• Minister tells new JTB board to go for double-digit growth

Minister tells new JTB board to go for double-digit growth

Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Tourism Minister Ed Bartlett (right) in discussion with chairman of the Jamaica Tourist Board, John Lynch, at a press conference yesterday to introduce new members of the tourist board. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

THE newly appointed board of the Jamaica Tourist Board held its first meeting yesterday, with marketing of the destination as well as identifying new airlift for Jamaica high on the agenda.

Tourism Minister Ed Bartlett, who officially introduced the board members at the JTB's office in New Kingston, requested that they focus on double-digit growth for the industry.

Basil Smith, board member and director of tourism, told the Observer that the first meeting, while short, was very productive.
    "We have to respond to the challenge that the minister put forward as we will be focusing our efforts on the marketing thrusts," Smith said shortly after the meeting.

Earlier, Bartlett told the board to grow the industry like it has never grown before.
    "This board will have their hands full, but our mandate is double-digit growth and I am going to depend on you to drive that growth," Bartlett said.

He said it was only when the sector moved into double-digit growth that the critical mass required to drive the industry to become the centrepiece of the economy would be created.

The minister said he was, however, confident that the new board would hit the ground running as each member was an accomplished practitioner in the field.

Bartlett also defended his selection of John Lynch as chairman, as well as the rest of board members, saying a lot of time was spent consulting with the sector, so the best mix could emerge.
    "I have thought long and hard before asking each member on this board to offer their service," the minister said. "Today I say to the sector, this is the best mix."

Lynch, Bartlett said, was a renowned 'internationally acclaimed marketing powerhouse', which he said would help greatly in the three pillars on which his tenure will be predicated - marketing, investment and development.
    "Therefore, I need a strong marketing team to drive that objective and John Lynch is a marketer," Bartlett said.

Lynch said that while there were challenges, they were not insurmountable.
    "We promise you (minister) that we won't let you down... I have a board where I couldn't be more happier because it is such a mix of expertise and doers that it is just amazing, and I am going to be very happy to lead them," Lynch said.

Lynch will be supported by deputy chairman Earl Jarrett, general manager of Jamaica National Building Society; Basil Smith; Godfrey Dyer, tourism consultant and former president of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA); Carolyn Hayle, head of hospitality and tourism at the University of the West Indies; Paul Pennicook, senior vice-president of sales and marketing at Air Jamaica; Wayne Cummings, president of JHTA; Josef Forstmayr, hotelier; Lionel Reid, hotelier; Zein Issa-Nakash, hotelier; Ralph Smith; hotelier; and Bert Wright businessman.
    Last edited by Karl; October 30, 2007, 10:37 AM.

I cyaan understand the hypocrites on this forum. Last week there was a big fuss about the complexion of those being appointed to various boards.

No wonder unuh flip the script when Lynch was appointed. Unuh couldn't use the color factor suh unuh come wid some other bull5hit. I'm convinced, alot of unuh cannot afford to see this gov't make any strides as it would prove that unuh religious entity, the PNP was just a waste of time.

Bruce need fi tell unuh fi guh "JUMP INNA THE SEA!!"

the fact is the board seems very diverse and people just choice to jump out at any little thing they can.

... now yuh see why me call dem the Poppyshow Brigade?

Apparently, the Minister of National Security wouldn't mind a double-digit increase in the crime rate either.

We get a board that looks like most of us and we are supposed to celebrate?!!? I guess we should, given what we expect.

I am willing to bet that the Seaforth Primary School will have some black members too!

true, true.
              How him so quiet?

"When the color of a man skin is of no more significance dan di color of his eyes...."

Careful yuh not perpetuating tings....

Smith and Shaw are the two ministers of the new govt that are not inspiring any confidence. Unfortunately they represent probably the 2 most critical areas of concern.

Most of the rest seem to be saying the right things so far. We will have to give them some time to see if that translates into real action

Yuh nuh.

Debt to GDP, inflation and crime should be DOWN ahready.

Is wha dem 2 Minister ah duh ?

"When the color of a man skin is of no more significance dan di color of his eyes...."

Careful yuh not perpetuating tings....

Yuh stay deh.. di Way Air Jamaica going.. might not have '5 Flight a day' dis go-round.

Is boat yuh gwine pack up di non-blacks on ?

Is not what they are doing, its what they are saying (or not saying) that is not inspiring confidence.

The doing or not doing will be judged later.

They should higher some of the mouthpieces from the last administration.

Dem can chat !

I wonder if there is a Michael Manley school of chatting in the Cult academy.. dem good !

Is not what they are doing, its what they are saying (or not saying) that is not inspiring confidence.

The doing or not doing will be judged later.
                              To an extent I will agree with you. However, I recall one morning Financial Analysts like Ralston Hyman was knocking the gov't for not going to the market to raise funds for next year's budget, then on the midday news it was announced that the money was raised. All now him nuh apologize, him flip it and say dem tek too long, only to find out from another Financial Analyst and the former Finance Minister that (in my words) it wasn't a big deal.

Suh, be careful Islandman, some people have them petty hangups regarding Shaw and will say anything.

As for Smith, I've said time and again he should have hit the ground running. Now we see that the JDF and JCF have lost their chief commanders, is it possible they're want to have these people in place first? Who knows?