests? Nuh you argue that rail not attracting private investment, so why not apply the same standard here??/ Either Govt do it or it dont get done.

No airport, no commitment for mega-investment in Portland.

Recall that Hotels have looooong payback times (in fact, I do similar financial evaluations professionally for my company), so who can blame investors for wanting certain incentives and assurances??? Afterall, Portland is in the tourism development phase, despite being the grandaddy of Jakan tourism.
    Let me clarify.... I said give private capital the opportunity to invest in the facility with attractive incentives. The only way to find out if it's a a good candidate for privatisation is to put it to tender.
    If there is no interest then spend Govt. funds if required.

We claim to operate a private sector lead model but rush to spend scarce tax dollars or borrowed funds. Give the private sector the opportunity to lead.
    Sangster was successfully privatised wasn't it? Who knows that group might be a good fit for this facility.

Right now nothing not coming at all. Why can't we have both? Negril never started off as a high clientelle but see what happen. Mobay have some good high end visitior but some local as well.

We need some cheap weekend packages to get Portland off the groud if you ask me.
      Jamaica has largely missed the boat at the high end of the market where there is more profitability/value added. Negril is definitely not high end.

Jamaica has a total of 5 or 6 hotel properties classified as high end.... not good enough. Barbados, Anguilla, Cayman and a few others are running away with this market.

Portland should mainly be zoned for high end, low impact, enviro friendly resorts so we can exploit this niche.

Mek mi duh a search pon dis Don1 user because based on his 'philosophy' and based on the total nonsense which has been occuring for the past 18 years.. wi supposed to have nuff post bout 'private sector lead model' and Govt rush to spend scarce tax dollars...

Server supposed to be under stress from wha day....

It maybe but how do you reach them? It is not like you advertise inna regular media and newspaper plus what about the infrastructure that is not in place?