Good news for Portland....but

• Good news for Portland....but

Great that Portland is increasingly getting attention. It could really be turned into a jewel. Clearly this parish is going places ALA Trelawny perhaps. Just hope any development there is enviro friendly.

Interesting that the Govt's first move in tourism is to spend public funds to expand Ken Jones airport. This is what Butch Stewart a couple months ago lambasted the previous administration for failing to do. Their preference was to privatize the asset and have private funds not taxpayers do the job. With a few strokes of a pen... Butch has his wish. hmmmmm

Do we want true private sector lead development or do we support these avoidable public subsidies for private interests?

I would put the airport on the block for private interests to develop and spend the savings & sale proceeds on education. Infrastructure is important but where there is scope for the private sector to invest ... let them. GOJ needs to concentrate on investing in people as much as possible.

Government of Jamaica to expand Portland's Ken Jones Aerodrome
    published: Tuesday | October 30, 2007

The Government is to expand the Ken Jones Aerodrome in Portland as part of its plans to develop the parish as a tourist resort area, according to Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett.

Speaking with The Gleaner yesterday following an address to the new members of the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB), Mr. Bartlett said Portland is one of the new frontiers on which much effort is going to be placed.

"The infrastructure for the town of Port Antonio will have to be upgraded and various capabilities be provided by the expansion of the aerodrome," he told The Gleaner.

Mr. Bartlett said planning for the expansion of the aerodrome would begin soon.

"That's the thinking. We have to work through now getting the details, the designs and the costing," he told The Gleaner.

In June, the Airports Authority of Jamaica (AAJ) said it would not give in to pressure from business interests to upgrade the island's domestic airports because the capital expenditure could not be justified by the small incomes they generate.

The AAJ said it would cost US$12.9 million to lengthen the runway by 500 feet and install the necessary instrumentation to allow for night flying.

Meanwhile, addressing members of the board, at the JTB's Knutsford Boulevard offices, Mr. Bartlett said he was "very excited about the prospect of a very invigorating Tourist Board under the very distinguished leadership of John Lynch".

Strong board

"John has an excellent board and I don't think that I can, for any moment, discount the power around this table, the strength around this table, the influence of each member around this table and the ability of each member to carry this position effectively and well," he said.

"There is never and has never been any doubt in my mind that this will be a board managed by its own mandate, directed by a vision, enunciated by the minister and to be implemented by the administrative arm of the JTB," Mr. Bartlett said.

The appointment of Mr. Lynch as board chairman has created controversy among members of the PNP, who say it was a conflict of interest, given that Mr. Lynch is the senior vice-president of the Gordon 'Butch' Stewart-led Sandals Group.

In his remarks, Mr. Lynch vowed to carry out the duties of the JTB as best a possible.

"You have certainly given us a challenge and we promise you we won't let you down,' Mr. Lynch told the Tourism Minister.

"It is a challenge (and) we have some difficulties facing it but I am sure they are not insurmountable,' he added.

This has been on the table for 20 odds years so it is nothing new.
    The JLP under MP Abrahams the then minister of tourism promised to do it, the PNP also promised a lot for Portland so if the reason for it is Butch and Lee Chin then so be it.

I said if Eastern End of the Island can grow then the GDP growth will reach the six percent them promise.

should be 30 years

The JLP under MP Abrahams the then minister of tourism promised to do it, the PNP also promised a lot for Portland so if the reason for it is Butch and Lee Chin then so be it.

I said if Eastern End of the Island can grow then the GDP growth will reach the six percent them promise.
        You may have missed my point... Public funds vs Private for our development.

If we want true private sector lead development in the country and also to maximize Govt funds for investment in people.....let private capital take the risk.

Yeah but sometimes the government have to lead. He hasn't put any funding there as yet.

What if Butch and Lee Chin promise to build hotels and employee even 2000 people in the parish to go with the airports? isn't that worth it were all benefit? The government get a growing economy and taxes, Butch and Lee Chin get what they wanted and the people of Portland get a airport and jobs, plus a chance to provide other services to the visitors.

Sometimes we all win.

If you see how Tourism is dying in Portland you will understand.

You may have missed my point... Public funds vs Private for our development.

If we want true private sector lead development in the country and also to maximize Govt funds for investment in people.....let private capital take the risk.
            What would any government do if the private sector does not lead on investment?

