Tilla this one is just

really? Give me a prediction
    as to when China and India will take over. I know you were on the Japan bandwagon and guess what? You have to go find two more. I can safely tell you that you are wrong!

Very good point Jawge, I have made it on this forum before too. In the early 90s the way people were talking we should have all been speaking Japanese by now and guess what, their economy went into a deflationary spiral that they are yet to recover from.

There is no law that says the US must be a superpower from now until eternity but they could easily have another hundred years or more.

Respect sah, your
        politics might be different from mine but your reasoning is sound here.

Non-Americans studying at American universities. Nothing that some green cards and stock options won't solve. Heh heh.

Seriously though, the real deciders are the mega-cap companies like GE who can twist any governments arm including the US govt. If the US govt keep listening to Lou Dobbs and his kind the the US economy will suffer in the long run because these companies will move more and more R&D and design work elsewhere and eventually that will eliminate the advantage that the US has. We are a way from there though.

Truss mi them thinking
            three moves ahead on the chess board: Watch the education bill for the caribbean. At the same time working the stock option and green card end. They don't play to lose; too much is at stake.

I don't have the same level of confidence in thier strategic planning as you and Maudib have. I used to once but I don't anymore since a little event happened on Sept 11 that they didn't have a clue about. Keep that in mind, they are not all-knowing.

True but things like 911 sometimes do
                pop up. You notice that security has been much tighter since though? Nice try boss

Stop making assumptions!

Its not about intelligence. Its about systems. The US political system is broken and the nation is no longer cohesive.

You need to look at the data and read the really insightful people.

How do you think i have been able to spot long term trends and make some accurate predictions. It is in the data for thos who know how to interpret them. You also need a good model for understanding the forces at work. Believe what you will, I am not interested in convincing anyone.
                  Jawge I am with Willi on this. I suppose it is a bit difficult for the US (the people's mindset) to understand that merely running down "immediate (You decide how immediate is immediate) bottomline results" can lead to engaging in activities which may not be in the "society's" (the USA's) long term interest.

I am thinking the US is engaged in "selling out" itself....being an agent of its own destruction.

Are there signs that the US is exporting all its resources, including Human Capital - as in knowledge and ability to produce, etc?

really? Give me a prediction
                    as to when China and India will take over. I know you were on the Japan bandwagon and guess what? You have to go find two more. I can safely tell you that you are wrong!
                    Just how do you know that??

Again with the assumptions!

Very good point Jawge, I have made it on this forum before too. In the early 90s the way people were talking we should have all been speaking Japanese by now and guess what, their economy went into a deflationary spiral that they are yet to recover from.

There is no law that says the US must be a superpower from now until eternity but they could easily have another hundred years or more.
                      Would it suprise U to know I was NOT one of those?

Reagan's undersecretary of Commerce nuh warn unno enuff already?

Go to Vdare.com and study up Paul Craig Roberts.

True. This is just way over my head.

sigh

Lol.

Dem have you fooled really well.

Jawge is so...so...so...simple, sometimes. That's what I like about cave-dwellers.

Simple, simplistic.....