• Ben take this piece apart

with some intelligent counter arguments. If you don't the right tools to do
    so then leave it alone. Bricky, you can give it a shot too.

Race and Intelligence
    BY Patrick Blake
    Sunday, October 28, 2007

James Watson's recent statements seeking to link race and intelligence only show that he is one of those scientific fossils who seems to know very little about either race or intelligence.
    A person born when he received his Nobel award would be a ripe middleager by now, and if this is the best idea on cognition he can come up with, after spending many decades in a scientific field which, though not making him qualified to issue definitive statements on 'race' or cognitive capacity, should at least enable him to be an informed reader of the latest results, then one cannot dismiss the questions which have always been asked about the ways in which he acquired the information which won himself (and Francis Crick) the prize for DNA discovery.
    I should not be surprised if he believes himself to be a member of the white race, yet leading scientists working on the cutting edge of genetic science are now even saying that there is no biological basis for the concept of race.
    Sylvia Spengler, genetic scientist of the University of California, Berkeley, and a member of the human genome project, in an interview on KRON TV said that "Trying to mix genetics and race is, to my mind, inappropriate; [it] cannot be done. race is something we do to each other; it has nothing to do with what our DNA does to us".
    But what about skin colour, nose shapes and hair texture, are not these encoded in our genes? They are indeed, but these physical characteristics are only a small part of the environmentally adaptive genetic make-up of humans, who are one species.
    In the case of skin colour, for example, melanin, which protects us from UV radiation, comes in shades of brown, yellow, red, and black. The mix of melanin in the variegated skin tones we present to the world is controlled by genes, but it is a very small part of genetic heritage.
    Whereas the human cell has about 100,000 genes, only six out of the 100,000 control skin colour. And everyone has the same six, including the genes for black skin; this is so because all humans are descended from Africans.
    According to Dr Spengler, two tall basketball players, one white, the other black, have more genes expressed in common than a short white and a tall white basketballer.
    During the 1997 space probe sent over Mars, there were over 200 million Internet hits to follow its progress; under certain conditions the human brain can make 15 times that amount of connections in one second, ie over 3 billion connections in a second. No one uses but a fraction of that capacity.
    With such potential, it is obviously infantile and idle for anyone to be talking about pencil and paper intelligence tests, or a lack of basic human intelligence as a reason for poverty and an obvious low quality of life in the African bush. The reasons may well lie in the same autocratic, tribal systems of group behaviour which were adaptive when Africans were the only humans on the planet and were trying to survive as viable small groups in bushlands rife with threats from tooth, fang, claw, poison, and rival human groups.
    Furthermore, maybe Watson was dozing off a little when Gardner from Harvard identified seven clusters of abilities which make up a holistic picture: logical mathematical; musical; spatial/visual; kinesthetic; interpersonal and intrapersonal, and there may be many more.
    Schooling systems are virtual 'gymnasia' for the development of cognitive abilities, and so it is expected that building on the science of the past eras, men like Watson will achieve something in science and technological pursuits in the circumstances; but they should not then seek to shoot wildly from the lip by appearing to invoke science where their statements are based on casual observation in ways which can induce self-fulfilling prophecies.
    African civilisation is the oldest and laid the basis for civilisation of all other nations. Gold mines in southern Africa have been dated as old as 100,000 years before present. Evidence of ancient Science and Technology in Africa have baffled modern scientists who have absolutely no answer.
    Gliders, and aerodynamically valid
    models of jet aircraft found in tombs of Egyptian dignitaries are at this moment
    being displayed in the Egyptian Museum
    of antiquities.
    Experts say that there is a detailed cross section of a interstellar rocketship on the tomb of Viceroy Huy, governor of Nubia and Sinai during the reign of Pharaoh Tut-Ankh-Amun. A "spike" shown in the design is similar to one that NASA had been trying out to reduce overheating without success, but apparently it worked in the African model.
    The origins of these anomalies have been shrouded in mystery for decades, but it is not surprising that a continent which could produce the pyramid complex and the first catholic religious system with worldwide lodges, complex philosophical systems pre-dating the Athenians, advanced building technology, and which was regarded as the early home of the Gods by many in the ancient world, could also have these wonders of technology which, it seems, the Western world has hot yet achieved to the same extent.
    Africans had presence in the Americas and introduced many 'firsts' in our part of the world before Abram was called out of Ur of the Chaldees and centuries before Moses led the Exodus. Stone heads of the Olmecs (Africans from the region now called Nigeria) weighing up to 25 tons have been found in meso-America and South America and many are now in the Smithsonian and Yale, Tulane and other American universities.
    As far as conquest goes, it has to be admitted that an African-Arab combine (collectively, the Moors) invaded Spain in 711. They defeated the German Visigoths, moved into France and sacked Rome. They traded in millions of white slaves and many were sold into slavery in Africa, but the trade was never at the level of the European version of the middle passage.
    Skilled slaves could gain freedom by becoming Muslims. Remnants of these forces remained in Europe for 700 years till they were finally driven off by Spain in January 1492 at the battle of Granada, just before Columbus started on the first of his ambitious voyages.
    Slavery, conquest, intelligence, stupidity, good, bad, behaviour, all in all, humans are one-of-a-piece.

I have no counter arguments to this and neither was I concurring with Watson.

I simple stated he made some interesting points and I raised the issue of the definition of Intelligence.

If one defines intelligence as:

The capacity to acquire and apply knowledge well there is a clear basis to declare certain nations/regions as more Intelligent than others.

There is more intelligence in Singapore than there is in Jamaica for example.