...and, would the Ken Jones airport...all our airports for that matter...be considered a part of infrastructure development? ...and, therefore be considered a part of the basics that a government should provide?

...should the government also provide development of and then turn over for exploitation our natural physical resources? Caves? Waterfalls? Coves and beaches? Blue Hole or Blue Lagoon?

Is there an argument for the private sector to build roads, put in power transmission lines, sewage sytems, schools, fire stations, health services, local development's police forces, etc., etc? ...is our private sector 'dead'...living only on handouts?
            Last edited by Karl; October 30, 2007, 02:07 PM.

I have made the argument for that airport to be develolped for the longest time.

The travel from mobay is too far and the route to kingston is impossible for tourists.

We need to use the Domincan Republic model to rebuild portland.

Assasin, you been up Titchfield side recently? I hear it look really bad. I have family from Port Antonio (actually lived in Boundbrook for a few years as a child) so I remember what up there used to look like back in the day.

Yeah but sometimes the government have to lead. He hasn't put any funding there as yet.

What if Butch and Lee Chin promise to build hotels and employee even 2000 people in the parish to go with the airports? isn't that worth it were all benefit? The government get a growing economy and taxes, Butch and Lee Chin get what they wanted and the people of Portland get a airport and jobs, plus a chance to provide other services to the visitors.

Sometimes we all win.

If you see how Tourism is dying in Portland you will understand.
                  All the above is great.

I'm just saying give the private sector a chance to lead ..... that's what the JLP claims they support.
                  ut the airport out to tender at attractive terms and see if there are any takers. Relieve the budget of this expenditure if possible.... it might not work but at least try.

As a Portlander I can tell you that Ken Jones airstrip used to be well utilized and patronized - not only by tourists, but by local people doing business in Kingston and Montego Bay.

I can't wait to see this service in full effect again, because it will help the Parish tremendously. If the money even come out of govt. coffers, it will be returned tenfold as business begin to prosper again.

What would any government do if the private sector does not lead on investment?

...and, would the Ken Jones airport...all our airports for that matter...be considered a part of infrastructure development? ...and, therefore be considered a part of the basics that a government should provide?

...should the government also provide development of and then turn over for exploitation our natural physical resources? Caves? Waterfalls? Coves and beaches? Blue Hole or Blue Lagoon?

Is there an argument for the private sector to build roads, put in power transmission lines, sewage sytems, schools, fire stations, helth services, local development's police forces, etc., etc? ...is our private sector 'dead'...living only on handouts?
                      Our private sector behaves EXACTLY like those people we see demonstrating all the time demanding that GOVAMENT come into their communities and provide them with jobs. They are just more polished and effective than the demonstrators.

The private sector is very backward and selfish by and large. They abhor risk... want the sure thing all the time. They are not thrifty. Like to live ostentatiously rather than save and reinvest. Not all of course but that's the dominant modus operandi.

We need to wean the private sector off this notion of constant taxpayer support. Let government concentrate on investing in people.

...and the disenfranchised, unemployed youth won't have to head to Kingston and tek up the gun! I'm all for it, a hope them start tomorrow.

This is a case where everybody will win, govt. spend the money, Butch and Lee Chin hotel full, people employed, Parish Council get revenue. Even the underused Marina will do better business.

Let's go PORTIE!!

I have made the argument for that airport to be develolped for the longest time.

The travel from mobay is too far and the route to kingston is impossible for tourists.

We need to use the Domincan Republic model to rebuild portland.
                          What's the DR model? From what I know they specialize in cheap, mass-based tourism.

We need the opposite of that for Portland.

Assasin, you been up Titchfield side recently? I hear it look really bad. I have family from Port Antonio (actually lived in Boundbrook for a few years as a child) so I remember what up there used to look like back in the day.
                            Islandman, it nuh ongle look bad, it terrible. As a pickney growing up you couldn't even walk up Titchfield hill and mek noise

What's the DR model? From what I know they specialize in cheap, mass-based tourism.

We need the opposite of that for Portland.
                              Don1 - do you know Portland?

Do you know of the clientele at these hotels -

Trident Villas
                              Goblin Hill
                              Frenchman's Cove
                              Dragon Bay Hotel

(dem here is not cheap, mass-based tourism).