• Just a look - Lucea, Harbour

http://www.luceaonline.com/maplucea2.jpg

Click on above map to enlarge. That is a beaut!

http://www.go-localjamaica.com/reada...ArticleID=4222

http://www.jamaicanfamilysearch.com/images/photos48.htm

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...cornwall3.html

http://www.jamaicanfamilysearch.com/Samples2/fred04.htm

http://www.jamlib.org.jm/hanover_history.htm

http://www.discoverjamaica.com/glean...phy/polgol.htm

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...A_HARBOUR_.asp

The fort - http://www.jamaicanfamilysearch.com/images/photos73.htm
    Last edited by Karl; October 26, 2007, 12:43 PM.

"HAVANA (Reuters) - State-owned Dubai Ports World, which relinquished control over six U.S. ports in a political firestorm last year, is studying plans to build a container terminal in the Cuban port of Mariel, business sources said.

DP World agreed in early October to do a feasibility study to build a $250 million container terminal in Mariel that would start operating in 2012, a Havana port source told Reuters."

It looks like we escaped another HIJACKING..

LOL !!! WHOOEEEE !

What do you think of our Lucea Harbour?
      Beaut isn't it?

300 ships at one time?
      Ooooh well they were smaller then and the draft was shallow...but, damn that harbour is a beaut!

It's a MAP, Karl. A freaking map! Maps are not beaut!

As a cartographer in my former life I take exception that statement !

But you do have a point....Karl it's a map no a photograph

BTW I hand drew maps in the days b4 computer programs and it was pain in the ********************.........some did come beautiful though.

Okay, it does look pretty on the map, and I happen to know the harbour, but Karl said it was some "best in the world" kinda thing. Not sure about that.

The question is not what you or I think of it.

The question is what do companies like Dubai Ports think of it.. if they even KNOW about it..

Don't worry though.. I think the Anti-Hijacking personnel are keeping us safe.

Use yuh imagination - Look at the shape!

Last edited by Karl; October 26, 2007, 12:44 PM.

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
                  As a cartographer in my former life I take exception that statement !

But you do have a point....Karl it's a map no a photograph

BTW I hand drew maps in the days b4 computer programs and it was pain in the ********************.........some did come beautiful though.

So, every harbour should be converted into a container terminal?

I don't aspire to define what should be done with every harbour.

I would not encourage the current use however of Lucea Harbour.

Apparantly wi have so much Anti-Hijacking equipment on board.. di plane can't even tek off.

Heh, heh.

Use yuh imagination - Look at the shape!

Kgn Harbour with the Palisados/Pt Royal protective barrier is far more impressive.

The Portland Bight area is a jewel in the Western Hemisphere because of the depths and dry dock capabilities.

Unfortunately the last amazed party was discouraged by certain 'licky, licky' elements.

That is just the tip of the iceberg, When the truth is told firing squads will have to be commissioned and those responsible for holding back Jamaica Land We Love summarily executed for treason.