Trying to attribute current states of capacity to race is silly. Any attempt would have to track against the history of mankind and would be hampered by prevalent theories of the origins of the various races.. one prevalent theory being all 'races' are derivatives of the 'Black' race.

The capacity to acquire and apply knowledge in current African states is relatively low and for various reasons that have nothing to do with the type of races that exist there.

I started to lose the above author once he ventured into the areas of archeological finds with fantastic implications such as rocketship cross sections from the age of Pharoah.. in my opinion it detracted from the wonderful edification on the relationship between genetics and 'race'.

Ben I think you are confusing
      organization at the national level (and cohesion with govt. with private corp). with the word intelligence. Not because Singapore has the ability to turn current raw materials into finished goods means they have more intelligence (seeing that the definition of intelligence spans many areas).

I have observed long enough and will now say the truth:
      Ja is a slavery society with the plantation masters just shifthing a little to other industries (tourism, manufacturing and any service commodity). Betram reports shows that the plantation masters (now called private sector) still hold a little sway on Ja's politics. How long? Not long and we see this manifestation in the last election. Market forces and the global economy are forcing them out of the picture (hence their last ditch and despereate attempt to come from behind the scenes and directly run the govt.)

We blame UWI but that's for the casual observer; let's take a serious analysis. Through the years the plantation masters reaped profits but never reinvested in JA. Did the plantation masters directly invest in grants for UWI professors to do research in marketing and economics (the tourism side that is) No? They dole out these petty schorships to students, even if these students go abroad and do research the knowledge stays there and the students return. Did Grace kennedy ever set up a research foundation at UWI? No, but they expect quality students. They like to get students from abroad who leaves all the research data abroad. The above can be applied to other manufaturing entities.

What we are now seeing is the effects of global economy; where all countries must open up to foreign competitiors. In the supermarkets here Grace is under pressure from intrests with bases in S america and Asia (canning the same products). We see the Spaniards coming with their own money to invest in tourism here. It comes as no surprise that intrests here are trying to now run the govt. (which is to no avail). A casual observer said that the Spaniards give an inferior service in tourism. My question is why doesn't our local corp. venture into western Europe and North America with their superior brand? research is the key and if you go to any Univ. in the states you will see buildings (at times) marked the Toyata photonics lab or Chrysler marketing research. This way corporations say ahead with cuttinge edge technology and marketing techniques.

The plantation masters days are numbered and Sept3. is the last stand. The ones that came out publicly in politics will be swept away by the forces of the info age (yes you heard it here first). I have more but I'm busy just now.

Quote: "and the truth shall set you free"

More on the subject: The planatation
        matsers have grown complacent with the old colonial strategy
        govt. subsidies. How is this? Most of our local hotels were always joint ventures with the govt. (taxpayers money), after a few years if profits did not flow as wished the masters could always bail out and leave the tax payers to deal with it. What if over the years of profit the masters had insisted on educating the populace and reinvesting profits in other areas (and at the same time establishing research foundations at the various Tertiary institutions)? We we would have a very stable ecconomy. No, the populace were held in contempt whilst the masters lived in their "great houses", drove their fancy "horse drawn carts" and flaunted their wealth. With the dilema of the global economy facing the masters; there is no time to give the populace qulity education (we are looking at a solid 15 year investment) so the next best thing is hblatanlt be the govt. , this way they can exercise control. This is foolhardy as the results will show in time to come.

The Ja dollar has been devalued since the late 70s, none of the masters had the vision to fund research. If Ja had the knowledge; we could easily offer INTEL a super clean room to make or even research microchips. Chile is offering Google research in the area of mathematics (why can't we? all you need is computers and some phds in math). Ja is in aposition to do a lot in the area of IT (we speak English and I've spoken to the younger Jakans that work in freeport, they speak with an east coast american accent). The plantation masters are holding back the populace but the huge corporations in the US are seeking cheap labour with quality expertise. It's only a matter of time; the wheels are already in motion (education bill). The info age has no need nor use for the plantation class (the same way the industrial age did not need slaves), so go figure.

Quote "as a man seweth, that shall he also reap".

More time yuh haffi backup
          yuh talk:

Touring the exhibit hall at OutsourceWorld New York this morning, I was struck by the number of booths touting services from vendors in countries beyond the usual suspects. Outsourcing, and IT jobs, are truly going global.
          Offshore outsourcing and India have been virtually synonymous for some time now. And, of late, China has become a more prominent player in the conversation. But it's not just the big two vying for IT work originating in the U.S., and the jobs that go with it.
          At OutsourceWorld, a conference that's operating in conjunction with Interop this week at New York's Javits Center, the vendor booths added up to a virtual United Nations of offshoring.
          Beyond India and China, there were vendors from Brazil, Australia, Costa Rica, Canada, and Hungary. And even tiny Mauritius was represented.
          It's a nice travelogue, but here's what this really adds up to: The outsourcing of U.S. tech jobs is going to continue for the foreseeable future.
          With the rising rupee and 15% annual wage inflation, there are signs that India is becoming expensive and oversold. But the fact is, there's plenty of other countries lining up to pick up the slack.
          Nations in Eastern Europe, South America, and other parts of Asia are all investing the necessary resources in education and infrastructure required to become major players in the flat world.
          A question worth asking the 2008 presidential candidates is this: What will you do to ensure that America keeps up?

2.6 Million people live in JA, we speak english fluently (the younger ones can now even speak like americans). Ja just need small pinch of this pie to
          have robust middle class. When we are not busy blaming foreigners it was the govt. There is anew govt., let's see who we pass on our troubles to.