UWI: more light, less heat

• UWI: more light, less heat

UWI is one of the greatest creations of Caribbean people. Not perfect, lacking in many areas and still a work in progress.....but a great institution in our context.

There are institutions that study universities and below are the findings of one such.
    Based on their data UWI is 42nd in Latin America, if UWI was in Africa it would be the 7th best (top 6 in S. Africa) In Oceania 40th and the Middle East 3rd best. Unfortunately UWI would not make the top 100 in N. America, Europe or Asia......that will come later.

Here is the link ...
    http://www.webometrics.info/top100_c...=latin_america

Thanks! I am proud to see that my university is way up there, even as I refuse to open their mail requesting money from alumni!

The problem bleow will be fixed when the US
      senate passes the education bill for the caribbean. The US did it for Asia.

" Unfortunately UWI would not make the top 100 in N. America, Europe or Asia......that will come later."

The above is our current problem; if India institute of technology can rival
      MIT, then JA can do it also. Unless the people of India has two brains or they are some kind of super humans. Ben could expand on this.

sorry to admit that i have the same problem.

Mo lokk where they rank with
          the major players; that in itself says something. Middle east and Africa import expertise more than therapuetic drugs.

The problem bleow will be fixed when the US
            senate passes the education bill for the caribbean. The US did it for Asia.

" Unfortunately UWI would not make the top 100 in N. America, Europe or Asia......that will come later."

The above is our current problem; if India institute of technology can rival
            MIT, then JA can do it also. Unless the people of India has two brains or they are some kind of super humans. Ben could expand on this.
            The fact that they have 1.2 billion+ people does not hurt in trying to compete
            with the big guns.

The population size has nothing to
              do with it. The US helped them and they still need certain technology and expertise from the US. They just don't have or cannot replicate the streams of research facilities that the US has (at tertiary institutions).

Ja just need to capture but a small niche in the info age and we are set. We don't need to go into areas of military applications et al.

The fact that they have 1.2 billion+ people does not hurt in trying to compete with the big guns.
                Apart from the 1.2 billion people, they have a much longer history than us. History which predates even countries like the US and England.

Look for a lot of our jobs going to India as they have a lot of highly skilled and educated people. They have an excess of masters and PHDs in the sience, engineering and information technology who are out of work.

I remember my days at STETHS, we had a lot of teachers who were from India. These guys taught math, physics, chemistry and engineering science and all had a minimum of a masters degree. Yes, India is not only just emerging as a force in the education of its people.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The difference is work ethic. Their 10 year olds are getting up at 5 am for extra lessons.

size matters

The population size has nothing to
                    do with it. The US helped them and they still need certain technology and expertise from the US. They just don't have or cannot replicate the streams of research facilities that the US has (at tertiary institutions).

Ja just need to capture but a small niche in the info age and we are set. We don't need to go into areas of military applications et al.
                    To compete at that elite (MIT) level you need MASSIVE resources. Massive money and massive human resources. The fact that India is a huge country helps enormously because that size
                    provides massive intellectual and material resources. The top Indian technical universities have long been among the best in the world before any supposed help from the US.

When you have a cohort of maybe 100,000 qualified applicants to an engineering school and you can place 1000.....you get the best of the best...the competition to get into those schools is mind blowing......that comes with size/scale.

I agree with your last comment re Jamaica though.

Tilla please talk about
                      the quailty. Why? I have a friend (caucasian) who is a phd in engineering from a prestigious school on the west coast; when the talk comes up about the many phds in Asia, he gets mad and queries the quality. It's fun to hang with this guy (mind is harp as a tack; makes swift calculations in his head, not arithmetic ones mind you).

Give you a joke: seeing that we seem to see eye to on many issues (science, history to an extent ahem, sociolgy et al) he brought me to meet another friend (his antagonist) to help in a debate on relativity and Einstein, boss I cracked up, I couldn't back him and he was livid. When his antagonist wandered into thermodynamics, he said I redeemed myself ( I stepped up then to back him). Life at times is fun and you just have to enjoy it.

Don 1 just look at Ja back in
                        the days at the lementary level: Ja's traditional high schools in those times could stand up to the likes of the Bronx High scool of science (this school conducts serious research and their curriculum is made up its boastful almnis; who hold science nobel prizes).

Ja can do it also at the tertairy level. No high school in Ja has the money or resources as the Bronx high school of science but they have quality students (back in my time ) that could run with them.

Bless.

Yuh not trying to diss the quality from Asia, are you Jawge?

Don 1 just look at Ja back in
                            the days at the lementary level: Ja's traditional high schools in those times could stand up to the likes of the Bronx High scool of science (this school conducts serious research and their curriculum is made up its boastful almnis; who hold science nobel prizes).

Ja can do it also at the tertairy level. No high school in Ja has the money or resources as the Bronx high school of science but they have quality students (back in my time ) that could run with them.

Bless.
                            Jawge, quality students exist in every generation. Your time was no better than any.

Yes he and his friends are without having any basis to make the judgment. It is like making the assumption that anything from the USA or White dominated countries will be better. I can see Jawge's brainwashing is just about complete (about 95%).

Mo, I agree with you on the work ethic of the Indians and Asians in general.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran