Jamaican heads NASA team on space station expansion project

• Jamaican heads NASA team on space station expansion project

When the "Discovery" space shuttle heads into space this month it will carry a special package 'gift-wrapped' by a Jamaican-born engineer and his team at National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in the United States.
    Glenn Chin is NASA mission manager charged with delivering a Node 2 module called "Harmony" that will expand the docking area at the International Space Station to accommodate other space programs. Chin heads a multi-disciplined team of 30 to 40 engineers and technicians at NASA which is involved in the testing, integration and assembly processes that will make "Harmony" ready for launch inside "Discovery's" cargo bay on the morning of Oct. 23. Once installed at the space station, "Harmony" will serve as a port for space programs from China and a combined 13 European countries.

"Harmony is a module with six docking ports where modules can dock to make the station bigger," explained the 43-year-old Chin, who attended high schools in Jamaica and the U.S. and college at the University of Miami, where he earned a degree in mechanical engineering.

"It's like a six entrance hallway that you can add rooms to…It's actually the gateway to the international partners."

That "hallway" or central building block is 24 feet long and 15 feet wide. It weighs 31,500 pounds.

SIMPLE TASK It was built in Italy, with fine-tuning at NASA's Kennedy Space Center in Florida, where Chin and his team are based. He was involved in the early design and construction of "Harmony" as part of a special team, which offered NASA insight into the project's progress. That required him to travel to Torino between 1998 and 2000. Other work assignments temporarily took Chin away from the "Harmony" project, but he would later return as mission manager. His task is simple: get "Harmony" ready for launch and make sure it works once it gets into space.

But Chin is confident it will. Discovery's transportation of "Harmony" this month, also called "STS-120", is not the only mission Chin has been involved with at NASA. He has been in charge of 16, four of which he has seen through to their launch. However, despite acknowledging a familiarity with the procedures required for the task, Chin said the different types of "payload" he is required to deliver in proper working order keeps the challenge interesting.

"It's pretty routine," he said. "The processes are pretty much the same. But the differences in hardware for each mission is unique. Each hardware is unique."

So is his background. Chin is one of a handful of Caribbean nationals working at the Kennedy Space Center, which employs some 18,000 workers. He is proud of his heritage and credits his background for much of his success in the U.S.

"That's huge for me," he said. "As a Jamaican I've always been a hard worker, persistent. When I came to the States I realized the opportunities here and went after it. "I have enough savvy to know you can reach for your dreams in this country." For the married father of a son, his dreams extend to outer space.

Wonder if it is another NASA Munro boy?

No sah, no Munto man. The man is an engineer. Mo will tell yuh that Munro train people to become doctors. Bet yuh him go a the blue and gold school. I mean Titchfield, not STETHS.
      That side of the country seem to have many people of Chinese descent.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

HA HA! No, Tilla. We have one or two engineers too. And we have one or two who played pro football as well!

I think Karl said "another NASA Munro boy" because there use to be one on this very Forum back in the day. Haven't seen him recently. If he is still around, give us a hail up nuh?

No sah, no Munto man. The man is an engineer. Mo will tell yuh that Munro train people to become doctors. Bet yuh him go a the blue and gold school. I mean Titchfield, not STETHS.
          That side of the country seem to have many people of Chinese descent.
          We have had a few Munro men there!

At that age he would be in my time. I can't remember any Glen. There were a lot of Chins but a definately don't recall Glen.

My guess is he went to StGC. They had more Chinese than any other school in Jamaica. A lie, Willi?

The below info was proudly Googled!

Glenn C. Chin
              Mission Manager
              International Space Station and Spacecraft Processing

Glenn C. Chin is a NASA mission manager in the International Space Station and Spacecraft Processing Directorate at the John F. Kennedy Space Center (KSC), Fla., a position he has held since July 2000.
              His primary responsibility is to lead the multidisciplinary team of engineers and technicians that assemble and test the International Space Station (ISS) components that fly aboard the space shuttle. Additionally, he is the primary payload customer advocate/interface and the primary payload interface to NASA launch vehicle management and the ISS Program management.
              Chin is currently assigned to STS-120/ISS-10A, STS-119/ISS-15A, STS-126/ISS-ULF2 and STS-132/ISS-20A. His previous mission assignments were STS-102/ISS-5A.1, STS-105/ISS-7A.1 and STS-111/ISS-UF2.
              Chin joined NASA/KSC in 1989 as a system engineer working in the "hands-on" Level IV assembly, integration and test group that processed Spacelab modules and experiments for the Spacelab Program. In 1992, he moved on to being a payload project/integration engineer for the Spacelab Program where his primary role was technical requirements and test management. Chin transferred to the ISS Program in June 1996 as a lead integration and test engineer with the Space Station Hardware Integration Office that provided field support to ISS hardware manufacturing sites. Before NASA, Chin worked at the General Dynamics Corp., Electric Boat Division, as a nuclear system engineer assigned to perform sustaining engineering to commissioned U.S. Navy nuclear submarines.
              He was awarded the NASA Exceptional Service Medal in 2005 and a Silver Snoopy Award in 1995.
              Chin was born Feb. 28, 1964, in Kingston, Jamaica, and moved to South Florida in September 1979. He graduated from the University of Miami with a Bachelor of Science in mechnical engineering.
              He lives in Melbourne with his wife, Danilee, and their seven-year-old son, Matthew.

Glenn Chin states that there are no payload issues being worked and the payloads will be ready for launch on Wednesday.
                56K Modem
                Part 1 - 184Kb

Cable/Broadband
                Part 1 - 796Kb

My guess is he went to StGC. They had more Chinese than any other school in Jamaica. A lie, Willi?

The below info was proudly Googled!

Glenn C. Chin
                  Mission Manager
                  International Space Station and Spacecraft Processing

Glenn C. Chin is a NASA mission manager in the International Space Station and Spacecraft Processing Directorate at the John F. Kennedy Space Center (KSC), Fla., a position he has held since July 2000.
                  His primary responsibility is to lead the multidisciplinary team of engineers and technicians that assemble and test the International Space Station (ISS) components that fly aboard the space shuttle. Additionally, he is the primary payload customer advocate/interface and the primary payload interface to NASA launch vehicle management and the ISS Program management.
                  Chin is currently assigned to STS-120/ISS-10A, STS-119/ISS-15A, STS-126/ISS-ULF2 and STS-132/ISS-20A. His previous mission assignments were STS-102/ISS-5A.1, STS-105/ISS-7A.1 and STS-111/ISS-UF2.
                  Chin joined NASA/KSC in 1989 as a system engineer working in the "hands-on" Level IV assembly, integration and test group that processed Spacelab modules and experiments for the Spacelab Program. In 1992, he moved on to being a payload project/integration engineer for the Spacelab Program where his primary role was technical requirements and test management. Chin transferred to the ISS Program in June 1996 as a lead integration and test engineer with the Space Station Hardware Integration Office that provided field support to ISS hardware manufacturing sites. Before NASA, Chin worked at the General Dynamics Corp., Electric Boat Division, as a nuclear system engineer assigned to perform sustaining engineering to commissioned U.S. Navy nuclear submarines.
                  He was awarded the NASA Exceptional Service Medal in 2005 and a Silver Snoopy Award in 1995.
                  Chin was born Feb. 28, 1964, in Kingston, Jamaica, and moved to South Florida in September 1979. He graduated from the University of Miami with a Bachelor of Science in mechnical engineering.
                  He lives in Melbourne with his wife, Danilee, and their seven-year-old son, Matthew.
                  Rhathid,

Is Glenn from my class. Don Wehby and he were both in the same 1st form class with John Barnes the footballer.

I cant forget Glen, as he was goofing around one day and slammed the door on my fingers!!! Ouch. Took a while for the nail to grow back, but he was truly penitent. Lol

Very nice guy.

Like I guessed!

Not too difficult.

Most of the Jam Chinese are Catholic and on top of that StGC was close to the old Chinese Benevolent Society compound.

you can sue him now, how is your fingas

I am still around. Perusing at least once per week. However, I have not had time to participate in the discussions. In the early days I use to post as JahMan (Jahman1) until another JahMan nicked my handle. Worked for NASA for the last 18 years. (Munro - class of '74)

These dam Jamaicans are everywhere

I went up to the top of the Empire State Building. I thought that once place you won't find a Jamaican worker. Well, the fellow that was operating the elevator for that final leg of the journey was not other than a dam Jamaican.

I have a strange feeling that St. Peter who guards the gate to that place in high in the heaven is a Jamaican.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            When the "Discovery" space shuttle heads into space this month it will carry a special package 'gift-wrapped' by a Jamaican-born engineer and his team at National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in the United States.
                            Glenn Chin is NASA mission manager charged with delivering a Node 2 module called "Harmony" that will expand the docking area at the International Space Station to accommodate other space programs. Chin heads a multi-disciplined team of 30 to 40 engineers and technicians at NASA which is involved in the testing, integration and assembly processes that will make "Harmony" ready for launch inside "Discovery's" cargo bay on the morning of Oct. 23. Once installed at the space station, "Harmony" will serve as a port for space programs from China and a combined 13 European countries.

"Harmony is a module with six docking ports where modules can dock to make the station bigger," explained the 43-year-old Chin, who attended high schools in Jamaica and the U.S. and college at the University of Miami, where he earned a degree in mechanical engineering.

"It's like a six entrance hallway that you can add rooms to…It's actually the gateway to the international partners."

That "hallway" or central building block is 24 feet long and 15 feet wide. It weighs 31,500 pounds.

SIMPLE TASK It was built in Italy, with fine-tuning at NASA's Kennedy Space Center in Florida, where Chin and his team are based. He was involved in the early design and construction of "Harmony" as part of a special team, which offered NASA insight into the project's progress. That required him to travel to Torino between 1998 and 2000. Other work assignments temporarily took Chin away from the "Harmony" project, but he would later return as mission manager. His task is simple: get "Harmony" ready for launch and make sure it works once it gets into space.

But Chin is confident it will. Discovery's transportation of "Harmony" this month, also called "STS-120", is not the only mission Chin has been involved with at NASA. He has been in charge of 16, four of which he has seen through to their launch. However, despite acknowledging a familiarity with the procedures required for the task, Chin said the different types of "payload" he is required to deliver in proper working order keeps the challenge interesting.

"It's pretty routine," he said. "The processes are pretty much the same. But the differences in hardware for each mission is unique. Each hardware is unique."

So is his background. Chin is one of a handful of Caribbean nationals working at the Kennedy Space Center, which employs some 18,000 workers. He is proud of his heritage and credits his background for much of his success in the U.S.

"That's huge for me," he said. "As a Jamaican I've always been a hard worker, persistent. When I came to the States I realized the opportunities here and went after it. "I have enough savvy to know you can reach for your dreams in this country." For the married father of a son, his dreams extend to outer space.

Looks like his family was one of those many thousands who took advantage of Manley's five flights a day to Miami purge.